We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Thea Family Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: 900 Meters From The Square Of Elounda On The Main Road To Agios Nikolaos Walking Time 10 - 15 Min. Distance from hotels Elounda Bay palace 5 min walk. Elounda Beach hotel 10 to 15 min walk. Elounda Mare hotel 15 to 20 min walk. Porto Elounda Mare 25 to 30 min walk. Elounda Domus 5 klm(taxi required) Elounda Blue Palace 6 klm (taxi required).
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was halfway between our hotel and Elounda town centre. We tried it about day 5 of our 10 day stay and kept going back. Good fresh food especially the fish, decent price and the owner Manos and staff very friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walford2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    71
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic with a capital 'F'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This was perfect to finish our holiday off, the food was amazing, the service was very friendly and welcoming, where the two poor reviews came who knows they must have been in a different restaurant, we will definitely be back as I promised Manilos I would have his own caught Cuttlefish. Worth a visit every time Thank You.

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth more than one visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We found a gem of a restaurant on our latest visit to Elounda, Thea. Rather than walking into town from our hotel we decided to try Thea and we found a treasure, Manolis was always happy to take orders for the following day for anything that wasn't shown on the menu, he would go and catch it himself!
At night-time it was a pleasant walk from our nearby hotel for an after dinner drink and chat with Manolis about this and that.
The people walking past to and from the town to their hotels don't know what they're missing, we will certainly be back to Thea next year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plandher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

The food was exceptional and the staff so friendly. The owner of the restaurant went out an caught fish for us as we were returning to the restaurant to enjoy another meal The chef even came out the kitchen to chat and have a drink with us.
Go and enjoy the delicious food and the friendliness, great customer service

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cathy_obyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
221 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“First visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Been to Elounda many times but first visit to Thea, very good. Proper table linen, bread was toasted and came with garlic dip, tzatziki and tarama, breadsticks and some of those hard rusk things that break the teeth, but you can just ignore them! Anyway, bread was excellent and a little bit more interesting than the usual. Ditto the greek salad ('with a twist'), chunks of feta rolled in sesame, topped with yogurt, absolutely lovely. Very generous dish of meatballs were herby and delicious, octopus stifado scored 4.5*, I found the octopus a bit chewy but know this is the nature of octopus, partner enjoyed it. Local wine excellent, offered a mini baklava pud and raki. For E43 this was one of our best meals this time round. Service was just as it should be, friendly but unintrusive. Suggest everyone gives Thea a whirl.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thea Family Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Thea Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing