We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cold beer”

Thea Family Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 119 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 900 Meters From The Square Of Elounda On The Main Road To Agios Nikolaos Walking Time 10 - 15 Min. Distance from hotels Elounda Bay palace 5 min walk. Elounda Beach hotel 10 to 15 min walk. Elounda Mare hotel 15 to 20 min walk. Porto Elounda Mare 25 to 30 min walk. Elounda Domus 5 klm(taxi required) Elounda Blue Palace 6 klm (taxi required).
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ice cold beer”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really nice place for a quiet, iced, beer on way to or from Elounda. Much cheaper than our nearby hotel. Although we didn't eat there the menu looked good. Friendly people and free wi-FI.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    75
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were concerned by one or two poor reviews but as we liked the look of the place we all trooped in.
Three of our party had a mezze of starters and one main course. The food was very good indeed, the service impeccable and we finished with a chocolate cake, and crepe suzette shared by the ladies, prepared in the usual way at the table by the owner and, apparently, exquisite.
The waitresses are very efficient and professional. They don't tend towards "transport cafe" banter as they are too busy ensuring that all diners enjoy an excellent level of service but they are not surly, merely discreet as good restaurant staff should be.
The WCs are excellent as is the decor generally.
One the down side...........well they are close to the road without panoramic views but we were there for the food not the scenery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food with a free taxi thrown in”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We eat here twice in our weeks holiday. Food was lovely service great only wanted a couple of starters instead of a main and nothing was good much trouble. Try the grilled sardines

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieH537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Octopuss”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited this lovely resturant following a recommendation by friends.

The resturant is located on the main road into Elounda and is potentially a bit of a hike if you are in the town centre. However, the resturant offers a free one way taxi service, either there or return which is excellent customer service.

The property itself is very nice with lots of stonework and plenty of character.The toilets are clean and indeed have the amazing seat protection service!

We were made very welcome by the owner and can hearty recomend the Thea's wine, although my brother in law thought the house wine to equally good.

I had an octopuss stiffado which was excellent. My wife and her sister had the fish which was ok

The service was good, although the young lady serving us might like to smile a bit more. It was not good seeing her smoking,in between serving customers either.

Overall very good, and recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food excellent service”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having eaten here 11years ago we returned for a meal this visit and it was evey bit as good as we remembered really good food manos is a good host

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chillHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thea Family Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Thea Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing