We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Ferryman Taverna

Ferryman Taverna
Ranked #14 of 119 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

food was different to the other restaurants, beautifuuly cooked and presented. staf nwere great and right on the water

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jayne818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,560
    269
    103
    63
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aigburth, Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We came across the Ferryman Taverna on a stroll along the sea front looking for a few dishes to share for lunch. The menu was the first we saw which really appealled and we were very much rewarded by our choice. The welcome and service at the Ferryman are second to none, the setting absolutely beautiful, perfectly relaxing and the food a taste sensation! The flavours leave you wishing you had a bigger belly so as to taste more and more. We stayed in Crete on a half board basis and enjoyed dining at the Ferryman on 3 occasions in total over the week that we were there. The Ferryman would definitley be my preferred place to dine should I visit this beautiful place again in the future. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg vor der Höhe, Hessen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Toprestaurant in town”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

excellent food, beautiful romantic location and outstandig service. If you are in
town its an must to visit the ferryman.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simonek206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Elounda”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This was our last dinner at Elounda, October 1st, and the most successful one of all.
The restaurant is located on the water front about two hundred meters from the main square.
Excellent atmosphere, very nice people, great service.
The food was very good, the best we had in Crete, good variety of startes, real Grik food.
Fishes is Elounda are consistently good and the Ferryman serves excellent fishes.
This is not a low price restaurant but its very good value for your money.
Go there!

Helpful?
Thank Udi1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We paid the ferryman”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Fantastic waterfront restaurant on a par if not better than the restaurants in the many 5 star hotels located in and around Elounda.

Have visited for several years now and the Ferryman is always full whilst many other restaurants seem to be suffering this year. It is best to book, ask for a waterfront table.

Akis, Sophie and family are wonderful hosts offering real greek hospitality, and are very generous with the extra.

Fabulous wine list..........more expensive than other restaurants in Elounda but worth it every time

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScarletNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferryman Taverna also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Ferryman Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing