We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Meal We Had in Crete!”
Review of Olondi Restaurant

Olondi Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 120 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
vancouver, bc
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Meal We Had in Crete!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had been searching for a Greek seafood restaurant all over Crete and lucked out finding this place. We all had the grilled fish and aregeed it was the best we had ever had. The host Yiannis was so charming and welcoming, even reading the coffee grinds of one of our greek coffee and taking endless photos of us at our table. The tables were right on the water with an amazing view of the bay, sailing boats and islands. The shrimp saganaki was a great way to start the meal and we finished it off with yogurt and honey. We were very pleased we chose this restaurant and it is worth driving to Elounda for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    232
    64
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“PERFECT! !”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Visited olondi on a few occasions in September and October. Everything on the menu is delicious. The wine is amazing and you are always made very welcome. Prices are reasonable and big portions. The views are to die for and remember to book aug and sept as they do get busy. Love this place see you all in April!

Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Finest Creten Food And Hospitality You Will EVER Receive!!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Having a passion for Crete, Elounda and the Creten locals, and also having lived in this beautiful part of Crete some may call me biased, and maybe I am but I couldn't be a member on trip advisor without reviewing The Olondi Restaurant in Elounda, sitting only inches from the warm Crystal clear waters of the Mirabello Bay.

After a long day, sight-seeing, swimming or just lazing by the pool with a great holiday read, the time comes to set out from the local hotels/Apartments for a short strole into Elounda village.

The harbour, lit by the many sparking lights from the many retaurants, tavernas and shops. Take a short turn, right before the square, then right again and walk along the picturesque harbour with the dramatic views of the enchanting Mirabello Bay and soon you will be met by Yiannis, The smiling and extremely friendly gentleman & owner since 1991 of this picture postcard, traditional Creten Restaurant .

Much effort from Yiannis and all of his staff goes in to serving up speciality dishes that melt in your mouth and be sure to leave you wanting more.

From "Tzatziki" A world famous Greek dip, usually made with yoghurt, garlic and cucumber & served with bread and olive oil, or "Dolmades" Vine Leaves stuffed with rice and herbs, to deliciously, mouth watering Lobster, freshly caught the same day by the local fisherman who have fished the waters surrounding Elounda for generations, or the finest suculent Lamb Chops that quite literally fall off the bone & served with delicious potatoes (creten Style), The world famous, "Lamb Kleftiko" Filo Pastry filled with meat, vegetables and feta cheese. Or the more traditional dishes such as Moussaka, Stifado or Calamari and if after having one of these beautiful starters and/or main course then there are always the temptingly tantilising desserts such as "Baklava", a pastry with honey and nuts. (One of the yummiest desserts I have ever eaten in my life), "Yaourti" natural yogurt with honey, occasionally served with fruit, or just a dish of Creten made Ice-Cream?..... The list goes on, and all washed down with some of the finest house wines around. And of course who could leave this popular, hospitable and friendly restaurant without a few shots of Ouzo or raki!!! (If you have not drank Ouzo in Crete or anywhere else for that matter then please take note: When drinking Ouzo with water if you drink too much and wake up the next morning and drink a gallon of water then you may just feel a little tipsy again haha!! I know I did it many times during my time in the Greek Islands!!!).

What ever the choice you are sure to enjoy your Creten meal in these lovely surroundings and with views that only some can dream about. It is one of thee most romantic settings in Elounda, (And in my opinion, the whole of Crete). Maybe gents you have decided to pop the question to that very special lady, your soulmate. Yiannis and his loyal staff would be only too happy to share in your happiness and give you the best table in the house, (They all are the best table in the house), with the warm, summer sunset thrown in for good measure. An ideal setting for anyone but made more special with such a proposal.

The Olondi has everything, A traditional Creten restaurant that caters for all ages with a stunning backdrop, Candles, Music, friendliness, hospitality and amazing food, I couldn't say anymore because if I did, you would need 3 days to read the review. And I am sure that when you come home, you will be raving about this restaurant for weeks, months and even years to come!!! ENJOY!!!! p.s"What were you here for" but infact I ate here most days, whether it be for lunch/ dinner or sometimes both. And the last time I was in Elounda was in 2009 but I couldn't add the date as too long ago, BUT going back 23/30th September :).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 25_03_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Graham and Patsy Thomas on tour of Crete we had a great break”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We visited three times both lunch and twice for evening meals very friendly staff good food and atmosphere we look forward to another visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“29th wedding anniversary - fish platter magic”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We used to walk past this restaurant every day on holiday and thought we'd try it for a special anniversary meal. What a good choice! The fish platter was excellent. Iannis, Kostas and the rest of the staff all brilliant and we went back several times during the rest of the holiday. Highly recommended and make sure to try the homebrew Raki at the end of the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whaley_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olondi Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Olondi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing