We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food and welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vachus Taverna

Vachus Taverna
Ranked #10 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family taverna.Fotis,eleni and fotini in kitchen-Dimitris,nikos and sotiris in serve.29 Years taverna.Kopiaste to serve our home made food.OPA!!!!!!
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely taverna and very friendly staff. The food is very good and we would recomend the taverna to anyone. We have been visiting Elounda for a number of years and this taverna is as good if not better than the others in Elounda

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    64
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our second year staying in Elounda and although this year we were staying at the far end of the bay, we had to seek out Vacchus early in our holiday, and we were not disappointed. Great welcome and the food as good as the previous year. One of the highlights of my holiday was the rabbit in tomato sauce, which was wonderful and so tasty, in fact, It would be as welcome now on a rainy Friday night in England as it was on a balmy Thursday night night in Elounda. Please send me the recipe, Vacchus chef, so I can impress my Greece loving friends!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Thank you again Fotis, for the enjoyable service and excellent menu you offered us.
We plan to visit Creta next month again and we are waiting anxioulsy to taste the fresh fish plates and meet all you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evd0ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Elounda. One of the reasons for our holiday was the fantastic food at the Vachus. We have not been disappointed and its likely that we will go every day. In fact, we would like to adopt the chef .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jubes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Return to the Vacchus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Yes another year and lots of lovely meals at the Vacchus. Some changes to the menu, all good ones. Pleased to see a Children`s menu this year. The mousaka and souzoukakia were my favourites. My husband loved the huge pork chops. Liked their version of the usual bread that you get before every meal in a greek taverna - lightly grilled with olive and chopped green olives on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prettyangebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vachus Taverna also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Vachus Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing