We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Elounda”

Lotus Eaters Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
goole
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in Elounda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We walked past this place a few times and were hesitant about going in. Finally took the plunge, and wow, really glad we did. The hospitality from the English owner was second to none, very friendly and helpful The food was fantastic, sort of cross between English and Greek. We had 3 meals there, all lovely. Fab sea views. The icing on the cake was it was no smoking. We'll done.
We had our last night there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    954
    118
    31
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in Elounda!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ate out every night of our week in Elounda and had wonderful meals every time but the Lotus Eaters topped the lot for taste, quality and value. Shame it was our last night when we discovered it! Daniel was so helpful and when I queried a meze dish which wasn't on the menu he got the chef to make it anyway! Lovely location and the local wine was very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jony46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Leighs, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I first visited back in April 2013 after it had been highly recommended by my mum who travels to Elounda twice a year. I've recently returned from Crete having spent two evenings at Lotus Eaters as it became my favourite restaurant for a variety of reasons. The atmosphere and position of it is second to none, overlooking the sea with a great view. The service is excellent and nothing is too much trouble and I guarantee if you have been once they will remember you when you return. Finally the food is just fantastic. I have tried a variety of things on the menu and have never been disappointed. I look forward to returning in 5 weeks time with friends who have never been to Elounda. First class restaurant, run by Dan- a must if you are on the island!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeidiHoe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely taverna to pass the time of day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had seen the reviews before we arrived. We hadn't booked but were lucky to get a table before everyone else did.
The couple serving were very knowledgeable and friendly and you never felt rushed to eat and go.
Food was very nice( curry and chicken dishes) Nice to have a complimentary drink and sweet dish to end the meal on.

Would recommend you book
Lovely position, nice people, nice food. Happy people

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Not only was the food fantastic but the service is impeccable. We came here twice because we were watching the food come out on the first night and became jealous of what other people were ordering! The crostinis are delicious as well as the Cretan sausage. The stand out for us however was the Cretan lamb which you have to order 24 hours in advance, it truly was worth every penny. One tip is to book. There are only 11 tables and they are filled very quickly. A must to visit while holidaying in elounda.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank aimeepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Eaters Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Lotus Eaters Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing