We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, accomodation & service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
manchester
2 reviews
“Fantastic location, accomodation & service”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

An all round winner, very helpful staff. Apartments roomy and kept very clean. Excellent location very hany for beaches and centre for restuarants & bars....v good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairenjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    47
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
90
108
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Well, what can i say. This place was great. We booked this hotel last minute after having our alternative travel arrangements cancelled due to the loveable ash cloud. We read the reviews and thought 'it seems ok, lets book it'. When we arrived there was a little confusion over our booking. The tour operator never booked our rooms. But we spoke to our rep who got one of the owner down ASAP (not a 24 hour reception and the guy was down within 5 minutes). He welcomed us and apologised for the confussion, and with this he gave us the choice of several rooms and made us feel very welcome indeed. So once we'd unpacked we went for a walk to familiarise ourselves with what i can only say is a fantastic peaceful resort.

The rooms:
Very clean and looked after to a high standard. The rooms are classed as self catering but to be fair it was only the essentials it had (a hob, fridge, sink, kettle and utencils) but this never bothered us. The inlaws still managed to cook breakfast for us from there room most days and we had a 6 month old baby, so we only required a kettle. After all who really goes on holiday to cook there meals. We got a 2 bedroom on the 2nd floor of the new build (finished ti a very high standard), it had 2 bedrroms, a kitchen diner area and a shower/bathroom. My inlaws got a room in the older building, but again this was decorated to a mondern and comfy feeling. And on our last day one of the brothers showed me the 'VIP ROOMS!' and wow these are beautiful. Set on the top floor of the new build they have a large living area and a mezzamine gallery bedroom. Would also recommend the air con as it can get warm on the nights. The rooms have got shutters on which are gre great for keeping the rooms cool (even though some people from reviews think these make them like prison cells).

The Pool / Bar area:
This is a nice little communal area, where the owners (2 brother) which are very laid back, always ask if your ok. We met Rhonda on our last day and she was just one of these people who couldnt do enough for you. The pool was pretty small, but was great for cooling down in. And the way everything is laid out is great (you can get the sun all day).

Elounda:
Elounda itself is amazing, whether you was a relaxing, active, whatever type of holiday its got it all. You walk past the retaurants at night and like other places where you get hassled, here you dont. The people are very polite and always wish you well. You are spoilt for places to eat. And the prices can vary from place to place. All in all though not too expensive really.

The Location:
The only downside from the holiday was the transfer, it just appeared long at 2 hours. But to be honest its worth it. Elounda is such a nice place to be and so peaceful. But the apartments itself are just off the main street and are set in what i think is an ideal location.

I would highly recommend both the apartments and the resort. As i can find myself a hard person to please at the best of times, but here i could not fault at all. The 2 brothers have made the Elounda Sunrise into a beautiful relaxing place to stay in such a perfect peace of Crete.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith24v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Hi

Had fantastic holiday, super apartments. Clean, spacious, private, pool, bar and all sea front and great views. The owners are hands on and there every day making sure everyone has a fantastic time. Click on their web site and see the place for yourself, no exagerations made this realy is a great place to stay. Family orientate during the key times but also perfect for singles and couples looking for peace, quiet and yet a buzz in the evening.
Love it so much we have booked to go back in Aug 2010 and our 16 year old and her two friends are itching to come with us.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CretionAddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We arrived late, after 11.00pm, and the place looked as if it was closed up and deserted. However, a notice had been left in the office window telling us that a key had been left for us in the door of room 12.

I suspect this is the room referred to in the review by selseylady (6th October). If you wanted privacy, you closed the door, pulled down the window shutter and lived in darkness, or kept the lights on. Don't think of trying to read in bed because the lights were too dim. Water pressure was very poor. Bedding was one sheet which, even at the end of September gave enough warmth, but none of the weight that we Brits need for a good night's sleep. Heavy blankets were available if you wanted to go to the other extreme, but ours had suspect white stains on them.

We had actually booked an apartment -- it was the fault of Low Cost Holidays that we were actually given a studio first, but Dimos (or Giannis) found an apartment for us -- number 13, still on the ground floor but round the corner, facing the new block, and this was much better for us. Bedroom with double bed, wardrobe, wall mirror, bedside cabinets, enough light to read by, and enough privacy even with the window and shutters open. The second room had kitchen facilities, dining table with four chairs, and a double bed. The light in this room was dim, but there was enough water pressure. Two electrical sockets ran the fridge, kettle and two-hob cooker, so you had to juggle it about a bit. The pans were well used and scratched, bottle opener useless, no cooking utensils.

Outside were a table and bench that had one slat broken, but it was comfortable enough if we put our pillows on it. There were plenty of sun loungers if you wanted one. Nowhere to fix a washing line so you had to drape things over a wall to dry.

In the bathroom there was no shelf above the washbasin, so we took a chair in there otherwise our toiletry bags would have had to be left on the floor. Part way through our stay one of the bulbs above the wash basin started to smoke and smell of burning. It was okay when we took the bulb out and, to be fair, we didn't tell Giannis until the day we were leaving or they might have done something about it.

The rooms on the whole were clean, as other reviewers have reported, but the wall tiles around the shower were very much in need of cleaning, the aforementioned bathroom lights in need of dusting, and our bed was not made or changed for the last 4 or 5 days of our stay. If I am to be really picky, the tile equivalent of skirting boards needed a good sweeping/dusting.

I had been looking forward to the Sunday BBQ and quiz night mentioned by other reviewers, but they didn't do it while we were there. End-of-season disinterest on their part, apparently.

The TV in the bar shows continual football. An occasional film would have been good.

Now that's the negative stuff out of the way, and I hope Dimos and Giannis will take the comments as constructive. Here is the positive....

Rhonda makes great eggs and bacon-- lean bacon, not the half fat kind. One, or both, of the brothers makes a pizza to die for.

Rhonda is very comfortable to chat with, to ask for information, and she organised our transport to the airport when it was time to go home. We are hoping she will keep in touch, and let us know when she has settled into her new home.

Location is great -- wonderful views from the bar, convenient for tavernas (turn left), for supermarket (turn left, then left again up the side of the Hotel Akti Olous, then left again to Euro Supermarket, which belongs to Rhonda's daughter). Bus stops are in the same street as Euro Supermarket, and in the main square. If you turn left out of the Sunrise and go as far as the little hill on your left with the Katafygio Taverna on your right, you can either go up the hill and make your way to the square along a street of shops, or walk through the Katafygio and make your way to the square along the beach and by yet more tavernas, including The Lotus Eaters and The Ferryman, neither of which we tried but both of which are mentioned in the reviews.

A taverna we can highly recommend is Ergospasio at the top of the aforementioned small hill. This is clean and new, slightly 'cheffy' with wonderfully presented, delicious food. Maybe just slightly more expensive items on the menu, but you do get a complimentary small cup of soup to start, and the complimentary pudding that we were given was the best.

Another favourite taverna was the Melissos, closer to the Sunrise, and run by brother and sister Evanglas and Evangalian. Again this is clean, well-presented food. The bread we were given at the start of each meal was the freshest and best that we had during our holiday. I had a lesson in Greek from Evangalian (Yassos), and Manos saved our lives when we first arrived late and starving hungry, and everywhere else was shut for the night.

I have digressed, so back to the Sunrise Apartments and, to sum up, a little DIY and replacement or upgrading of some fixtures, fittings and equipment would make a world of difference. Bedside lamps would help a lot.

I suggest that you promote Rhonda to manageress / PR so that she can give it a woman's touch and get all these things organised.

Would I go there again? If they will still have me after this lot, yes, but only if I can agree first what room I have. When you consider that the people in room 12 were paying the same as the people in room 21 (with balcony and sea view as shown in the advertising) it is just not fair. Anyway, their website says "All th rooms have .......... and balcony with great sea views." Not quite true.

p.s. has anyone seen the little black and ginger kitten lately? It seemed to disappear on Monday 28th Sept

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scripsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Relatively new, basic but comfortable as long as you can use balcony as extra room. great sea view from balcony. would need to eat meal from bed if balcony rained off. Rhonda who runs bar very helpful. Good location. 2 minutes walk to nearest beach, 10 minute to large municipal beach. Prices in town now much the same as UK since pound slide against Euro. Good bus service into Agios Nic and onwards.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

we stayed here for 2 weeks in sept 09.We had a studio apartment which compared to other apartments we have stayed in previously was very spacious.

Dimos an Giannis are nice guys who are all too ready to help in any way they can.
Elounda is relativly small town but has plenty of restautrants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikecapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2009

we stayed here for 2 weeks in oct 09 .we love elounda anyway but loved our stay at the sunrise.the first week we had low floor and we prefer high rise so we asked if we could move and the 2 brothers who run it moved us to alovely apartment no problem.rhonda who runs the pool and bar and does the cooking is a lovely lady nothing is to much trouble she will help with anything you ask when we go back we hope she will be there again.love from mandy and dave worcester england.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millytickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 35 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
0.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#15 of 35 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Sunrise Apartments

Property: Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Address: Akti Oloundos, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
#10 Family Hotel in Elounda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Sunrise apartments are ready to host each visitor and provide them with an unforgettable experience. The neat, friendly atmosphere, the clean and beautiful environment, the friendly personnel will do everything to make your stay a memorable one. The complex includes a restaurant for breakfast and dinner, next to the swimming-pool with a fantastic view of the Gulf of Elounda. In the central bar there is satellite television, a swimming-pool with a swimming area for children, a place for gathering, wireless Internet connection. If you want to take your laptop from home, you are more then welcome to use our wireless connection. All the rooms have private heating and air conditioning, telephone, safe, mini-bar, satellite television, bathroom and balcony with great sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elounda Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing