We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elounda Sunrise Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Preston
Level Contributor
191 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Met expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Recently stayed here for a two week holiday.

Having read the reviews for these apartments my review is probably going to be somewhat controversial! I hovered on giving an overall rating of either average or very good for some time. I would have given a rating of good if this had been available but unfortunately it was not. Having considered this very carefully I decided average was the correct rating.

The apartments met our expectations, rooms were spacious, clean and basically equipped with fridge, air conditioning which is expensive at 50euros a week, two hot plates ( one large and one small), basic crockery and cutlery. With only one saucepan it would be difficult to cook a meal if you were on a budget and wanted to save money by staying in. Towels and linen changed every couple of days. Bathroom was clean but with a bit of a temperamental shower from time to time.

The pool area was quite nice although the pool was small compared to others. However there is a garden area where you can sit and read or sunbath although occasionally there was quite an unpleasant smell.

Having spent two weeks in Santorini in August of last year at a cost of almost £200 per person cheaper I have to say that I felt the cost we paid for this holiday was on the high side. Our accommodation last year was very similar but with a bigger and better pool area and included transfers from the airport.

Wifi is available but only by the pool area, we never managed to get it in our room. Also the TV is in the bedroom and is very small.

That having been said the reviews about the staff are correct, in particular Lynne and Peter who were more than happy to give suggestions of where to go and where to eat which was extremely helpful.

I have to agree that the apartments are in a good location, right by the sea, close to restaurants and a nice 10 minute stroll into the centre of Elounda. If you like cocktails then I would strongly recommend the Venue Bar in the square - best Mai Tai's and lovely nibbles.

Elounda is a good base for exploring the east side of Crete and there is some stunning scenery. The apartments were a good base to do this from.

I am genuinely sorry if some people feel that my rating is unfair but overall whilst in some ways the apartments slightly (only) exceeded expectations it would be wrong for me to say they are excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank House-ElfPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    46
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
88
104
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We've just returned from two weeks at the Elounda Sunrise apartments and had a wonderful holiday. We were in room 12, which is one of the ground floor studios, and found it perfectly suited our needs. It was clean, spacious and everything worked as it should - it was a real bonus having wifi in the room as well as the bar! Towels and sheets were changed regularly and the bins were emptied daily.

As has been mentioned by many others, the staff here are just brilliant. Friendly, helpful and genuinely try to do everything they can to make sure you have the best time you can. Food at the bar is tasty and good value, plus it has a lovely friendly atmosphere for drinks in the evening. While we were there they put on a BBQ and disco evening, which was great fun and the food was delicious - I should also say that we never felt any pressure that we had to attend or anything like that, it was all very relaxed and friendly.

The location is excellent. It is just a minute or two from the smaller of the Elounda organised beaches, which has sunbeds and umbrellas for hire (2€ per bed, 2.50€ for an umbrella), with the main beach (and town) being a 10-15 minute stroll. We preferred the smaller beach as it was quieter, but it is the stonier of the two so it depends what you prefer really. As a tip, I'd recommend buying some of the cheap beach shoes that you can find in the shops, whichever beach you choose, as this makes the walk in and out of the sea much kinder on the feet.

It's also close to many good tavernas - we can honestly say that we didn't have a bad meal in the whole two weeks and it is difficult to choose any to particularly recommend. Some are more expensive than others, but it's easy to find good food whatever your budget.

We loved every second of our stay at Elounda Sunrise, will almost certainly return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was my second stay in room 15 and I loved it. Dimos and Jannis cannot do enough for you, and Peter was a great new addition to the team. I am a single middle age traveller and never once, did I feel in any way unsafe or without company when I needed it. The facilities are ideal - great location, stunning scenery, awesome food and comfortable room which was well serviced and cleaned. I cannot recommend them enough and I will definetly return. Thanks team!

Room Tip: I am a single female traveller, and I found being on the ground floor very safe. I always request ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldengirluk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have just come back from another glorious week staying at these apartments. They are spotlessly clean and the view is fantastic, Its a lovely tranquil spot away from the crowds. The owners and staff are always very pleasant nothing is too much bother. We had a problem with our pick up but Yannis sorted it out for us and thank you very much for that we got to the airport on time. We look forward to seeing you all again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Was in Crete to photograph a wedding, so pleased we found this little gem of a hotel, which is set in Elounda, which is beautiful, peaceful, quiet and tranquil. With lots of places to eat over looking the bay. Had a truly restful break, which was made all the better by the friendly staff. Lynne, Pete and Gianni and Dimos were always helpful, nothing was too much trouble, they gave the place such a happy atmosphere.
Food was always freshly cooked and tasty. Even had food cooked after arriving back late after the wedding (the kitchen should of been closed) The location is perfect,with views of the bay, the room was a good size, clean and well equipped. The pool, bar and gardens, were lovely, with plenty of sun loungers.
Will defiantly go back, but a week's not long enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynChedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

this was a return visit to the Elounda Sunrise Apartments and it was just as good as before. We were in room 32 which has the best view over the salt pans and across to Kolykithia. I could have spent hours just taking in the view. Dimos, Yianni, Dina, Peter and Lynn and Soula go the extra mile to ensure that you have a good stay, with a wealth of information; of beaches to try and places to visit if you have hired a car, or recommendations of places to eat. The sunrise apartments are at the end of the sea front road next to the Venetian Salt pans and the causeway on to Kolykithia, it is really peaceful and quiet but a short stroll should you want walk to the harbour and square for the restaurants, cafes and bars of Elounda. The rooms are clean and spacious with fresh towels and bed linens changed every couple of days. Would I recommend it definitely.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Elounda is a beautiful sleepy village an hours drive away from the airport , we only went for a bank holiday break ,I so wish we could have stayed longer. The Sunrise Apartments can be found by following a beautiful sea road ,its right at the end . There should be a sign above the Hotel that says " The best place to stay in Elounda" , because that is what it is. Our room was enormous.spotlessly clean , we had a kitchen area,kettle ,coffee percolator two rings to cook, a fridge ,and plenty of cups,plates and saucepans . air conditioned,with a TV and dvd player,we also had a computer,with free access and WiFi everywhere. Nothing was a problem ,I asked for a hair drier and Peter ,our ever smiling host brought one almost immediately. Lots of comfy sunbeds,pool towels, you can lay in the sun or sit under one of the many sun shades. Breakfast was yummy, freshly cooked and really reasonable priced,as were the other meals on the menu.
Lynn and Peter were on hand all day serving drinks and food from the bar ,always smiling ,they gave the whole place a friendly atmosphere. The owners Gianne and Dimos were also there making sure everyone was happy. The beautiful Mirabella Bay is about 10 paces away ,with a few sandy areas to have a paddle or a swim . Just along the same road there are lots and lots of small bars and restaurants ,serving some really delicious food at really reasonable prices. You can walk along to the Square in about 15minutes where you will find more tavernas where they serve a refreshing strawberry Daiquiri or two ! there are some shops just behind the sea road where you will find supermarkets,a chemist,and a few local gift shops. There is nothing I can think of to criticise other than I wished I had stayed there longer. Am going back in August and I can wait. If you are looking for loud,noisy,Ibiza type holidays go to Mallia , If you want hot sun ,great service,fabulous food and just 4 hours from the UK ,Elounda is the place for you. In my other reviews of other places I have been to I have always given an honest review ,I cannot recommend the Sunrise Apartments highly enough It was fabulous.

Room Tip: We were in room 17 but all the rooms are great. room 17 is just a two bedroom with a couch in the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
0.7 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Sunrise Apartments

Property: Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Address: Akti Oloundos, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
#10 Family Hotel in Elounda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Sunrise apartments are ready to host each visitor and provide them with an unforgettable experience. The neat, friendly atmosphere, the clean and beautiful environment, the friendly personnel will do everything to make your stay a memorable one. The complex includes a restaurant for breakfast and dinner, next to the swimming-pool with a fantastic view of the Gulf of Elounda. In the central bar there is satellite television, a swimming-pool with a swimming area for children, a place for gathering, wireless Internet connection. If you want to take your laptop from home, you are more then welcome to use our wireless connection. All the rooms have private heating and air conditioning, telephone, safe, mini-bar, satellite television, bathroom and balcony with great sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Elounda Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing