We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really bad never go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vasilis Apartments

Vasilis Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vasilis Apartments
Save
You added Vasilis Apartments to your Saves list
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really bad never go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

if any one puts that this place is good they are talking about the wrong place.we went aug 11 for two weeks ! nightmare its in the middle of no where pool was lovely till pump broke , two days it was off the owner never told us so we let our girls go in , they came out saying it was dirty with loads of dead bugs.food was avalable but only chips , pizza& toasties, oh that was till bread ran out then they didnt bother to get more till much later. we were a captive audiance they could have made money on all guests by providing good food , there was no other choice unless we went down to town that cost 5 euro every trip .if your looking for a holiday to crete it is a lovely place but please look else where DO NOT GO HERE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

if you like spending your hard earned cash on your holiday avoid this hotel like the plague, unless you like having your private pool hijacked by the ajoining houses noisey kids .the sheets were change once in two weeks. the bathroom was so out of date. and a breeding ground for mosquitoes and smelt disgusting .the only saving grace though was the pool though. transfer time was advertised 1 hour 10 min, try doubling that and adding another 45 mins on that . all to pick up couples or teenagers from all 4 corners of the stunning malia....locals were fantastic ,taverners traditional, and a good mix of nationalaties,thanks to the couple who gave me a new tube of mossi cream,nige and ali

Room Tip: there isnt one, other than 5 and 4 purley for the stunning views.but only if you like barking dog at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank taraOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elounda hotels

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed in August 2011. The location is a 15 min walk to town partly along a reasonably busy and dark road but we could live with that and had torches. The pool was was clean but that's where the good things stopped,the apartment was ant infested and I did request some ant powder but didn't get any. I accept that ants do get most places but when you see them in the bed and streaming out of wall sockets..well... The room was dirty and tatty.The bathroom stank and was dark and very grubby. My other half refused to walk bare foot in the apartment and I don't blame her.The shower mat was filthy so I tried washing it but gave up after i realised it had probably never been cleaned and was slimy and gross so I put it outside (should have had a hazardous waste bag for it.) on an old review they said the shower holding clip was broken.it still was when we were there-a new one only costs a 3 Euro! When we arrived I cleaned the toilet as it was filthy, the paper came up black and brown..yuk. There was a settee type thing that fell apart when I sat on it leaving large nails protruding. The 'kitchen' window was next to the only path to the pool and the rag that was supposed to be a curtain (that was also hanging directly over the hob) didn't come all the way down so people passing could look straight in.Also one of the owners has a woman friend with a kid that came to the pool everyday and I swear she had a megaphone strapped to her mouth as a normal person shouldn't be able to make that much noise unaided-the kid was a close second in the battle for loudest person in Crete 2011 competition. The Olympic rep didn't really care about the issues. I have stayed in Greece many times over the years (I worked there for a while) and in many different islands and I know that the Greek standards differ slightly to the rest of Europe but the Vasilis apartments set themselves incredibly low standards..and failed to meet them. Cleanliness costs very little as does a bit of whitewash and filler etc. If we had had kids with us we wouldn't have stayed but as we spent early morning to late night sightseeing we put up with it. We love Crete,do visit the island but choose your accommodation wisely. That saying, If your young and in a group (and have some festival toilet experience) you would probably like it at Vasilis as he didn't seem to want to shut the bar even if there were no customers.I hope that since last year they have had a good renovation during the winter, but I doubt it :( Shame as the view over the pool was nice.

Room Tip: The one we had was by the path (avoid) it was next to the pool with the noise that has, but the litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calbo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Myself and two friends (aged from 16-19) stayed at the Vasilis appartments between July 20th-27th 2010. We got a package deal with Olympic Holidays which worked out very good value for money.

The rooms were in excellent condition! We had three balconies, a bathroom- with shower, a kitchen area, a dining table, a wide selection of English books free to borrow, a washing line, and three very comfortable beds. When we first got there, the shower only seemed to have cold water- but , this was not a bad thing! It is SO SO HOT! Mainly around 37 degrees C when we were there! However, we dicovered if you leave the shower running for a while it gets hot- so if you prefere hot showers- that also worked.

There was a convenient 'shell' garage nearby which sold water - we frequently purchased six 1.5litre bottles for 4 euros 50 cents. However later in the week we found cheaper water in the main town of Elounda- the same amount of water for only one euro!!! We walked to Elounda so this would have been heavy to carry anyway, but the shell garage was very handy!

The Olympic Reps were very very helpful - and orginised many different trips for very good value! We got 3 excursions for 99 euros- this included entry fee to the attractions and coach transfers there. We visited the ancient palace ruins Knossos, and Island 200 miles from Egypt- called Chrissi Island, and the largest water park in Crete- Water City. All three excursions were very successful and the coaches were always punctual. W had a guide for Knossos which made the trip much more interesting and understandable! I highly reccomend any of these trips! The water park was so much fun! For all ages! Though mainly children over 8 or so- as i cannot think of many rides suitable for younger. Chrissi island was beautiful! Like a tropical island! The sand was amazing! I suggest taking a sandwhich bag for a handful of sand!!

We had a very very good experience and thoroughly enjoyed it! Vasilis and his wife were extremely friendly and welcoming hosts and pointed us in the right direction for bus times to Plaka and Agios Nikolas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

We have just returned from a fortnight's holiday at the Vasilis Appartments. We have stayed at various basic but very clean accommodation on other Greek Islands and expected this accommodation to be similar. We were very disappointed during our stay at the quality and standard of this accommodation. We were lead to to believe that these apartments were basic as per Greek Standards but clean- it was far from it.

The beds were concrete beds with a mattress on it which was most uncomfortable. The bathroom was very unclean, I had to buy bleach and clean the tolilet as it was unbearable to continue using it. The shower area was so small and dark that if you drew the shower curtain all round, you would not be able to see in order to have a shower and it was covered in mould.

If the water has not heated, then you need to ask Katerina or Richard to put this on for you. We only realised this after having 3 days of cold showers.

The bed sheets had only been changed once in the 2 weeks we were there and the towels were very small hand towels, so make sure you take plenty of your own bath towels.

Maria, The Cleaner came on most days and emptied the bins but she did not sweep or clean the floors regularly.

The rest of the accommodation was very simple and basic but bearable. Having been to to other Greek Islands, this was the worst accommodation we have stayed in.

On a more positive note, Katerina who runs the place was extremely lovely and helpful and made us feel more than welcome. Richard who covered the bar in the evenings was also good fun and extremely knowledgeable. The pool and bar area were very nice and we met some really nice people out here which made it seem like one big happy family. This is something we have not experienced elsewhere and is what made the rest of our stay enjoyable. Katerina's mum puts on a barbecue every Sunday and this is outstanding. We met a lot of wonderful people who return every year and I can only think it is due to the friendly service provided by Katerina and her family that makes them return.

The views from the apartments and pool area are outstanding but I would not recommend this for anyone with walking difficulties due to its location and steep incline.

We were also disappointed at Olympic's description of the location of these apartments. There is a bus stop just a minute's walk from the apartments, but the bus times are very unreliable, so you are best to walk the 35 minutes walk down to Elounda. The return to the apartments from Elounda is a good 40-45 minutes walk due to the steep incline and I would not recommend this at night as there are no footpaths. You would be better getting the taxi back for 5 euros. The nearest supermarket is also a good 10 minutes walk uphill but if you want fresh bread and more choice, you need to go into Elounda for this.

In my view, the accommodation really needs updating and more attention to cleaning. Other than this and the distance from Elounda, we had a brilliant holiday. Elounda is a beautiful resort and perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday. There is a great choice of tavernas and bars in Elounda and the food is fantastic.

  • Liked — Service from Owners/Staff
  • Disliked — The Rooms and lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucky077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We booked these apts as a late deal and after not being able to find much info online on them we thought there must be something dodgy about them. However we were very wrong!!! The apartments are lovely, traditionally cretan with everything you need including an amazing view into the bay of Elounda!!! Breathtaking! It is only a small apt complex so everyone gets a very personal service from Katerina, the owner. She instantly remembers your name and makes you feel welcome. There is a bar/ cafe near the lovely pool which is manned by Richard of an evening, he is the perfect host with interesting stories a go-go!

Walk down into Elounda takes about 20mins but its a nice little walk and taxi back home is cheap! Elounda square is lovely, very cosmopolitan. There are lots of bars and restaurants and places for you to either chill out or party!!

The hosts are happy to stay up half the night with you at the bar but are were never noticeably rowdy. BBQ, karaoke and quiz night was fun too!

Would defo return, sad to be back infact!! There is a real sense of family at the Vasilis apts and you will instantly feel a bond with your fellow quests as well as hosts!! Would also recommend the Marilena restaurant!! Gorgeous traditional food and an excellent service!!!! Happy holidaying!xxx

  • Liked — Great Hosts and Amazing Views!!!!
  • Disliked — Some need for taxi's at times
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Helenmelon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.0 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#12 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#7 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasilis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasilis Apartments

Property: Vasilis Apartments
Address: Elounda, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasilis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Also Known As:
Vasilis Apartments Hotel Elounda
Vasilis Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing