We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIET HAPPINESS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“QUIET HAPPINESS”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Have stayed at the Domes for almost a month (June-July) with two kids (2 and 5 years old) and consider it definetely one of the best resorts in the world for family vacation. Sea and private sandy beach are perfect, very clean and what is significant very safe for the small kids. Kids club, which is directly at the beach with its perfect girl Tonia will definitely get you some free time from your kids and the assuarance that they will be properly cared after. Swimming pools (big and small ones) are filled with sea water. Food - very good and for different tastes, more to this the location of the hotel is such that you can walk for 20 minutes to the nearest fishermen village Plaka with its unbelievably perfect tavernas. Cleanliness in the rooms and at the territory is impecccable. BUT WHAT IS MOST IMPRESSIVE IS THE ATTITUDE OF THE ENTIRE PERSONNEL OF THE HOTEL TO THE GUESTS. YOU FEEL UNIQUE AS THOUGH YOU ARE THE ONLY GUEST OF HONOUR (AND THE SAME GOES FOR ALL THE GUEST). Any wish any desire if it can be accomplished will be fulfilled.
The only really sad thing is to leave this place. I express my sincere gratitude to the Hotel team and especially to Maria and want to congratulate the owners of the Hotel for making such a team.
Alexander

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXANDER7745414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    270
    93
    34
    18
See reviews for
645
614
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The Domes Of Elounda is an unashamedly 5* hotel with 5* accommodation and service! The views are glorious! We had a wonderfully relaxing experience here!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAL0053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We were late getting to Domes since our ferry was late (what a surprise). Once we pulled up I knew that it was going to far exceed our expectations. My partner and I who were celebrating our honeymoon were greeted by Emma. She went out of her way to make sure our trip to the Domes was perfect. If you stay there, find her, talk to her and thank me later! You will not be disappointed! We got upgraded, which was nice and our room was spacious and beautiful. The private beach is really nice (with a tunnel under the road to get to it and a buggy to take you down the hill if you like) and makes the whole place that much better. There were many families with kids, but also couples. We also ate at Topos 1910, the restaurant on the pier for my b-day. It was really pretty, service was slow but the food was excellent! We also spent a few hours at the spa getting treatments. The spa staff were wonderful and the massages were great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angenyc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This was our first trip to Crete and this hotel did not disappoint. My husband and I stayed in one of the private 2 bedroom villas with pool with a friend of ours. The Villa was very nicely appointed, but the pool and veranda, along with the 2nd story balcony/porch were incredible. We also liked that we were part of a resort but more remote for privacy and quiet at night. During our use of the Villa we felt very secluded although we were next door to other Villas. Also, if you rent a car, you are able to park it right outside your door for easy of access.

The service was incredible throughout the resort, from the reception staff to the golf cart drivers. We were visited every day by the manager of the villas, who was genuinely interested in our daily activities and whether or not there was anything he could do for us. Also, my husband was greeted by the General Manager of the hotel every morning in the lobby of the resort, who also was extremely accommodating and friendly.

The breakfast buffet every morning was very large, and had lots of choices. Also, when you stay at the private villas you can choose to have room service in lieu of the breakfast buffet at no additional cost. We ate the seafood restaurant our first night, since we arrived late from the Ferry, and the food was very good and the local selection of wines was very good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampagneTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at Domes of Elounda from 2 July for 4 nights and it was absolutely outstanding in every way. From the personalised check-in process, to the complimentary late check out and everything in between were of the highest standard, quality and service.

Savas, Hotel Operations Manager (who must walk 10kms a day as he is always on the go) and his team are exceptional. The personalised service afforded to all guests really makes you feel special, and this goes for all staff from the front desk, to the breakfast waiters, to the pool/beach service, to the golf buggy drivers, to the security, etc, etc., ...they all radiate a unique team spirit and this shines through in every aspect.

It is a privilege staying at this resort – the large rooms are beautifully designed and decorated, the facilities are top class, the pool and beach areas have plenty of sunbathing opportunities in addition to water sport facilities at the beach, the spa is relaxing and affordable and the food and beverage are of the highest quality – all of services are topped off by the gorgeous view out to Spinalonga Island.

We definitely didn’t want to leave and look forward to returning to the stunning Domes of Elounda!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daviesby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I spent 5 nights at the Domes of Elounda in early July and am struggling to think of ways in which my stay could have been improved.

From the air conditioned Mercedes which met me at the airport (€85 each way) to the champagne served on arrival and the golf buggy ride to my room where a fruit basket and bottle of wine awaited, the Domes is a thoroughly class act.

First things first: the views afforded of nearby Spinalonga island and the rest of Elounda bay are quite breathtaking and can be enjoyed from most parts of the hotel. The grounds themselves are beautifully maintained with splashes of colour provided by pink and purple flowering plants.

I spent much of my time in and around the pool (perfect temperature), enjoying the plentiful supply of freshly laundered towels and the occasional welcome glass of iced water or juice. I spent less time at the beach but it looked equally pleasant.

My open plan suite (212) was just the ticket with a decent sized balcony, complete with heated jacuzzi (not too overlooked, unlike many of the suites). The bed was super comfy and the air-con worked a treat. The bathroom was fantastic with large jacuzzi and monsoon shower (albeit somewhat clogged with limescale!)

If I had any criticism of the room, it would be the absence of wireless internet access, with only a single fixed access point under the desk in the living room (although I was relieved to discover access was free via this route, whereas internet access via the TV was paid-for).

The staff were universally warm and welcoming with nothing too much trouble (although I think they must have too much on their minds as they occasionally forgot to follow up on things - a corkscrew and ethernet cable took multiple requests at reception before materialising and I was overcharged €170 on check out, although this was quickly resolved).

I only ate at one of the three restaurants (Tholos) but found the buffet to be varied and delicious, if a fraction overpriced (€40 per head not including drinks).

All in all, a thoroughly relaxing 6 days in beautiful and luxurious surroundings with friendly and helpful staff. Worth every one of it's 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabricoffolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Perfect stay. The room was very spacious with a private pool overviewing the gulf of elounda and the island of Spinalonga. The staff was very helpfull from the beach boys to the reception. While at first we were not thrilled that the dinner was included in the price, after trying the best buffet dinner we have ever had we had a complete change of heart. The location is perfect for the view but while the beach is the best of the area (they have probably brought extra sand) before the elounda village you can find better swimming locations. While the rates are not low the value for maoney ratio is very high. Probably one of the best hotels in the Med.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
364 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
9.9 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Property: Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing