We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We have just arrived back from the domes hotel.Myself, my husband and my two children all loved it.We have arrived back home so relaxed and chilled out after our 7 day break.The manager and all the staff cannot do enough for you and made our trip just perfect.I am normally very fussy about hotel rooms or suites where we stay but our room was faultless.It was tastfully decorated with great modern furniture,flatscreen tv,very spacious,great bathroom with seperate shower,to die for view and also a hot-tub which our two girls loved to have fun in.The beach is just perfect for children,lovely warm clear shallow water,it all seemed so safe.It has a great kids club which is open 8 hours a day with no charge.The lady who works there called Tonia is excellent!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussylady105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

From the moment you arrive you begin to chill....your luggage is spirited away..you are asked to take a seat in the bar with panoramic views of Spinlonga island and the deep blue sea..glass of prosseco in hand........heaven is but a small step away...

The room...palace ..was great.... plenty of room... fantastic bathroom, great bedroom and a balcony with great views.

The staff are like family members/friends after 5 mins! Would you like a lift...can I help ..all in a very nice manner and with a big smile.

We had half board ..complimentary....we never do half board as the food in the past at other establishments has not been exciting ..we love our food and our wine! BUT the food was great here! The buffet was excellent ..high class salads, soups and mains....desserts you find hard to resist.
The Greek wine list was a worry given our focus on traditional sources ...but all wines we tasted were excellent and right up there with the best.
The house wines were great value.
The fish restaurent is a great location but is pricey and to personal taste.

We never go back to the same place twice......we may just break that rule when we need a chill pill.

Spa gets booked quickly.....book ahead.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCtravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Just returned from week at The Domes and had a brilliant time. Our room had a fantastic view of Spinalonga and we were pleased we paid extra for the private pool. We weren't overlooked and enjoyed a huge outdoor terrace and garden. The bathroom was particuarly nice with a great rainshower. We travelled with our two children and the staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for them to make their holiday special, they particuarly enjoyed using the golf buggies whenever they could! The rooms were immaculate, and the gardens were well looked after. Whenever you sat down on a sun lounger at the beach or pool you were immediately asked if you needed towels, and there was always space, no need to fight for your lounger. The whole trip was really relaxing. We did manage to take a trip to Spinalonga from Plaka, which was well worth it and we also took the local Bus to Ag Nic which was far cheaper than our return taxi! Our girls loved the kids club and rock climbing on the beach. Our only complaint was regarding the food, whilst it was fine, it was nothing to get excited about, however the restaurant staff were lovely and the girls enjoyed lots of cuddles from them. The cost of drinks and snacks was very high (probably no more than other comparable 5 star hotels), but we were lucky enough to have a hotel credit from our booking which reduced the costs considerably. In summary; a fantastic hotel in a great location, with lovely staff who always aimed to ensure you have a great time. We would love to return at some point and would have no hesitation recommending The Domes to others.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkShadylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We have just returned from a holiday here and we could not recomend the experience more highly.We were greeted with champagne and when we reluctantly left were also offered complimentary drinks.The hotel is in a beautiful setting directly opposite Spinalonga.The villas all have sea views and are beautifully appointed.Those that dont like walking are catered for with club cars driven by very nice drivers.The food is plentifull and varied.We had difficulty spending our free 200euro credit because so much was included.Thankyou everybody at The Domes of Elounda for an amazing holiday.
Paul and Caprice from Brighton

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fasscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We have just returned from Domes. Elounda is lovely and the setting is superb on a raised point above the bay. This however is not a 5 star resort. The staff are always genuinely friendly and the welcome is as good as anywhere I havbe ever been. The little beach is very relaxing and the sea is gentle and warm to swim in...even this early in the year. We were suprised at how the suites are very close together. Privacy is an issue as you are overseen from most angles. The bathroom was really lovely and the suite itself was spacious and very nicely decorated. The problem is lack of management. The staff are not properly supervised and half of them didnt know what they were doing. Watching our waitress look in the red wine cabinet for a bottle of Pinot Grigio before coming back to say they didnt have any...always waiting at least half an hour to be served...booking one of the a la carte restaurants to see them expecting us to sit on a table outside whilst it was raining as inside was full...having to make own tea at breakfast...very poor indeed. What was worse was the food which at times was cold, times drowned in source and times inedible. The buffet evening meal is ok but uninspiring. The sea food restaurant we couldnt eat the prawns as the sauce tasted like antisceptic. The other restaurant had a £25 lobster starter which consisted of three pieces on a bed of spinach which I couldnt eat as it tasted so salty...as did my wife's fillet steak. I had pork belly...the fat was not crispy and the source overpowering. main courses consited of a lump of meat...no veg...potatoes or salad and no sides on the menu. The food is stupidly epensive and as poor as I have ever had abroad but amazing for a 5 star resort. Take a trip into Elounda and eat at the fabulous Olundi and Ferryman...superb local ingredients and fabulously cooked. The hospitality has made our mind up that we will definitely return too Elounda but not to the Domes who tried to charge us for our stay again even though we had paid before travelling...the same with our private car transfer to the airport. We had to check out at 12 noon and we were not leaving the hotel till 8 pm...no late check out...just a shower by the pool. what is so frustrating is that with attention to detail and proper management this could be the resort that it holds itself out to be.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank padaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steftri, General Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our resort, we value all feedback from our guests.

Domes of Elounda policy clearly states that check-out time is 12pm. However, as our manager informed you we do actually have a “late check-out” option, available upon request, requiring one days notice in order to avoid confusion. As you may recall, this request was made at check-out time on the morning of your scheduled departure. Due to heavy booking we did our absolute best, given the circumstances, and offered you a private suite in our spa. We find it very unfortunate that our efforts did not meet your expectations and that consequently this incident, among others, seems to have tainted the memory of your entire stay at “Domes”.

Although unpleasantly surprised, we appreciate the time you took to point out several areas that require our attention. Let us assure you that we are considering every comment you made in order to ensure that the quality of “Domes of Elounda” remains at the high level the overwhelming majority of our guests have expressed in their reviews.

Kind Regards,

Kostantinos Kanaras
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

My husband and I had not planned on visiting Elounda during our trip to Crete, because we wanted to explore the island rather than stay at a resort in a more "remote" location. Due to the strike in Greece on May 4-5, 2010, our flight to Santorini was cancelled. We were unable to rebook for four days, so we flew to Crete instead, thus arriving two days earlier than anticipated. I was emailing with Domes of Elounda staff (Yianna was great!) the morning of our flight (as I was not certain it would go), and only confirmed our stay when we landed in Crete. We rented a car at the airport (200 euro for one week) and drove to Elounda, as we were in need of rest and relaxation before beginning our exploration of the island. Domes is approximately 50 minutes from Heraklion Airport. Also just an FYI, we did not pay for parking at all during our 8 days in Crete.

When we arrived, we were greeted by extremely friendly staff and offered champagne to be enjoyed along with stunning views. The view will really take your breath away..it is absolutely beautiful, especially if this is your first stop in any of the Greek islands! We were taken to our room in an electric cart, where we were pleased to find both an outdoor and indoor jacuzzi, as well as our own private outdoor swimming pool. The one-bedroom suite was clean and very tastefully decorated. Minutes later, champagne and canapes arrived. We enjoyed a lovely dinner on the beach doc that evening. It was quite romantic and the food was exceptionally delicious. The next day we attempted an outdoor run, however the area is not very conducive to this. The fitness center in the facility was quite small as well. We did use the spa and dined in the second restaurant on the second evening. This was also quite delicious. My husband and I are foodies and were pleased.We ordered a bottle of wine both evenings. Breakfasts were good, however we are light eaters in the morning, so could certainly be satisified with something offered at the buffet.

The best part of this place is the service and their desire to please you and help to make your holiday/vacation enjoyable. They are extremely hospitable and generous without being overbearing.

My only slight complaint was that our room was not clean when we returned at 4 PM, and we had to call to have it cleaned. But, they came right away and took care of it and it was really not a big deal. Just an expectation based on their impeccable service. We did not use the outdoor pool during our stay, as we were only there for two nights. The terrace was clean and relaxing with a perfect view. We definitely were able to rest, relax and rejuvenate before we set off for the Palace of Knossos, Chania, and Rethymnon. This was a perfect start to our wonderful vacation. We would highly recommend spending 2-3 nigts here.

Feel free to message me with any questions!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillyfoodie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed at the Domes of Elounda for our Silver Wedding Anniversary, this is undoubtedly the best hotel we have ever stayed in for the fantastic hospitality we received due mainly to the hotel manager Savas and his team. All the staff were very friendly and they couldn't do enough for us, we had exclusive service the whole time. From the VIP check in with Maria to the excellent attention we received from Ivana and Paul at the private beach and George and Laura in the restaurant.The club cars were brilliant to take you to your room from reception or the beach as the hotel is built on a hillside . Our 2bedroom luxury suite had outstanding views overlooking Elounda bay and Spinalonga enjoyed from our balcony jacuzzi with a glass of champagne. The turn down service was excellent with fresh towels and a rose left on my pillow every night. The food in the Anthos and Topos restaurants was excellent, we enjoyed a romantic candlelight dinner on the pier in the seafood gourmet restaurant Topos. You can also get a speedboat taxi fom the Domes for 15 euros each way to Plaka a very quaint Greek seaside village with a few tavernas and gift shops or alternately you can walk it in ten minutes. A taxi into Elounda is approximately 9 euros. The whole finesse and luxury of the Domes is brilliant but what makes it stand out from other hotels is the exclusive service, hospitality and friendliness of Savas and his team. We will definitely be returning to the Domes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
3 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
463 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
5.9 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#2 Family Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $215 - $956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing