We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb service and amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have been with my wife for 6 days on august 2013.
from the moment we arrived until we left we had an amazing time and unbelievable service the staff all the time check if you need anything and always with smile.
Anything we asked we received.
The room was clean and organized, the nice cleaning lady will leave you special note.
The private pool and beach peaceful and well organized.
The food was delicacies and with big variety.
We recommend this hotel and probably will be there next summer.
Its located near small, less than 15 min walking, village with great fish restaurants.

Room Tip: the private pool in the room not necessary.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank isr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
There are newer reviews for Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was my second stay at the Domes, and just as enjoyable as the first. We stayed in Villa 4, ideal for a large family like mine, or a group of friends. Three double bedrooms, each with an en suite. The villa also had a private pool and yard area too which was handy to sunbathe and swim by yourself rather than in the hotel's main pool.

You will need to get a taxi into Elounda (10 Euros each way), where all the restaurants are, as the hotel is unfortunately quite pricey. There are many great restaurants to choose though and most have high ratings - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is in walking distance (20 mins max) to the neighbouring town Plaka. It is tiny but charming.

Most villas (or domes) boast breath taking views of the famous former leper colony Spinalonga (well worth a boat trip), breakfast had a huge choice (continnental, English, pastries, cereals, sweets etc), and the staff were incredible. Big mentions to George, Marena, Nikos, Christian, Vicky and Georgina - lovely people, all went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable, and all were cheerful and helpful, nothing was ever a problem.

As touched upon, the hotel's bar is quite pricey. It is a shame as the bar area is wonderul, with stunning views, but was always empty probably due to the high prices. We would have loved to have had pre-dinner drinks most nights but couldn't.

Housekeeping prompt, pleasant and thorough. Beds comfortable, Villa 4 was equipped with its own BBQ for if you wanted to grill your own meat too.

Thanks all for a wonderful, relaxing break. Missing it already and looking forward to return.

2  Thank dapperdanman83
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at the Domes in September 2013. The suite was lovely, very spacious and comfortable, fab bathroom & products, but the best bit was the view - breathtaking.

The hotel was very clean and the food was good, but not outstanding. I think this is more to do with my lack of buffet-style food than the quality or presentation of the food. Although I was not travelling with children (thank goodness for the quiet zones in the restaurant and at the beach) the food presentations for them looked very good.

Despite all these wonderful attributes the hotel's best assets are the staff - they are amazing. #1 accolade must go to Timo the barman in the pool bar - what a star. Nothing was ever too much trouble, he was friendly, helpful and very, very efficient. The same can also be said of Alexandra who served us at breakfast and dinner each day - after the first morning, she remembered our preferences and always had a smile and a friendly word. George and his colleagues in Guest Relations were superb - very friendly and knowledgeable and always happy to stop and chat to make sure that everything in the hotel was meeting our expectations.

We would happily return to the Domes and may well do so in the future. A truly, fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Our room faced east and the sunrise was amazing each morning.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1961Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Although the actual Hotel Manager was invisible, no attempt at all to make any contact, the owners of The Domes should be incredibly proud of the amazing people who "run the hotel". Special mentions to George, Georgina, Marina, all the reception staff, golf buggy drivers, servers and housekeeping, all these great people made our holiday even more enjoyable. They are lucky to have them.
We stayed in a beautiful Villa, had a lovely pool and all 3 bedrooms were on suite. Obviously the views are amazing and everything works just perfectly. They also have a very well run extensive buffet breakfast from 8.30-11.00
The one downside is the incredibly expensive drink and food prices, like all 5 star hotels, they feel a need to charge a premium rate, which is crazy, as no matter how much money their customers have, no-one likes to be ripped off. So the solution is, to turn left from the Hotel to Plaka, which is a lovely 15 minute walk, or for a larger choice take the 7 Euro taxi into Elounda, where there are some amazing restaurants and bars, all charging very reasonable rates.
This criticism apart, everyone of our party of seven had a fantastic break.

Room Tip: The villas where we stayed are very detached from the main hotel, which we liked as it is very peace...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We liked everything about this lovely place! We are very satisfied with your service, especially we were impressed by attention of Guest relationes department and Maria in particular (she's a real professional in her job and very positive person, who makes you smile). We are very grateful for this. In spite of a boring atmosphere during the evenings for young people, actually, so you could think about the entertainment indeed. General impression about the hotel is quite positive (tasty food, good service). Good location and great view from suites

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beschastnykh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Where do I start?

Firstly, a huge THANK YOU to ALL the staff at Domes - especially George, Galini, Stefani - and all the reception staff, bell boys and maintenance staff! You made our holiday SO special and we have memories to last a lifetime. You ALL work so hard and constantly with a smile on your faces - NEVER did anything feel like any trouble and you went out of your way to help. Superb!

We arrived very late on Saturday 7th September having booked a one bedroom suite with a jacuzzi and sea view. When we checked in, Galini helped us to our suite (with a sleeping toddler in tow) and showed us around. WOW is I can say - huge suite, superbly appointed and we had been upgraded to a suite with a private pool! Such a nice suprise. We stayed in Suite 107 which was particularly safe with our son (2 years old).

Also greatly appreciated were the snacks that were in our suite given our late arrival - along with a complimentary bottle of wine!

We made the very best use of our private pool, which had stunning views of Spinalonga. It was cleaned daily and without intrusion by one of the staff. The main pool and kids pool on site (and our private pool) are salt water.

Its the little touches that make this place so special - the robes (1 for each of us and a dinky one for our toddler), the night service and chocolates on the pillow (along with all the other exemplary standards of service you would expect from a 5 star property).

Breakfast and dinner buffets were superb - the desserts were to die for (the BEST pannacotta ever!). A vast savoury selection to choose from and it was lovely to sip Cava each morning with breakfast!

A previous reviewer commented about unruly preschoolers in the dining room. I think we stayed there the same week, and yes, on one occassion at dinner there were 2 small children (not mine) running through the dining room. This was a one off and certainly didnt mar the evening.

Domes is a family resort so you have to expect this kind of thing - clearly I am biased given I was travelling with a child myself who was, on the whole, excellent at the breakfast/dinner table. There is a set 'family' meal time for dinner clearly communicated to all guests - so in my view, avoid family times unless you can't. The quiet zone outside is also available for steering clear of unruly pre-schoolers!

The kids buffet selection in the evening was really good - our 2 year old loved it and the fact that he could chose his own dinner (and puddings!). Another great touch! Again, the staff were excellent wtih all the children.

There were a couple of occassions where we needed to ring and ask for reception/maintenance to attend to our suite - lack of bottle opener (delivered in minutes) and a faulty rocker switch on the sliding doors onto the balcony - again dealt with swiftly. Nothing ever lingered and if something needed resolving it was done so very quickly with minimum fuss.

Prices are what you would expect from a 5 star resort but we bought a lot of our wine in Elounda/Plaka and stored this in the fridge (took all mini bar contents out which was not a problem).

Plaka is a short 10 minute walk away - some very good restaurants and shops, great views of Spinalonga and friendly locals. A lovely village.

Elounda is about 30 minutes walk away and we took the boat from here to Spinalonga (10 euros per person return, 2 euros per adult entry to Spinalonga). A must do on your list! I had just started to read 'The Island' by Victoria Hislop which was written about Plaka and Spinalonga (thorougly recommend this too by the way).

The beach area is also lovely - very quiet (and you really do have to be sitting right on top of the bar to be bothered by the music from the bar, which, in my opinion, was not loud anyway). Despite the children on the beach, it was still a relaxing place to be and really very quiet. The water was lovely and warm and shelved gently so that it was safe for our little one.

We had hoped to take advantage of the Creche (and booked our toddler in for various sessions). Despite much coaxing he would not stay :-( but the staff were all excellent in trying to make him feel more confident to let Mummy and Daddy have some down time. We took advantage of baby sitting one night so we had 2 hours to ourselves to eat and spend some quality time together.

Last but not least, being a social media fan, we had done a lot pre/during holiday of sharing our Domes experience on facebook. Having uploaded a picture on Instagram of the view from our suite, George saw to it that we had cocktails on the beach as a 'Thank You' on our last day! Impressive and again, another lovely touch!

We were also presented with a lovely gift (complimentary Cretan Olive Oil) on our last day and a message from the Hotel Manager was left in our suite. We had a 10 pm flight home and check out was out 12 but the reception team arranged for a courtesy suite so we could freshen up after an afternoon on the beach.

For us, this place oozes luxury and was a truly special place to be - a week was simply not enough! We hope to return one day (after we have saved to move house first!).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

where shall I begin from the moment I stepped out of the taxi we where greeted by such wonderful people we where taken to our suite 109 I was taken back with amazement as I entered we had been given an upgrade our own pool yes my holiday had just began was I dreaming no this was real our suite was clean modern and was what the hotel advertised the staff where happy polite and nothing was to much trouble the food was out of this world so much to choose from our suite over looked the sea and what a view we had a week of sun relaxation which is what we needed we had clean towels every day and the maids cleaned our room and made our beds what more could you want we where looked after they where so polite and nothing to much trouble even when we where locked out of our suite this was sorted straight away and yes there was young children there but like any holiday its what you make it would I go back yes all that I wanted from this holiday was there so thank you to everyone at the domes of elounda who made this such a special holiday for me and my friend

Room Tip: room 109 no one above you or attached
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
2.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
3.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
2.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
708 reviews
66.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $262 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing