We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$436
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$504
$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elounda Ilion Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$107
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$272
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$402
$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Garden Suites(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$141
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$346
$324
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
$290
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$483
$448
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,679 results
Traveler rating
1,196
317
106
39
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,196
317
106
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubfamily pooloutdoor jacuzziluxury residenceskids clubbeach restaurantprivate residencespinalonga islandone bedroom suitehalf boardguest relationsprivate beachgolf buggiesolive treesadult poolmain restaurantfamily suite
Filter
Updating list...
880 - 885 of 1,679 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We liked everything about this lovely place! We are very satisfied with your service, especially we were impressed by attention of Guest relationes department and Maria in particular (she's a real professional in her job and very positive person, who makes you smile). We are very grateful for this. In spite of a boring atmosphere during the evenings for young people, actually, so you could think about the entertainment indeed. General impression about the hotel is quite positive (tasty food, good service). Good location and great view from suites

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beschastnykh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Where do I start?

Firstly, a huge THANK YOU to ALL the staff at Domes - especially George, Galini, Stefani - and all the reception staff, bell boys and maintenance staff! You made our holiday SO special and we have memories to last a lifetime. You ALL work so hard and constantly with a smile on your faces - NEVER did anything feel like any trouble and you went out of your way to help. Superb!

We arrived very late on Saturday 7th September having booked a one bedroom suite with a jacuzzi and sea view. When we checked in, Galini helped us to our suite (with a sleeping toddler in tow) and showed us around. WOW is I can say - huge suite, superbly appointed and we had been upgraded to a suite with a private pool! Such a nice suprise. We stayed in Suite 107 which was particularly safe with our son (2 years old).

Also greatly appreciated were the snacks that were in our suite given our late arrival - along with a complimentary bottle of wine!

We made the very best use of our private pool, which had stunning views of Spinalonga. It was cleaned daily and without intrusion by one of the staff. The main pool and kids pool on site (and our private pool) are salt water.

Its the little touches that make this place so special - the robes (1 for each of us and a dinky one for our toddler), the night service and chocolates on the pillow (along with all the other exemplary standards of service you would expect from a 5 star property).

Breakfast and dinner buffets were superb - the desserts were to die for (the BEST pannacotta ever!). A vast savoury selection to choose from and it was lovely to sip Cava each morning with breakfast!

A previous reviewer commented about unruly preschoolers in the dining room. I think we stayed there the same week, and yes, on one occassion at dinner there were 2 small children (not mine) running through the dining room. This was a one off and certainly didnt mar the evening.

Domes is a family resort so you have to expect this kind of thing - clearly I am biased given I was travelling with a child myself who was, on the whole, excellent at the breakfast/dinner table. There is a set 'family' meal time for dinner clearly communicated to all guests - so in my view, avoid family times unless you can't. The quiet zone outside is also available for steering clear of unruly pre-schoolers!

The kids buffet selection in the evening was really good - our 2 year old loved it and the fact that he could chose his own dinner (and puddings!). Another great touch! Again, the staff were excellent wtih all the children.

There were a couple of occassions where we needed to ring and ask for reception/maintenance to attend to our suite - lack of bottle opener (delivered in minutes) and a faulty rocker switch on the sliding doors onto the balcony - again dealt with swiftly. Nothing ever lingered and if something needed resolving it was done so very quickly with minimum fuss.

Prices are what you would expect from a 5 star resort but we bought a lot of our wine in Elounda/Plaka and stored this in the fridge (took all mini bar contents out which was not a problem).

Plaka is a short 10 minute walk away - some very good restaurants and shops, great views of Spinalonga and friendly locals. A lovely village.

Elounda is about 30 minutes walk away and we took the boat from here to Spinalonga (10 euros per person return, 2 euros per adult entry to Spinalonga). A must do on your list! I had just started to read 'The Island' by Victoria Hislop which was written about Plaka and Spinalonga (thorougly recommend this too by the way).

The beach area is also lovely - very quiet (and you really do have to be sitting right on top of the bar to be bothered by the music from the bar, which, in my opinion, was not loud anyway). Despite the children on the beach, it was still a relaxing place to be and really very quiet. The water was lovely and warm and shelved gently so that it was safe for our little one.

We had hoped to take advantage of the Creche (and booked our toddler in for various sessions). Despite much coaxing he would not stay :-( but the staff were all excellent in trying to make him feel more confident to let Mummy and Daddy have some down time. We took advantage of baby sitting one night so we had 2 hours to ourselves to eat and spend some quality time together.

Last but not least, being a social media fan, we had done a lot pre/during holiday of sharing our Domes experience on facebook. Having uploaded a picture on Instagram of the view from our suite, George saw to it that we had cocktails on the beach as a 'Thank You' on our last day! Impressive and again, another lovely touch!

We were also presented with a lovely gift (complimentary Cretan Olive Oil) on our last day and a message from the Hotel Manager was left in our suite. We had a 10 pm flight home and check out was out 12 but the reception team arranged for a courtesy suite so we could freshen up after an afternoon on the beach.

For us, this place oozes luxury and was a truly special place to be - a week was simply not enough! We hope to return one day (after we have saved to move house first!).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

where shall I begin from the moment I stepped out of the taxi we where greeted by such wonderful people we where taken to our suite 109 I was taken back with amazement as I entered we had been given an upgrade our own pool yes my holiday had just began was I dreaming no this was real our suite was clean modern and was what the hotel advertised the staff where happy polite and nothing was to much trouble the food was out of this world so much to choose from our suite over looked the sea and what a view we had a week of sun relaxation which is what we needed we had clean towels every day and the maids cleaned our room and made our beds what more could you want we where looked after they where so polite and nothing to much trouble even when we where locked out of our suite this was sorted straight away and yes there was young children there but like any holiday its what you make it would I go back yes all that I wanted from this holiday was there so thank you to everyone at the domes of elounda who made this such a special holiday for me and my friend

Room Tip: room 109 no one above you or attached
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for a week over Labor Day weekend - near the later part of the busy season, so it wasn't overcrowded. We came to relax, and we were able to lounge and eat and drink to our hearts' content. Our villa was so nice, all the way at the end, nice and quiet at night. We got driven to the reception/restaurant area daily with just a phone call; even the taxis came right up to the door if we wanted to go into town. And the drivers were so cute! The breakfast buffet was definitely worth waking up for. Then down the secret tunnel to the private beach where there were lounge chairs and fruity drinks waiting. We had dinner at least once at each restaurant there and a few off campus, and every last one was delicious. And always ended with a drink - ouzo, raki, and mastic and a lot of encouragement. Spinalonga is an island fortress which was a big part of the vista at the beach - the last leper colony in Europe, but now a walking museum full of interesting history. The water sports department provides a boat to take you there and back. Elounda and Plaka were the towns on either side, with plenty of shopping and restaurants if you want to go exploring.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, get our room - Villa 8! It was a wonderful 3 bedroom villa, all the way at the end of the property, only one neighbor, beautiful views, your own pool, your own kitchen, and just the nicest place to spend a week.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Disappointing to discover that this so-called 5star hotel is little more than a 5-star creche. Having chosen to travel outside of the school holidays, we were not expecting to find so many (and so noisy, so uncontrollable and uncontrolled) pre-schoolers. This, coupled with the excessively loud, inane music in all the restaurants turned what we hope would be a quiet, exclusive holiday into Butlins on speed.

To the hotel management, some suggestions:
- The "quiet zone" on the beach - putting this next to the beach bar with its blaring music must be someone's idea of a joke.
- Turn off the music! Especially at breakfast, where the kids seemed to compete with the music for noise and tantrum scoring
- everything - EVERYTHING - is overpriced. I'm used to expensive luxurious holidays but found this place ridiculous. No wonder it's dead at night - everyone's gone off to the cheaper places nearby. No massage can be good enough to warrant over 100 Euro.
-No kids under 5. No kids at all - even better. But to make this place a truly exclusive experience - no screaming kids. Please.
- a clothes line. I know you want to charge extortionate prices for laundry but just give us somewhere to hang our wet swimsuits. Especially in the strong winds.
- coffee and tea facilities in the room. Again, I know you want to get more money from us but this is a 5-star hotel. Behave like one. Especially when I have to stay on my room balcony to avoid the noise on the beach. And have been woken in the middle of the night by one of above-mentioned noisy toddlers.

So, nice hotel that could be a really GOOD hotel if it wasn't for the noise and disturbance from all the screaming, crying and broken plates of these toddlers. I paid a lot of money for quiet and relaxation - this is NOT the place to get it.

Would I come back? Fix the above and the answer is yes. Otherwise, after I've stuck out another week of screaming noise - no.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews