We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,720)
Filter reviews
1,720 results
Traveler rating
1,229
321
108
40
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,229
321
108
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubfamily pooloutdoor jacuzziluxury residenceskids clubbeach restaurantprivate residencequiet zonespinalonga islandone bedroom suitehalf boardguest relationsprivate beacholive treesgolf buggiesadult poolmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
919 - 924 of 1,720 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Disappointing to discover that this so-called 5star hotel is little more than a 5-star creche. Having chosen to travel outside of the school holidays, we were not expecting to find so many (and so noisy, so uncontrollable and uncontrolled) pre-schoolers. This, coupled with the excessively loud, inane music in all the restaurants turned what we hope would be a quiet, exclusive holiday into Butlins on speed.

To the hotel management, some suggestions:
- The "quiet zone" on the beach - putting this next to the beach bar with its blaring music must be someone's idea of a joke.
- Turn off the music! Especially at breakfast, where the kids seemed to compete with the music for noise and tantrum scoring
- everything - EVERYTHING - is overpriced. I'm used to expensive luxurious holidays but found this place ridiculous. No wonder it's dead at night - everyone's gone off to the cheaper places nearby. No massage can be good enough to warrant over 100 Euro.
-No kids under 5. No kids at all - even better. But to make this place a truly exclusive experience - no screaming kids. Please.
- a clothes line. I know you want to charge extortionate prices for laundry but just give us somewhere to hang our wet swimsuits. Especially in the strong winds.
- coffee and tea facilities in the room. Again, I know you want to get more money from us but this is a 5-star hotel. Behave like one. Especially when I have to stay on my room balcony to avoid the noise on the beach. And have been woken in the middle of the night by one of above-mentioned noisy toddlers.

So, nice hotel that could be a really GOOD hotel if it wasn't for the noise and disturbance from all the screaming, crying and broken plates of these toddlers. I paid a lot of money for quiet and relaxation - this is NOT the place to get it.

Would I come back? Fix the above and the answer is yes. Otherwise, after I've stuck out another week of screaming noise - no.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a fabulous honeymoon at the Domes, from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm friendly welcome. The resort is set is the most beautiful surroundings and has fabulous views.

Our honeymoon suite was amazing the suite itself was very clean and this standard was maintained throughout our whole stay, we had our own private pool and the private setting was ideal for us. Everything at the Domes is excellent, the restaurants serve the best quality food at breakfast and in the evening buffet all the staff in the main restaurant are friendly and nothing is too much trouble, we also ate in the Anthos and the 1910 again the food was excellent along with the service, George from the 1910 is just lovely he made us feel very welcome on both occasions when we ate here.

We had read previous reviews about the long walks to the suites and the beach, this is not a problem as there are numerous buggies that can take you to and from your suite or to the beach if you didn't want to walk we would recommend the walk as you get to see the beauty of the resort grounds, all the buggy drivers are extremely helpful and friendly a special mention for Christian and Nikos who were super throughout our stay.

We used the water sports on a few occasions and would highly recommend hiring the self drive boats which you then can do a tour of the island.

We also booked a a day trip to a private beach which was arranged by guest relations which was just perfect we had a hamper along with champagne then on return our suite we had a rose petal bath which was a lovely end to our honeymoon. The guest relations team are excellent George,Marena and Georgina were fantastic we were looked after by the them extremely well and can't thank them enough for everything they did to make sure we had a memorable honeymoon.

The prices are on par with most five star resorts that we have visited previously and we had drinks in the main bar every evening and vassilis is super friendly and was a pleasure to chat with each evening.

We always say that great staff make a great hotel and that's exactly what they have at the Domes we would highly reccomend that you visit as we know you will love as much as we did, we will definitely be returning as the Domes as it is excellent and we have great memories of a fabulous honeymoon

Thank you again Domes for a fab honeymoon

Mr & Mrs Wilkinson

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visited early September 2013 and stayed in a two bedroom family suite with sea view and jacuzzi.Our group comprised four adults with two young children . We booked the holiday through Child Friendly bolt holes. When we booked the holiday we where provided with plans of the suite which showed a suitable layout with terrace accessible off each of the three rooms this would allow us the flexibility to sleep the two children and allow us access to the terrace and jacuzzi.Not sure why but on arrival we where shown to a suite which didnt bear any resemblance to the layout we had booked.It was also split level with internal steps between adjacent rooms which would have been dangerous for a young child. After some lengthy discussions with the reception staff we where offered another suite which although accessed via 5 steps to the terrace was more suitable for our requirements .We requested a gate be fitted at the top of the steps to make the suite reasonable child friendly and free from major hazards. To be fair to the staff they did respond promptly to all our requests but you can imagine after a long flight with young children we were all very tired and stressed out .The very last thing we expected was to be offered unsuitable hazardous accomodation.
The staff , with one or two exceptions, where very friendly and helpful and the hotel restaurant food was of exceptional quality at both breakfast and dinner .Although if you could be critical there was a lack of vegetables to accompany the array of dishes presented.
The beach was clean and had lots of sun loungers with plenty of options for shade or full sun.The sea was gently shelving and safe for young children to bathe.
Would we return to this hotel ? Probably not there are other similar priced hotels in Greece which are more child friendly and of equal or better quality (Sanni)

Room Tip: We eventually settled in room 201 which is very near the restaurant but still had wonderful sea views
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great service and location, food above average and all in all a very enjoyable break but as other reviewers have mentioned it is pricey which means that in the evening the bars are deserted and therefore the hotel is a little lacking in atmosphere. If the management team would consider a reduction in the bar prices than the bar would be fuller and probably more profitable. The room was good and there was always a golf cart to ferry you when needed. The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The most important thing about a good hotel/resort is that the staff are friendly and helpful, and at Domes they score highly on this. From the moment you arrive - be ready to be treated like royalty. There is always someone with a friendly smile and a helping hand. Nothing is too much trouble, what ever you whant they try to arrange for you. Next is the location - the views and weather at Domes is perfect, this all makes for a great relaxing break. On top of that if you choose the right suite or villa, then the accomodation is great and the facilities in the rest of the hotel are very good as well. The food is excellent if you stick to the local cuisine which they do very well... This is not a cheap holiday, but it is worth it for a great location and relaxing time.

This was our second trip to Domes, the first time we had a honeymoon suite which is pretty private and has all you need on hand. During the first visit we were shown round the private villa residences and one of the ultralux villas. If you can stretch to this they are great.

So we came back with our daughter and her boyfriend and hired a 3 bed residence. Good things to note are:
The villa was not ready when we arrived, so they treated us to a complimentary lunch in the 1910 restaurant while we waited.. that was a lovely way to start the holiday in a restaurant with beautiful views by the sea.
The villa's are a little way from the main facilities, but everytime we wanted a buggy, it came within 5 mins of our call and a three minute journey and we were at the beach.... this makes the villa's very private and we could have been the only ones on the hill with a superb pool and views.
The watersports were great - individual tuition for waterski and scuba diving. that was a highlight for some of us.
We could have had breakfast at the villa delivered, but the buffet in the main hotel restaurant is so good we ate there everyday. Also the evening buffet is pretty good as well.
The food in 1910 is traditional greek - fresh fried fish etc, and they do it very well. The Anthos restaurant however was not worth the money... they should perhaps stick to the local cuisine.

All told this was a great 7 day break and we will be back.

Room Tip: For privacy - choose a honeymoon suite or one of the private villa's... or if you can stretch for it - the ultralux villas are great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drdavidwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews