We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Concluding our holiday on the beach of Domes of Elounda. Wonderful property, friendly staff. Good variety of food and small but pleasant olive tree shaded beach. Family entirely happy and relaxed. Small improvements always possible but profoundly enjoyed our stay wit our young sons.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HansvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    245
    81
    31
    16
See reviews for
549
534
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My partner and I have just come back from a fantastic week at the Domes of Elounda. We were amazed by the high standards of the hotel, having been used to basic greek standards previously. We had a suite with jacuzzi on the balcony and you couldn't fault it - very spacious, amazing bathroom and large pleasant sitting room area. The staff are very helpful and friendly and can't do enough to help you (even spraying your face with refreshing rose water whilst you're on the beach!)

The only thing I would say is that the hotel is FULL of children, we were after a romantic getaway but didn't mind the kids too much. If you aren't a fan of little ones I wouldn't recommend it. We were always able to escape the the designated 'Quiet Zones' on the beach and restaurant so the presence of children wasn't too intrusive for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebetwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel is great. We loved the beach which is large and has shadow from the trees. A lot of toys available for the kids. Shallow and clear water makes kids observation easy. Water sports available. We rented a motor boat and did a peninsula tour. Service is excellent everywhere in the hotel. We had bed and breakfast and used the restaurant on the beach only in one evening. We had a delicious baracuda fish. Very good fish restaurants in Plaka 10 minutes walking distance.
I appreciated a lot the services and the beach. Rooms were quiet and confortable. Maybe a small comment here : the quick transport of the goods inside the hotel is done with some nice golf vehicles which are quite noisy early in the morning and late in the night.
So we had one of the best vacation with our 6 years old son and we hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned home from a wonderful week's stay at the Domes of Elounda Suite Hotel in Crete. As on our previous visit two years ago, we found all the facilities and services impressive. The suites are comfortably furnished, with pleasant decor and a fabulous view of the sea and the fascinating island of Spinalonga (see Victoria Hislop's book 'The Island'). The food in the restaurants was of the highest quality with great variety. The secluded beach was never crowded (although the hotel was full) and the swimming was thoroughly enjoyable. But by far, the Hotel's biggest asset is the staff. Without exception, they were friendly, kind, efficient, helpful and great company. We shall definitely be visiting the Domes again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I loved the hotel. The hotel contains of 1-2-3 floor villas, which are very clean. The reception is excellent. The food is just amazing. The hotel has many restaurants and bars, also the location is just right. By the way, beware of stinging creatures. They can come up farther up the water.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were apprehensive taking our two year old abroad for the first time. We needn't have been!

The hotel from the minute we arrived made us unbelievably welcome. As has been said many times by others, the staff are absolutely wonderful in this resort, they must be literally hand picked. We almost felt teary saying good bye to some of them! To name the ones that really impressed us; Marena, Georgina and Christina on reception were totally wonderful. Konstantin was our firm favourite in the restaurant, such a lovely smily man. At the pool Timo and Maggie were always a pleasure to talk to. At the beach, we became friends with the ever helpful and lovely George - we loved his buggy rides, we had many giggles with the delightful Konstantina, Maria was superb behind the bar and Nikos.. well he was one of our favourites, so hard working, so helpful and so very kind. Our son took to all of these staff, and we needed no incentive to get him to walk anywhere 'shall we visit Konstantin in the restaurant?' was enough to get him running there with excitement. All of this made our trip unforgettable.

We did not use the kids club as I felt our son was just to young to get settled in in the time we had....but Jem and Emily met our 2 year old and were lovely to him. Lending us toy cars and inflatables etc.!

We loved the setting, it is beautiful. We walked to Plaka a few times and thought it was wonderful - very quaint. We took a taxi to Elounda to get supplies from the supermarket a couple of times. Our room was great, hot tubs were a lovely touch and we used them every day.

So onto the negatives (which I almost feel bad mentioning as I liked the staff so much....): we were a bit disappointed about the very expensive food and drinks, and the service could be a little slow; children's pool is too deep and not warm enough for toddlers; there are no proper baby change facilities in the complex which had us in trouble a couple of times. With regard to children's entertainment, we would have really liked some group activities to go to in the day, a playground or safe space for children to run around in, and even some evening kids entertainment somewhere from 7-8pm, somewhere (the beach?) where we wouldn't bother the honeymooners!

If you don't like kids or want them around you at all - even though there are designated child free areas, this resort is probably not for you!

All in all, we loved our holiday and will always look back fondly on the Domes. Thank you to all the staff again for making our holiday so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6308Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is the second year in a row that we have returned to The Domes and yet again had a lovely time. The biggest selling point of this hotel is the incredible staff. Nothing is too much for them. I am one of the mother with children who throw food (they're only 18 months still). I was mortified and started off my holiday feeling so so stressed and embarrassed, but the lovely restaurant staff did their utmost to help me to relax (whilst I was often on my hands and knees picking up food) and were super helpful. To name just a few: Georgina in Guest Relations was a total sweetheart - completely professional and willing to help with anything that was needed; the staff on the beach, George, Maria, Nikos and Tajche (??) worked so so hard and were always smiling; Sofia in the beach restaurant was fantastic; and of course the lovely Alex (boat hire) who's wealth of local knowledge was unrivalled. The girls in the Kid's club were amazing, Jem and Emily especially, and I know my twins adored them.
There were a few things that I feel could be improved for example there was often not enough towels in our room (tho when I called reception about this they were brought to us very quickly) and the soap was never replenished. I don't particularly find the pool area very welcoming, especially not for toddlers. I think the kid's pool should be heated as it was too cold to take my boys in, and I think the outside edge should not be black as it was boiling hot which made it difficult if you want to sit your child on the side when you want to get out. It's not a toddler-friendly pool as the edge is quite deep so a toddler can't just walk in unaided. There are A LOT of steps in this hotel, often in unnecessary places, and no ramps at all so it's not very buggy friendly although the staff will always help you if they're around. I understand this is going to be fixed. My main complaint was the letter we received regarding dress code for dinner. Whilst I totally agree that swimwear and no tops etc, isn't suitable for dinner, I don't believe men should be made to wear long trousers and shirts when they're on holiday. I saw many men in long shorts who look perfectly smart and acceptable. People are on holiday and want to relax and be comfortable, especially in the heat, so I feel this 'rule' needs to be re-addressed and perhaps a smart-casual theme imposed. It's a shame that some people ruin it for others.
I would love there to be a kid's playground (mayeb on he grassy area byt he pools) as the Kid's club isn't open on sundays and a lot of the kids got bored and need somewhere to be able run around safely and let off steam.
All in all a fabulous hotel, made even better by the fantastic staff who are the biggest asset.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
2.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
120.6 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
2.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#12 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
3.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Property: Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Address: Tsifliki, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing