We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday but shame the staff had to ruin our last experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had what could only be described as a perfect holiday untill the last day. Before we left the UK we had arranged a late checkout as we werent due to be leaving the hotel untill 8pm-bearing in mind we arrived at 2am on our first day we thought this would be a reasonable request. The last day came and we were told we had to leave the room at midday-after wrangling with staff and several calls we were told the latest we could stay in the room was 4pm (although it had been agreed in UK to keep the room) and that we would use the hotels factilities untill our transport arrived. At 6.30pm we then went to the restaurant for dinner, whilst eating we were presented with a 70 euro bill for the salads that we were eating (we were half board!) and were gobsmacked!!!!! We then told the staff that we were due to be leaving shortly and we were merely eating a quick snack that we were perfectly entitled to before departing, only to be told in a restaurant full of people that they were having to get the manager! At this point we left our meals and went to reception to sort this ridiculousness out. After a 30 minute wait because the manager could not be located we were told that our last meal isnt included and that we have to pay and unless we do they would charge our credit card anyway in a showdown manner at reception!! I must say I was appalled at the way the Duty manager spoke to us and it was such a shame that the holiday was spoilt at the last minute and left us a little shell shocked.
Apart from the above the whole week was fabulous and everything we wanted was catered for throughout the week, the children loved the kids club and the food was very good. The ending to our break has left a bitter taste in my mouth so for that reason wouldnt return.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam128uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second visit to Domes having been last year and had the opportunity to revisit this year at quite short notice. We took advantage of the Residences for the peace and quiet, private pool and benefits that a "villa/house" has over a suite - guest relations, shopping and a washing machine, BBQ etc. We looked at the suites and they were individual and very suitable but had a villa last year and it worked so well for us.
We are quite particular and this is the only destination/location we have returned to for a holiday. The reasons are pretty simple; great location, wonderful resort, great staff, good service and outstanding weather! The views are amazing and even when busy, it doesn't seem that packed (other than the 9.30am breakfast rush)!

Domes is great for a family holiday, the staff in the most part are outstanding and guest relations (George, Christina and team) sorted requests and demands without any issue, they were exceptional. The main areas of the resort i.e the pools, beach etc are safe for children to frequent and the staff understand that children will be running around from early morning until late. Great choice of water-sports for all the family, boat hire etc and spa facilities although we didnt get to use this year.

A couple of niggles:
1) Last years cocktails were amazing! Not so impressive this year....
2) The pool bar/restaurant 10+ minutes to get a menu/order some drinks when there were so few tables isn't great. There was some confusion on more than one occasion with an order, altho subsequently corrected. my advice is to offer to bring children's food first where possible.
3) Room service was better this year in terms of menu (much better in fact) but the time to deliver circa 1hr on 3 occasions is not so acceptable. One time we ordered a bottle of wine around 5.30pm, 35 mins later they called to tell us this has run out and we asked for an alternate which arrived 40 minutes later. not great, but something that can be addressed.
4) Food -the buffet style breakfast and dinner is 'okay'. Hot food could be hotter at times, maybe its because there's such a large (but wonderful) choice. Breakfast is a real treat for adults and the children, delicious! We went to Plaka and Elounda as we rarely get family evening dinner time at home which i would advise trying as the restaurants were fantastic and make this such a special location.

Absolutely worth a holiday here, I scored 4/5 on some areas but you know what they deliver, what to expect and have seen improvement year over year.

Thanks to all at Domes who made our holiday so wonderful, see you in 2014!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulvr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderfully relaxing holiday at the Domes. Beautifully kept hotel. Our suite had great views of the sea and Spinalonga. Very attentive staff. George from the Guest Relations Team even arranged for a sports channel so that my husband could watch his football team play an important match on TV in the Domes bar. Now that is excellent service! We loved the beach area with it's grassy bank and shady Olive trees. Altogether a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Looking for a romantic getaway in luxury then DON'T stay here. Unless you have a child in tow you will find yourself in the minority. Don't get us wrong we love children but not when they are running around your sun bed or crawling under your table at dinner, more parental control is no fault of this resort but staff could be more attentive to a childless couple looking to relax! Having said this the staff where more then attentive with children and this resort is ideal for families. The apartment was pleasant (toilet wasn't cleaned on arrival) and luckily not to high up the hill, balcony jacuzzi was small and water stunk!, the private beach was typical for the surroundings by being more stone/grass then sand and the two exclusive resort restaurants where nice, can't say they were out of the world but nice enough. Resort pool was lovely and the spa was ok but not 5 star standard. The Buffett style breakfast and dinner was what you would expect, hit and miss. Local area quiet but I would recommend hiring a car to explore as there is some fantastic attractions slightly further a field. No night time entertainment and when we relayed this in our feedback the response was we do have a wine tasting session coming up and we had a 2 day festival last week (both events not in our stay) talk about an awkward response. Overall the sun was shining and out of the resort we have some wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Higher the number the higher up the hill ! Up to room 205 is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola-Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I find this review very difficult to write. Was the hotel good – yes overall. Would I go back, probably not? I have wanted to give a far lower rating for reasons outlined below but it would probably be unfair.

By now I should be realistic about advertising photography. The photographs of the Domes of Elounda (it’s much closer to Plaka in reality) do not lie. They do omit the fact that our room overlooked the terraces and spa pools of about six others and that equally we were overlooked.

On arrival we were given a thorough introduction to the hotel and to the facilities available to us which included the pools, spa, bars and restaurants. Breakfast was a first class buffet (although one morning the butter ran out) and the evenings were allegedly themed by cuisine from evening to evening. I asked on a couple of occasions and was told it was “modern Mediterranean” – which included Thai on one night!

Staff were superb as was service but there was one thing which surprised me and spoiled my holiday. If you look at the Domes website and read reviews you get the sense that it is a modern boutique hotel, but not that, probably 70% of the guests, are young families.

The beach area was fairly large but the sand was the typical coarse sand found in much of Greece so the pool area was far preferable.

I experienced toddlers running around at meal times and nappies being changed on the next sun bed. Everywhere there appeared to be doting parents. The pool was perfectly adequate although there were only 22 beds and about 8 at the small (child) pool with the result that around the pool there would always be children.

We spent our time with two other couples – we met there, (all regular travellers and at least one contributor to this site), aged between 50 and 65, all who found the children onerous. We are all parents but were surprised at the prevalence of children – the week before the Whitsun break. For once it was not just British children and parents who seemed to disregard others, but a European characteristic.

The nearest villages were Plaka and Elounda, the former a ten – fifteen minute walk and the other a fifteen minute taxi ride. Both trips were seven Euros – probably the minimum fare. You might find it useful to walk to Plaka as it is delightful and does have some good small shops. Here you can buy six two litres bottles of water at Euro 2.20 (for 6) compared with 4 Euros a litre in the hotel restaurant.

Hotel costs are always greater (often excessive I feel) try the tavernas and restaurants in Plaka where for the price in the hotel of a medium priced hotel bottle of wine, a couple of beers and coffees you can eat and drink as much as you need, overlooking the sea and Spinalonga island. Even if you are half board it makes economic sense and is delightful.

There is a boat for hire at 50 Euros an hour which I thought from previous experience was very high. Since arriving home I have checked and discovered that this is the daily rate in some parts of Greece

Try a drink at the Pines Taverna, the first one on the right – great value and great people. Of the three couples out there together, I can’t see us going back, one other couple are investigating staying in Plaka and the others seemed unlikely to go back.

If you have kids and can afford it you might like it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CardiffTaffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We returned to Elounda for a second time and were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with all the extras you would need. The spa has friendly helpful staff and the treatments are caring and professional. The new michelin restaurant by the pool is excellent, with an improved environment - delicious food and an inviting menu - better lighting and decor than last year. The beach is heaven as you sit amongst the trees with a dip in the sea 3 yards away, again with attentive staff who remember your room number and the drinks you like order. We will be back I am sure !

Room Tip: Be specific on your location. The higher the room the better the view but more steps to climb. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

As a more mature couple we paid £3000 to stay at the Domes of Elounda in a pool suite. We have stayed at similar grade hotels: the Sensatory in Tenerife and The Princess Yatza in Lanzarote and have never experienced parents with so little control over their children. We are not child haters, we have had our own and hope we considered the needs of other hotel guests. One of your reviews says don't go In school holidays -we didn't but we are still dodging two and three year olds wandering around the dining room under the feet of waiters with hot jugs of coffee. The staff are all very pleasant and it appears to us that they are trying to do a difficult job under very disorganised conditions. Where is the Manager? The reviews saying there are several restaurants are deluded the gastronomic is only open Wed and Sat and the beachside fish restaurant only had two diners on Thursday 16 May. The suites are lovely but ours is up about 40 steps after the buggy drops you off and quite a lot of pools are overlooked. Rooms and pools cleaned everyday. Not a five star in the category of a Shangri La or Sheraton. Taxi to Plaka or Elounda 7 Euros. Try and get a deal as I am sure a lot of people have come last minute and haven't paid a high price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cleopatra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Cleopatra03,

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not quite to your liking, but thank you for taking the time to submit your candid review. With that in mind we would like to respond to your points.

Domes of Elounda boutique beach resort indeed welcomes both couples and families with children, who are an integral part of the family and as such we treat them.

All our guests rationally differ in style, culture and preferences and have diverse expectations.

By understanding your needs and addressing the issues raised, we adjust our services to make sure that they are aligned with our guests, who choose to spend their vacations in luxury.

In effect, we have now introduced designated “quite zones” throughout the resort, where the adults can relax in privacy, should they wish to stay away from our energized little friends.

Furthermore, Domes of Elounda wishing to enhance the food, beverage and entertainment options offers now a range of other amenities for even the most discerning traveler, who will be able to witness wonderful shows, whilst on holidays, as for instance the Cocktail Fiesta that will take place on different weekends.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts. Your comments are valuable to us and help us not only keep up with the highest standards, but also to raise them even higher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
463 reviews
3 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
66.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
5.9 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#2 Family Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $223 - $960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing