We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Divine!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just returned from the most fabulous family holiday here and I would really, really recommend it. We booked through Baby Friendly Boltholes and chose a 2 bed villa with a pool so we could max out on our down time when our 18 month old took his lunchtime nap. The villa itself was a perfect size, not mega roomy but perfect for our needs though the kitchen utensils etc were a little on the sparse side (ie no wooden spoon, potato peeler, tea towels etc) but the service is extraordinary and nothing feels like too much trouble. A stair gate was put on for us, we got a highchair, a BBQ with coal, room service would leave dishwasher tabs and linen napkins for us to use as tea towels and all done with a smile and really efficiently - George was wonderful!
The villas are situated a little way out from the main buildings so really private and when you want to go to the main resort you dial reception and a golf buggy comes out to get you and my son just adored these rides more than anything and the drivers were like Greek Gods in their little uniforms, and standing to attention as you get in. Christian and Nickos in particular were also super cute with the baby and would beep the horn to make him laugh. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis so heaven not to have to think about food first thing and the breakfasts pretty much had everything you could wish for (unless you are a supremely fussy English lady who made the biggest fuss I have ever heard wanting a teapot and very, very hot water for her tea!!). Again the service was amazing, with staff cooing over our son and the omlette chef would make him eggy bread.
The setting is divine - views over the sea, a cute little beach, stunning pool and we used the creche for our son for 4 mornings. I think he would have rather been on the beach with us but it is well set up and Jem, Ricky and Emma are lovely (we also took advantage of the babysitting service for 3 nights which worked brilliantly) and plenty of buckets and spades to buy from the hotel shop. We ate regularly at the pool restaurant (the beef and ciabatta was very over-priced but everything else pretty much as you would expect from a place of this quality) and ate at the fish restaurant one night which was delicious - the Idyll dry rose wine is very tasty.
For a couple who loved the boutique experience pre-parenthood and hankered after something similar but who weren't sure it was possible with an over-active, noisy toddler this was like striking gold.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    275
    93
    35
    18
See reviews for
660
622
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed last minute for one night as an anniversary treat. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and did their very best to make our night special. It is really the staff that make this very good hotel, a great hotel. The accommodation we experienced (a pool suite) was fabulous with great amenities and fantastic views of Spinalonga. There was a lot of outside space including a very large balcony with seating areas and sun loungers and umbrella by the private pool. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty and we ate at the beachside fish restaurant in the evening which was a very romantic experience with good food and service.
This is a great all round hotel, they cater well for children and adults alike. The hotel is in a great location and the staff are fantastic. It is a family friendly hotel so if you want to escape children whilst eating it may not be for you however then there are a choice of restaurants for dinner such as the beachside restaurant which attract couples in the evening rather than families.
We have stayed previously at the Blue Palace Hotel down the road from Domes of Elounda and can honestly say, despite it's deserved reputation as a top 5* hotel, we preferred Domes of Elounda as the standard of accommodation/views at both are fantastic but the staff at Domes are without doubt are superior in service and friendliness and this is important when you are on holiday to feel you are welcome and that meeting your needs is of a paramount importance to the hotel. We would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra for a pool suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just ended a wonderful week at the Domes of Elounda.
The hotel is stylish and small enough to make it feel cosy, and offers good value for money in this high end magnificent area of Crete, particularly at this time of year.
We stayed in a sea view one bedroom suite with jacuzzi, and a stunning view across the bay to Spinalonga ! The suites are stylish, spacious and comfortable with nice furniture and high end bathroom facilities.
The breakfast buffet was good with a wide selection. We did not use the half board buffet dinner (we are not so fond of buffets) but prefered to try nice tavernas in Elounda (FerryMan is fantastic) and also ate in the a la carte Taverna of Domes twice for dinner and twice for lunch. Food was delicious, setting by the beach charming and prices were comparable to other Tavernas in Elounda.
The pool is nice but not spectacular. We much enjoyed the great spa facilities as well as the on site gym.
All staff are wonderful. We have been
impressed by their friendliness and responsiveness. We want to say a special thanks to Maggie. She rocks !
3 things to keep in mind so you are not unnecessarily disappointed.
First, be aware that the hotel is on a hill, which enables stunning sea views, yet can pose challenges for some. Now you can get a buggy up the hills - provided you are happy to wait a little.
Second, there is not much entertainment if that is what you are looking for.
Third, the beach is (like in most areas in Greece / Crete) not the fantastic whi,te sandy beach you may dream of, but rather ooks like a lake bank. Yet the Domes has made most of it with nice sunbeds on the sand and also on the garden right behind. The way to really enjoy the sea is to rent the self drive boats (50euros per hour) and cruise on your own around spinalonga island - its a lovely trip. You might want to stop at Kanali for lunch, a nice taverna by the canal you will have to take as you cruise back to the Domes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeansilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is not 5 star in the classic sense of flunkies and sommeliers etc., that is another sort of 5 star. This hotel has 5 star service to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, maximising what they have and matching it well to what you would like and need. We had a villa high up (412) and my wife has just had a new knee, that has not been perfect, she needed the buggie boys and they were excellent - smiling and happy to help, all of the time. The "beach" is not classic sandy and good for kids but it is beautiful in its own way and we spent many happy hours down there. Pool and spa are both superb and I recommend the one hour supported session in all of the hot rooms. Our villa was excellent and the bathroom quite exciting!!. The Jacuzzi on the balcony was lovely.
The support from local taxis is good and the cars all good as well. Buses are brand new and fine for trips to Plaka and Elounda. We preferred Plaka and Ostria was our chosen beach restaurant. The food supplied as part of our half board was really very good. A superb breakfast spread which covers all the bases and a dinner which was a selection of cuisines, each evening. We thought the quality and quantity more than we expected, sufficient to stop us trying the specialist restaurants on site.
Support from the service centre was exemplary, nothing too much trouble. Unless you are a person that is super fussy, super arrogant or a super complainer, you will have a super holiday at this hotel with its excellent staff. We thank them all for our restful break and we will be back.

Room Tip: ensure that you have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrouge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were at Domes of Elounda from 29 April 2013 and 9 May in one of the Villas with private pool but we have also seen one of the very nice premium suite. If you look for a luxury hotel, nice swimming pool, great breakfasts and people ALWAYS available for all your requests, Domes of Elounda is the right place.
Everywhere in the hotel you have several beautiful views on the sea and especially Spinalonga island. About 3km you will find the very charming and quiet town of Elounda (maybe less quiet in August) with greats restaurants and always nice people to give you some advices.
In one word Domes Of Elounda is really a wonderful hotel and a real 5 stars European Hotel.
Thanks for all the kind people : the drivers of the golf cars (everydays the pick us from the villas to the breakfast restaurant), the housekeepers (2 visits per day always smiling and available), people of the restaurants very professional, and a special thanks to George (social media manager of the Hotel) who was during all our holidays our guide.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well Domes is a truly fantastic place to stay. It was perfect for what we wanted. Relaxing, warm, chilled, friendly and picturesque. We stayed in the Honeymoon 1 bedroom suite with views over the ocean. We had our own pool and I think that made the holiday as it was so lovely to sit by when we wanted. Our room wasn't too high up (room 321) but I could appreciate some other reviews stating their rooms were a hike to get to. The rooms were just perfect, size wise, amenities etc. The Jacuzzi inside is great. Aircon is really efficient and quiet and bathroom facilities are lovely. 2 things to be aware of - if you're looking for a hotel that has a night life then this is not for you. The bars are very subdued which suited us. Being Australian I may be a bit spoilt, but don't get your hopes up about the beach there either. All in all I would recommend this holiday location in a heart beat!! Things that made it for us: View, suite, our own pool and the staff were just fantastic. Tip: hire a boat for a couple of hours and go around the other side of the island - it's magical.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jowyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Domes of Elounda. We stayed from 19-26th April in a 1 bedroom private suite with sea views and hot tub. The room was excellent, immaculate, modern but very comfortable. Waiting for us was 2 glasses of bubbly when we arrived at midnight to the hotel, and we were quickly shown to our room to get our 4 year old daughter to bed. Waiting in our room was a platter of mezze and a sandwich for our little girl, as well as a bottle of wine and a fruit basket.

The hotel is very conveniently located between the small fishing village of Plaka and the bigger fishing town of Elounda. We didn't hire a car (but it would be a safe and easy place to drive if you did) and taxi's to Elounda were 7 euros, and less than 5 euros to Elounda. We also got a taxi one day to Agios Nikolaos and that was 20 euros each way.

The hotel is excellent, the facilities are brilliant, lovely big pools, a real safe beach with gentle sloping shores (and a great beach restaurant and bar) and fabulous buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The facilities are very modern, very clean and comfortable. In fact, the whole place is about comfort and relaxation.

The staff at the hotel really made our stay special. They remembered our names from day one (as well as our room number) and made our daughter feel really special as we bumped in to staff at the restaurant, at reception, by the pool, by the beach and on the golf buggies. George and Kristina from the reception/customer team welcomed us each time we bumped in to them, asked us what we were doing that day and shared great local info whenever it was needed. Nothing was too much trouble (including sending us to the airport with a packed dinner as we were leaving for a night flight just before the evening buffet opened on our last day). They were bright, genuine, endearing people who went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed for a good time. The guys on the golf buggies had a great sense of humour and willingly offered to take you up and down the hills to our suite (although we were only in the first row back in room 316). Our little girl thought this was great fun and was always trying to catch the eye of one of the buggy boys for a ride!

In the restaurant, the food was excellent, and the piano man in the evenings had my daughter mesmerised as he would add in the odd nursery rhyme especially for her in the middle of his set. This was typical of the hotel - kids were not merely tolerated, everyone was so genuinely friendly towards them and was keen to see what we were having a good time. Costas in the restaurant gave our daughter a shell every morning with her breakfast and explained to her on the first day that he would ensure she had enough for a necklace by the end of her stay. My daughter thought he was magical and indeed, she did have enough shells to make a necklace by the time we came home.

I have high standards when it comes to holidays (we have never been a resort/all inclusive kind of family) but this has surpassed our expectations and we are already wondering if we can squeeze in a return trip before the beginning of the school year in September. We will definitely be back, firstly for the fantastic hotel facilities and location, and finally for the FANTASTIC customer service that exists at this hotel.

Thank you Domes for ensuring we had such a great time. We have come home with some fantastic memories that we will carry with us as a family forever.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view - the view is breathtakingly beautiful, and the large balconies mean you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ktbelle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
2.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
2.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Property: Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing