We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but lacks a little attention to some maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but lacks a little attention to some maintenance”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful looking hotel set on the coastal hillside overlooking Spinalonga. Met at the gate with a golf buggy to collect us and our luggage. very friendly welcome from the staff who throughout our stay couldn't do enough for us.

Hotel accommodation, restaurants, location, staff, food are all excellent and couldn't be faulted.

However the only negative comment I would make is that of the maintenance.

We were upgraded to a suite with private pool - excellent news for us as we never went down the hill to use the main pools. However the pool decking in a couple of places had lifted presenting trip hazards/splinter opportunities and also the plastic cover for the flow generator had split in several places leaving sharp edges that we had to watch our 2 year old near.

Apart from that - everything else was great.

If this was useful pls click the 'helpful' button - thanks

Phil

Room Tip: Try and stretch to a suite with a private pool - adds another dimension to your holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhilTwyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    268
    92
    34
    18
See reviews for
631
605
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a very very good Hotel, where in the main most things are excellent and the owners/staff have got right including;

> Location and views
> Rooms & facillities
> Exclusiveity & atmosphere created
> Staff efficiency & friendliness
> The private beach is beautiful, clean, safe & lovely for swimming

MINOR points which could improve the resort;

> Pool area- not enough sun beds, umbrellas & atmosphere
> Lighting in the grounds could improve
> Due to the 'tiered' levels of the resort, access would be difficult for children, the elderly & Infirm- albeit golf buggies are readily available for guests
> Drinks are expensive €4.50 for a small beer
> Dinner & Breakfast buffet did get a bit repetitive, although the quality of food & service is excellent
> The Hotel shop is poorly stocked eg. No coke or water available

My 'Tips'

> Ask for a room with a view of Spinalonga
> Ask for a kettle, tea & coffee & they will provide
> If wi-fi is poor in your room, ask for a router
> Unless drink prices are reviewed, get drinks from the nearby supermarket in Plaka
> Take a meal out in nearby Plaka (15 min walk left out of the Hotel) we had two excellent 'Mezze' Meals at The Carob Tree

Summary

This is an excellent Hotel and we had a fantastic holiday, due to the location, facillities and lovely staff. I would fully recommend the resort for a truly relaxing Greek luxury holiday.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TimmyB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife found this hotel through www.babyfriendlyboltholes.co.uk/ and we were really pleased with our week we've just returned from. On-site creche was excellent, with relaxed and friendly British staff and it gave us just the right balance of timing chilling out and spending time with our young Daughter who isn't yet 2.

Not cheap, but undoubtedly better overall as a result of the deal we got, which was a free upgrade to half-board from B&B. As is usually the case with 5 star resorts, the Spa, drinks etc. are not cheap, so we paid around Euro 1000 for extras during our time at Domes (which admittedly did include around 150 or so at the spa for treatments and 60 for speed boat hire)

Would recommend room 122 which isn't too far up the hill and a short walk to the main hotel building. it had it's own pool and terrace area, along with two good size bedrooms and a large shared bathroom with jacuzzi bath.

Breakfast was probably the better buffet meal, with lots of choice on offer- and dinner was good but some of the main meals could be better-prepared if i'm being picky.

Would definitely recommend for others looking for a relaxed break with attentive and polite staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the place to go if you want to be treated the way you expect to be on your holidays. The Domes just offers a fantastic and kind service. It’s most probably the very best hotel on Crete!

We stayed in one of their villas. A very stylish house on two levels with 2 bedrooms with great beds, 2 bathrooms, a great living room adjoined to a kitchen with all you need.

It has WiFi, a huge garden plus a fantastic and private swimming pool. It's situated on the other side of the hill, in a separate quite valley. You get picked up any time you want to move in an electric golf car which brings you to the breakfast buffet or to the beach.

The beach is very well kept, has a sandy beach and waters are calm and shallow, due to the bay it’s located in. Many olive trees offer lots of shady spaces if needed. You have direct view to the spectacular island of Sperlonga.

The services:
Room service, car’s and the entire hotel staff are out of this world friendly and efficient and make you feel good.

Kids:
All staff is very nice to kids too. The have all you need to make your stay as a family comfortable. Exceptionally cool is their kids club which takes care of babies too. Our kids where there one afternoon and loved it.

Restaurants:
They have 3 different restaurants on the premises, all offering a very sophisticated, modern selection of food. One of them even has Michelin star qualities.

The breakfast buffet is convincing, has a wide choice and offers plenty of healthy food too. It’s quite busy. A little too much for a hotel of this quality. You get hurried up after 10:30, something I honestly don’t like on my holidays. My idea would to be able to get breakfast until 12. World-wide please.

The beach bar is great, as you can get serviced in your deckchair.

The beach restaurant open all day and night and offers lot’s of nice fish and meat choices. It’s very romantic and you will see many couples in love. Good selection of greek wines, even though a little pricey. Staff a little overstrained.

There is a spa and fitness area. The spa offers all kind of beauty and health treatments and is sure worth wile. What’s funny is the fitness room. It’s got 2 endurance machines and a toy like weight machine. Unexplainable for a hotel of this class and size.

All in all a hotel I highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmocomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The main problem about writing a review of our stay in the Domes in the last 10 days of September is to find sufficient superlatives to encapsulate the experience. Our party of three occupied one of 8 villas situated about 1km from the main hotel complex. Each villa has its own landscaped and beautifully maintained garden and although the villas are quite close to each other they have been imaginatively place so that neighbours are not overlooked. The villa has its own 9m x 3m pool which was regularly maintained throughout our stay. There is a large partially covered paved area with outdoor table and chairs and a substantial area of decking with sun loungers and umbrella. Downstairs, the villa has a fully fitted kitchen, laundry room and sitting room and on the upper level 2 double bedrooms, a shower room, bathroom and a large covered balcony. At all hours of the day electric buggys are on call to transport guests to and from the hotel most of the journey along a drive paved in local red stone and lined with gardens brimming with multi coloured bouganvilla. The villa complex is overseen by Marena who could not have been more helpful in making her guests' stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. Breakfast and evening meals are served buffet style. The food was of the highest quality throughout although by the end of ten days I have to admit we were experiencing 'too much of a good thing' and probably should have ventured out to one or two of the restaurants in nearby Plaka or Elounda. But if that was a fault it was one entirely of our own making. The chefs could not have done more to provide high quality food, imaginatively prepared and immaculately served. It is impossible to praise too highly the level of service provided at all levels and in every single area of the Domes. Nothing was too much trouble invariably accompanied by a smile and a cheery word. It is perhaps invidious to single out any one person when there were so many outstanding candidates but Meggie in the dining room stands out in this respect

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we were there for our honeymoon trip, and it was simply splendid to have the suite with the jacuzzi and pool! they had a great beach bar attached to their private beach. and the special private dinner at the jetty while watching the sunset was a memorable experience to cherish! they also gave us a special photo shoot with a good boat ride to the spinelounga island (ruins). had a great time!

Room Tip: any room would be a good room! the pools are not so clean so can avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shraddha1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Rooms are superb, but do insist on a suite that has views of Spinalong. Staff are brilliant and the buffet breakfasts are really first rate. Drinks, spa and and room service are expensive. The buffet diners are not too exciting, and the one complimentary "Michelin Menu" diner we had was well cooked but not well planned. The private "beach" and pool are better than most but limited. Overall we would certainly recommend "The Domes" to anyone wanting a luxurious leisurely and restful break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robodog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
66.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
3.5 mi away
Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
104.4 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Property: Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing