We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

we were her in Mya 2012 right from arriving at reception we could tell this was going to be a fabulous hotel. We had booked the promo suite but they upgraded us without even asking. We arrived after the restaurant had closed but they had arranged for cold cut and cheese and bread and fruit and wine and water to been waiting for us at our suite. We were taken up to our suite by a golf buggy. The room was amazing we had two balconies one with a hot tub and the other with a white sofa nad table and chairs with the most breath taking views over the water and to spalonga.

The best value option is half board and this even gets you 15 euro discout in the al catre restaurant which is down on the beach - its a must do!. All the staff were extremely lovely couldnt do enough for you. It did get bussy at breakfast but where doesnt! Liying by the pool was very peaceful and the quality of the food in the pool bar was excellent - My Husband had the best burger of his life but you do have to wait a while on it coming.

We got a taxi in to Elounda a couple of nites it is 7 euro each way we had the most amazing steaks in a restaurant that literally sit in the water I would highly recommend. If you head in the other direction there is a very small village with a cafe bar and a supermarket it is within walking distance about 10 mins. this is where we go the bus to Ag Nik. It is a very special place to visit and the bus will drop you at your hotel you dont have to go back to the original bus stop.

It would be a dream come to true to return to the Domes, we cant wait!!!

Room Tip: Dont get a room with lots of follage/ trees nearn the ballcony my parents got bitten abit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    268
    92
    34
    18
See reviews for
631
605
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chichester
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have recently returned from our second visit to the Domes. Last year we were captivated by this place,position,staff,service,accomodation and facilities in general.
However this year we were again overwhelmed by the amazing transformation that had taken place and on reflection can only put this down to the hotel team,they seem to have taken on the challenge to make your stay perfect and memorable in all aspects.
It would be easy to pick out things that were not to ones individual taste for example, last year I was unhappy with the barbeque at 1912 this year it was nothing less than superb !!!
The whole atmosphere of the Hotel has changed and clearly heading in the right direction.
Ofcourse all customers have different expectations which I suppose makes the team's job very difficult, From our prospective they are doing a great job, it is very clear that they all take a pride in their roles and are driven to restore the fabled greek hospitality to where it deserves to be.
Congratulations to Emma and all of her team - see you next year !!!
Just one tip for prospective visitors - if you are not happy about something just ask.

Room Tip: It depends on how much time you wish to spend in your room this year out family suite was fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having read lots of the reviews on TA about this hotel and spending hours afterwards deciding whether to take the plunge I can honestly say we are so glad we did. This is a hotel that seems to divide opinion like few others, but for the most part peoples expectations seem to be the main cause for complaint. With the information available on the internet today there isnt really any excuse for not doing your research before you book. There is also a live chat facility on the hotels website so you can ask any questions in advance. Because I had done this myself I was pretty sure what to expect and at the end of the day it was about right.

We stayed in a 2-bed residence which is located at the rear of the hotel with nice sea views a private pool and a bit of space for the kids to run about in. Breakfast could be served at the villa or in the main buffet restaurant. The villa was a 5 minute buggy ride from the main hotel so may feel a little cut off for some, but for us it was perfect and meant we didnt have the issues of feeling cramped and overlooked that others in the main part of the hotel experienced. The villa whilst quite small was suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 young children and served us well. Everything was as described and as required. Marena who looks after the villas could not have been more helpful and made our stay very memorable, well done Marena you are a credit to the hotel.

Positives:
1) Location - Right out of the top drawer. If you are lucky enough to have a view of the sea and Spinalonga Island then it doesnt get much better anywhere. If not then the views from most of the hotel are spectacular.
2) Staff - A pleasure from start to finish. The front desk, the buggy drivers and a special thanks to Marena and the greek guy who brings the breakfast to the villas, what a guy, never met anyone so happy to be alive.!
3) Beach - This seems to be controversial some love it, some dont. If you are expecting Caribbean style beach then forget it but we found it to be lovely. Lying under the trees was very relaxing and there was no road noise whatsoever. Plenty of sunbeds even in August and you could lie in the shade or the sun with no problem. The beach itself is a bit scruffy and could do a bit of work, but the sea in August was warm and that view....
4) Kids club - My 6 yr old daughter loved it and wanted to go every day, my 5 year old son was less bothered but went a few times. It was the first time we have left our children in a kids club, the staff there were lovely and it all felt very safe.
5) Our Villa - As stated we stayed in a 2 bed residence villa which was lovely with our own pool. Whilst very expensive in August, outside of this time I would say it is decent value. The villa itself had everything you needed.

Negatives:

Actually very few:

1) Food - As many have said and cant be denied the food is simply not good enough for a hotel of this calibre. It can only be described as adequate at best. At normal prices this would be OK but not at Domes prices and not in a top drawer hotel where people expect better. If the chef has been trained by Michelin I can only assume it was at the tyre companys canteen. Domes you need to change fast, its just not good enough. The advantage though was that it meant we could try different restaurants every night at Elounda or Plaka, some of which were excellent.
2) The Beach Bar - Menu was very limited and service very slow. Which is a shame because the staff there, especially George go to great lengths to make you happy. It needs to be better.
3) Breakfast - Generally very good but had a few niggles. Most importantly NO fresh juices. I dont expect concentrated orange juice at a 5 star hotel of this magnitude, and they were always running out of glasses. Coffee was good though.
3) Price - Wouldnt be a major factor if they could just get the food right.....

Overall a great stay and it would have had 5 stars if only the food had been better.

Would we go again? Definitely and probably will but maybe not in August as its a bit pricey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FUMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I must firstly say that the staff are the most polite, happy and cannot do enough for you. They are the best we have ever experienced!! The room, 101, was absolutely huge, clean and very comfortable. We loved the beach and could always find a sun lounger whatever time of day. We were upgraded to half board and the food was good although after several nights we needed a change and went to the local village of Plaka for some wonderful fresh fish. We did try the 1910 restaurant and found the food to be pretty average. However the place was full of families with pre-school children so not really a honeymoon destination. My other minor complaint was we felt there should have been a dress code for dinner. We weren't expecting shirt and tie but some guests were arriving for dinner in a vest and football shorts! Although Plaka was only a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel you would need a taxi in the evening as its a very dark road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a week's break at the Domes of Elounda. It was everything I expected from a 5 star hotel and more. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel very special by all the staff at the Domes. A special thanks goes to Emma for her wonderful hospitality, and to the restaurant staff particularly Meggie and Alexandria. The location couldn't be bettered with fantastic views of Spinalonga from our suite and most of the hotel.

The hotel's rooms and suites are beautiful and spread out over a hill side to get the most of the view. We were in a one bed suite at the top with a terrace with panoramic views over the whole lagoon. We really 'enjoyed' the trek up to the room every night after dinner - but there we golf buggies driven by the porter always available for anyone less able to climb the hill and stairs.

We loved the beach with shade provided by Olive trees or parasols. Its small but was never crowed and the location of the beach on the lagoon meant that the sea was relatively 'warm' and calm, so a joy to swim in.

The restaurants offered a good choice of food and good quality.

Elounda is only 5 minutes by taxi, but we preferred Plaka with its good choice of quality tavernas and lovely boutique shops. Plaka only takes around 10-15 minutes to walk

All in all a truly fantastic experience - a hotel were you feel the staff care and want to make this the best holiday you have ever had. We will definitely be back some time soon!

Room Tip: If you dont mind a hike up the hill, ask for one of the suites higher up and with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had stayed between 13-21 september
When we arrived we had a free upgrade to a room which had a private pool which was very nice, the room itserlf exceeded our expectations and was huge, the cleaner did an amazing job thankyou furtura room 118.
The hotel advertised domes of Elounda but could of advertised domes of plaka as this was the nearest resort which was 10-15 minute walk and elounda was a bus or taxi ride away which is 10 minutes.
We were given a free upgrade to half board and whilst i would prefer meals that are provided served fresh there was an extensive choice. However it still felt like school canteen food and was a bit bland, i know others felt it was ok but personally i prefer to go bed and breakfast and have preferred evening meals out.
As part of the honeymoon package we get a meal out at 1910 beach restaurant which you would normally have to pay for, whilst this was a nice change to the buffet i'm glad we didn't have to pay extra as the food wasn't up to much. One of the waiters was very friendly but did seem to have a perspiration problem which is not nice when this is the person serving you the food. Whilst speaking about the staff they were very friendly and could not fault one single person as they exceeded our expectations.
In summary the hotel itself is beautiful the rooms are huge, the staff are amazing but the food is not what myself and my husband would call 5* standard.
Also agree with others that they should advertise as a family hotel as even outside of school holidays the hotel was full of kids.
Thankyou for an amazing honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've recently returned from the Domes of Elounda with our young son and had a great time.

Location
It's not in the centre of Elounda, it's a taxi ride away but it is so peaceful and beautiful. Plaka is a short walk away and worth a visit to one of the tavernas.

Room
We had a premium one bedroom suite so our son slept in the lounge. This was at the recommendation of Destinology. It worked fine. The rooms are big and the cleaners are great. The little private pool you get is cleaned each day too.
The private pool in the family rooms are bigger.

View
I think most rooms get a good view. Destinology recommended we go high up but it was so tiring pushing a pram up a steep hill and then climbing 30 steps. If you have a pram definitely go for one of the rooms lower down. The whole hotel has lovely views.

Service
All the staff were friendly and helpful. We were asked for feedback half way through our holiday and mentioned the location of our room was tiring to get to but other than that all was fine. We thought nothing more of it until the hotel manager approached us an hour later to offer us a different room. We declined as we only had four nights left but what great, proactive service.

Food
The breakfast buffet was good and had a big selection. We were on half board and the evening buffet didn't have tons of choice but was nice. The sushi was good and unexpected. We always went early, 6.30pm, due to our son.
We ate lunch at the pool bar a couple of times but the food wasn't that good. The restaurant on the beach was nice but the food was overpriced and they should probably downplay the Michelin inspired menu as it didn't live up to expectations.
The tavernas in Plaka and Elounda were lovely and what you'd expect in a nice resort with traditional food reasonably priced.

I must admit I think the hotel should explicitly market itself as a luxury family hotel as I would have been a bit disappointed going just as a couple. There were lots of children which I imagine can put some people off.

However, one gripe was people with children couldn't eat outside in the main restaurant. Fair enough in the evening, although most families are there as soon as it opens, but it was a bit much at breakfast.

. But as a hotel for a nice break with young kids it was perfect - would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room high up if you don't like steep hills and steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
66.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
3.5 mi away
Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
104.4 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection

Property: Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection is set on the most privileged hill and offers luxurious accommodation with spa bath overlooking the island of Spinalonga and its Venetian castle. It has a spa and 5 restaurants serving haute cuisine dishes, a sandy beach and many swimming pools. Each of the air-conditioned suites is uniquely decorated and has easy access to the private sandy beach. They include a spacious living room with wooden floors and a satellite LCD TV. Some suites also have a private pool or open-air hot tub. This year, the new Domes Luxury Residences, along with the stunning Domes Ultraluxe Villas, come with the 'Haute Living Selection', essentially creating an exclusive haute-luxury villa boutique experience, within the already impressive resort of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection. The spa of Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection includes an interior seawater pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. It also offers rejuvenating therapies, such as facial and massage treatments. The 5 restaurants offer casual beachside settings or elegant dining rooms with panoramic sea views. Guests can taste progressive Greek cuisine, seafood and Cretan dishes. An Asian restaurant is also possible. The hotel is very conveniently located. The village of Elounda is 2.5 km away. Part of the Elounda myth, is the Venetian Castle on the Island of Spinalonga, the setting for Victoria Hislop's bestselling novel "The Island". The lively seaside town of Agios Nikolaos is within 12 km of Domes of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda, Autograph Collection Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing