We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dry spell / Durststrecke”
Review of Kariatis

Kariatis
Ranked #17 of 450 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beautiful, stylish restaurant built on the old Kastelli wall in the wonderful, picturesque Venetian harbour of Chania. Established in 1993, Kariatis enjoys an excellent reputation for top quality food and service with an impressive menu created and served with proficiency and flair. Imaginative and refreshingly different dishes inspired by flavoursome, colourful, aromatic ingredients from both Crete and Italy offering an appetizing assortment of Italian and Mediterranean dishes and delicious gourmet desserts. Also serves fresh filleted fish dishes including sea bass, salmon and tuna and lots of luscious seafood pasta and risotto dishes. During the winter months we will be seducing sushi lovers with our sensational sushi. Kariatis also offers an extensive selection of award-winning Greek and International wines from around the world.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived at Kariatis yesterday at around 7 and were greeted and seated in a very friendly manner. Being quite thirsty it seemed to take hours and some self initiative until we were able to place our order for drinks. My advise to the management would be to critically reflect on this point instead of writing replies to tripadvisor reviews. We do want you to get better. It is not a question of who is wrong or right. Once started the service was professional and swift. The food was ok, but nothing to write home about. Too much vinegar on the salad, good pizza, sweetish tomato sauce on the al dente pasta. Comfortable chairs and a glimpse of the harbor. For kids and drivers: Try the traditional home made lemonade.

Wir kamen gestern Abend gegen 7 bei Kariatis an und wurden sehr freundlich gegrüßt und zu unserem Platz geführt. Wir waren recht durstig und es schien Stunden zu dauern und erforderte Eigeninitiative bis wir unsere Getränke bestellen konnten. Einmal in Gang gekommen war die Bedienung dann aber professionell und schnell. Das Essen war ok, wie ein guter Italiener in Deutschland. Zu viel Essig am Salat, eine süßliche Tomatensoße zu den al dente Nudeln, gute Pizza. Bequeme Stühle und ein kleines Stück vom Hafen zu sehen. Empfehlung für Kinder und Fahrer: die hausgemachte Limonade.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Gemuetlichkeit4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel24, Owner at Kariatis, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I sent a message to this reviewer asking why they don't just tell the truth, that the head waiter approached their table within five minutes of them being seated and they sent him away because they said they weren't ready to order. This was also witnessed by two other waiters and our hostess who had shown this family of four to their table. Once they had decided on their choice of dinner, their order was taken and their drinks were delivered to the table straight away. They shared two starters and three main courses and everything was served in an efficient manner. They were also served a second round of drinks during their meal at which point the waiters checked to see how they were enjoying the food and they smiled and nodded that everything was very good. There was no indication at all throughout any of their time at our restaurant that this family were in any way unhappy or dissatified with either our service or our food so we find their review very bizarre and instead of getting any reply to my question they just ignored and deleted my message and strangely blocked all incoming mail. So this is why as owners we have to take the time to write these management responses, after all, we have a voice too. Otherwise many travellers might be convinced that the people writing the review are actually telling the truth all the time, which I can assure you in this instance is certainly not the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 348 of 894 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

We did notface service issues presumably because we sat down or dinner after 10 at the restaurant when it was emptying out. The food is great. I had bolognaise and my wife carbonara two standard dishes that any italian restaurant worth its salt has to make well.....and they were very good too. We were given some delicious desert wine with our cheque. The location is nice as well, its right besides the harbour so you have the cool sea breeze at night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BernieAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The menu is the same as its sister restaurant "Zafferano", but the service is poor and you'll be waiting a long time for your food. My wife decided to have the linguini, because I raved about it so much, but it wasn't a patch on Zafferano; so poor that we sent it back! It just wasn't the quality that we were expecting having been to Zafferano. The setting of Kariatis is better, but we're in it for the food not just the location.

Go to Zafferano in Platanias instead, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TonyandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel24, Owner at Kariatis, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We found this review unnecessarily "bitter" describing our service and food unjustifiably as "poor" therefore felt it required a management response. This particular couple arrived at our restaurant, were kindly greeted and seated and in due course, once they had decided on their choice of dinner, their order was taken. They chose a very nice Greek Sauvignon Blanc and a bottle of sparkling water which was served to them promptly with proficency and care. Their food order consisted of a shared starter of tuna carpaccio which was prepared efficiently fresh to order and served to their table. On finishing their starter their plates were collected and the table was reset with fresh clean cutlery for the main courses. They had ordered a medium rare fillet al gorgonzola and a linguine pollo parmesana. After several minutes into their main courses they called over the waiter who had taken their order and complained that they were dissatified with the linguine claiming it had very little chicken or asparagus compared with the very same dish they had enjoyed at our other restaurant Zafferano a few nights previously. Our staff at both our restaurants are trained altogether by the same person, my husband who is a self-taught chef and all portions at both restaurants are based on the same measured ingredients in each individual dish. It would non-sensical of us as owners of both establishments to do otherwise! Nevertheless, focusing on service and despite it being a busy time for the kitchen, the waiter immediately offered to arrange another plate of fresh linguine with extra chicken and extra asparagus, above and beyond what we normal serve, in order to placate the situation. The linguine dish took priority in the kitchen and was prepared fresh to order immediately and served within fifteen minutes of the dish being returned. Their response was that they didn’t want it anymore and they had already asked for the bill. I sent a message to gentleman who wrote this review asking why there was no mention of the other dishes they had enjoyed, why no mention of the replacement pasta dish that was knowlingly prepared for them only to be refused once it reached the table and why no mention of after serving up two plates of pasta (the second with extra ingredients) there was no charge placed on their bill. How «poor» that he never bothered replying to me in order to help me with my management response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A group of seven of us ate at this restaurant last night. We were greeted and shown to our table in a very professional manner. Unfortunately half an hour later we had still not had anyone come and take even a drinks order. We even got up twice to ask someone to come and take an order. The people on the next table had been there longer than us and gave up and got up and left. It is such a shame because when we finally did get served the service was good and the food was lovely but it has put us off returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayne47_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The best Italian in Chania. The food is excellent and has a wide range of dishes and reasonable prices, the atmosphere is very relaxing and romantic and a fantastic staff.Can´t wait for another visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Benny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kariatis also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Parigoria, Chania Town
Agii Apostoli, Chania Town
 

Been to Kariatis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing