We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are looking for a great host, then Iason...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Iason Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iason Studios
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a great host, then Iason...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Despina, the host, takes time to communicate with us back and forth before we book the room. She sends a lot of pictures of her available rooms for us to study. Once we booked the room, she provided detailed information to get to her studios, to get to the old market, and the things we could do while we are in town. Through a few emails we both feel we are already friends for a while. Her English is very good and she was a school English teacher before. Like all the other reviews, she welcomed us with light snacks including pastries, fruits, nuts and raki. The room is furnished consistent with the style of the old town. The room is clean. Our room has a big kitchen. She prepared bus schedules for us, with a big map as well. She gave us good tips to shop for fruit, vegetables with good prices, and the restaurants to eat with locals or tourists. The internet in her studios has very strong signals and is very fast. The only thing is that the shower is quite small and I am not very comfortable with the bed.

Room Tip: A good communication with Despina means a lot to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wei1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
52
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked an airport to Iason Studios transfer in advance via email communications with Despina, and are glad we did. It was only 20€ and well worth not having to figure out taxis or bus schedules.
Despina was waiting for us when we arrived. She was so friendly and helpful! She was kind enough to provide us with a bit of information (maps, a list of Greek phrases, and bus schedules) about the area but understood that we were travel weary and said she would give us more info the next day. She also provided a light snack and some Tsikoudia or Raki. http://www.sfakia-crete.com/sfakia-crete/raki.html
Despina booked a rental car for us as well as a taxi for our departure. She also recommended a great restaurant and told us about the street market (a great place to pick up fresh fruit and veggies, and flip flops if you forget yours...) and for our trek to the beach, she provided us with beach towels.
The only downside of our room us the wee tiny shower but we managed to make the best of it!
All else was excellent! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for over a week and the facilities and location were perfect. Very quiet but in the middle of the old town. The studios were spacious and well equiped. We had a large kitchen area. Despina the owner is very helpful and speaks perfect english.

Room Tip: I think all rooms used by our group were top quality with balconies ans A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Despina, your host, who is fluent in English, has thoughtfully covered every detail to make sure the studios have everything a traveler could think of. I used to live in Chania, and now whenever I visit I love having the option of shopping at a different fresh food market each day and eating in for lunch and going out for dinner. I also love the location of Iason Studios.Over the years I've learned to stay far enough from the noisy night clubs, right around the corner from the beach and free parking, but still right in the heart of the sounds, sights and aromas of the oldest urban center in Europe.

Room Tip: All the studios are great, but being on the top floor gives you a larger view of street life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Upon arrival in Chania until we departed Despina and Iason studios made this a wonderful trip to remember! The room was spacious and clean in an excellent area of town just off the harbor on a lovely street with many good restaurants (Especially the one at the top of Angelou Street!!) Despina was so helpful giving us maps when needed and answering any questions we had. We were also pleased to hear that there was cleaning and laundry services included in the price of our stay!! It was also an easy walk to the bus station where we could get around to Kissamos and to the beach in Agii Apostoli. After such a wonderful vacation, we have already decided we will definitely go back, and will again stay at Iason studio!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoeliacChick16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Our first few days in Chania was great. Nice weather for walking around, shopping and still warm enough to sit out on the patio to enjoy amazing Greek cuisine and excellent wines. Our last few days were rainy and windy so we spent a lot of time at the apartment.

We loved the old Venetian style and thoughtful layout of Iason studios apt#1. The kitchenette suited our budget as we bought fruit/veggies from one of the many markets nearby, and the patio was perfect for late afternoon coffees and relaxing.

There were two minor downsides.
1)The very tiny shower. I am a small person and still had a hard time in the confined space. I'm not sure if all the showers in these old rooms are this small.
2)The mattress (two single mattresses pushed together) was not very comfortable. A few springs were digging into the back.

Despina was a wonderful hostess. She picked us up and dropped us off at the airport for a very small price. She brought Greek treats for us and recommended some very exceptional restaurants (dolomos I believe it was called - excellent traditional Greek), and set up a car rental for us that we had to reschedule multiple times and eventually cancel due to the bad weather. Despina was very pleasant and helpful each step of the way.

We definitely recommend Iason! We would stay again, but in a suite with a more comfortable mattress :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a collection of great studio apartments in the centre of the old town of Chania. Despina is a very thoughtful and hospitable host who goes out of her way to think of things you would enjoy doing and make life as relaxing as possible.

Chania is a great place to stay in Western Crete, with a lively centre and beautiful surrounding area. We would recommend hiring a car if you're going, as it's so much easier to get around. The highlights for us were the Samaria gorge (a full day trip), the island of Spinalonga (again, worth a whole day), Knossos (although heavily "interpreted" by Arthur Evans...) and a series of pretty empty beaches (we were there in late May).

One minor down side was the refurbishment of the building opposite which made early mornings a bit noisy. Hopefully that is temporary and it didn't detract from a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesSamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#30 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iason Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iason Studios

Property: Iason Studios
Address: 32 Agelou | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iason Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iason Studios is a small family business and includes five studios in a two-storey building with private bathroom, kitchen facilities, and balcony. The building is situated on the west side of the old town, with no traffic, just a few meters from the old Venetian harbour where you can find most of the historical sites of the city of Hania as well as many places for entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iason Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iason Studios Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing