We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
26
8
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
26
8
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minoan ruins the owner great location alex hania tavernas beaches
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 39 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2016

I picked Kasteli more or less at random but I'm so glad that I did. The reasons that this is the place you should stay are:

1) Location. It is exactly centrally located to everywhere you would want to be in Chania, including being only steps from the harbor. However, since it is on the hill in a courtyard it manages to be surprsingly quiet. After seeing the chaos in most of the harbor and adjacent areas I realized how much I lucked out by picking the quietest possible place that was still very close to everything/

2) The kitchenettes. At least my room, and probably all of them, have a refrigerator, sink, hot plate, and dishes and silverware. This is perfect for having breakfast at the place and storing your restaurant leftovers.

3) The owner, Alex, will help you do anything you need, including renting a car. He has a small parking area which they will deliver the cars to and pick them up from. He's also always happy to make coffee, and it is real coffee, fresh ground and in a french press, not the terrible stuff they are mostly serving around town.

Of course this is not the place to stay if you want free massages, a free continental breakfast, room service, a doorman and all of that, but for the more independent yet discerning traveler it is exactly what you want.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

Definitely worth of recomending to stay at Chania. Comfortable and cozy apartments, decorated woth local taste - meeting a three star hotel standards. The owner speaks good English and is always eager to help or to have a short chat about local turistic particulars. The partments located very near to the port and main restaurat court of Chania.

Date of stay: August 2015
2  Thank Essaalessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stayed in a studio run by Alex for 9 nights and would thoroughly recommend all of his properties in the courtyard, plus the pension just around the corner, where his office is located. A great welcome and attentive service was standard. Alex was very efficient, making sure everything was OK. The Studio was very clean and the right size for 2 people. WiFi was excellent.

It's true, you are only 2 mins walk from the busy harbour front but the courtyard is silent! A great night's sleep will be guaranteed, and I'm a light sleeper!

Tavernas on the harbour are great, but touristy. Head south a street or two and eat with the locals.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2014

Recently retired couple, Canada
We had the occasion of staying a few nights in one of the studios that Alex (the manager) rents. The appartment is spacious, well furnished, clean, and quiet (in a back alley full of flowers). And yes, parking for your vehicule (mucho rare in Greece). A/C and all the fixtures were fully functional and the maid service very good.
Alex really gets out of his way to make you feel welcome and offers good suggestions and directions, just ask he'll provide. And I'm not an apple-polisher ! All in all, we were lucky to have found this accomodations in Chania (prononced Hania).
Only 2 small inconveniences: a bit hard to find (do not trust your GPS !). Il you can call before showing up and he will tell you how to navigate the Streets (after that, it is a breeze). And the bed is quite hard, to our preference.of course, but not to keep me from a good sleep.
Chania is a swell place to radiate about the western part of Crete, where the beauty of Crete shows up; has all the attractions of a village but with all services of a large town. Glad we went. Thanks again Alex.

Room tip: Our review is about the apartment blocks remote from the office;I do not know about the rooms in the main hotel.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DALtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2014

I find the host quite rude when we enquire about the rooms so I'm very surprise about the comments made here that he is very friendly and welcoming. In fact it's the rudest host I have ever encountered.
If you don't mind that kind of hospitality, the accommodation is only a few minutes walk to the Old Venetian Port and the rooms are reasonably clean.
There is also a free parking and wi-fi which is great.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mojito0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews