We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hotel yet for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ionas Boutique Hotel
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Schaerbeek, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hotel yet for me”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The location is really nice, in a quiet street just in the centre of the pedestrian area.
The room was perfect: clean, big, comfortable and with everything we needed (free water included).
The breakfast was simple but local and really good (mmmh, the breadsticks and the olives...).
The service thoug was the best yet. they called me immediately for some problems after the booking and everything was solved quickly. Georgia from the reception then called me again the day before the arrival to explain how to get there and where to park and has been really nice and helpful throughout our stay.
This will be my recommendation for Chania and my choice when I'll come back to Crete.

Drawbacks?
A 3 minutes walk after parking in the main street and missing a place to hang the shower head in the bath.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
96
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ionas hotel is situated at the heart of the old town within walking distance from the market, the port, cafes and restaurants. It is in an idyllic surrounding. It is a very old and traditional building beautifully renovated with respect to its history. Quite noisy because of the district but it is worth it. You don't stay there to relax but to enjoy the city life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivievag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a wonderful week in Crete in celebration of a 50th Birthday! In 30 years of worldwide travel Ionas is among the very best of hotels we have stayed in. It is a stylish, modern yet sympathetic renovation of an old building in a lovely part of Chania; in a quiet backstreet just minutes away from the main attractions and some fabulous tavernas, the hotel has everything you need for a perfect holiday. The owner and his staff/family go out of their way to make you feel welcome and typify what we found throughout Crete - friendly, generous people who are very proud of both their Island and its culture and rightly so!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn0wflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel Ionas is a great and unique small hotel in downtown Chania. It's very decorated and has some unique outside wooden features.
Hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull. Rooms are excellent and clean. Breakafast is very good, with excellent choice of meat, cheese, orangejus, you name it, it's there.
We will surely be back this year for another perfect stay

Room Tip: Very nice place. Wonderfull decorated. Close to the city center and restaurants at the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart188632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

That's all I have to say. Stayed here for a night during our honeymoon. Wish we could have stayed longer but we needed to leave for Samos Our friends took over our room and stayed another night, we are jealous. Beautifully restored building and the balcony was gorgeous. Mike, the owner was as helpful as can be. We plan to be back this summer...for at least 3 or 4 days..can't wait

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist789456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

this hotel is located away from the tourist path, in the little backstreets of the old town, and it is so peaceful and quiet. the number of rooms is little, no more than ten i suppose. the aura was so homey and friendly, due to the wooden and stone elements used in the decoration, as well as thanks to the hotel personnel. we stayed over the weekend, and i wish we had more time to enjoy in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIHALIS P, Owner at Ionas Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mrs. Nikie,
thank you for the nice comments about our hotel. We are pleased that you decided to stay with us. Hope that we are going to meet each other another time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in the Ionas hotel for a week in July having read the recommendations on Trip Advisor. The hotel was absolutely perfect!!! I stayed one additional week for work having cancelled another hotel I had already booked and some colleagues also joined me for the second week.

The hotel is tucked away in the old town so you really get the benefit of a peaceful place in the heart of Chania- everything is literally 2 minutes away. Rooms are spotless and cleaned daily to a very high standard. You really get the sense that the staff are like a family but they are not intrusive so you benefit from a very personal service.

The hotel is not staffed in the afternoon and evening but the owner lives very close and comes whenever you need anything (or if you arrive late). He (Mr Michealis) was extremely nice and sper helpful when helping me extend my stay and make provision for others to arrive. Georgia on reception was also great and really helpful with directions, places to visit and arranging taxis.

In short it was a fantastic dual purpose stay in a perfect hotel. I'm back next year and I certainly know where I will be staying.

Room Tip: Some rooms have amazing jacuzzis others fantastic walk in showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIHALIS P, Owner at Ionas Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mr. Martyn,

what can I say about your kind comments about our hotel. It was so nice to meet you and host you in our property! Thank you very much for your comments and for your recommends to your colleagues, I have no words! We hope that you and your wife will stay forever smiling as we met you! We wish you a nice winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 108 in Chania Town
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bozzali
Bozzali
#47 of 108 in Chania Town
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#52 of 108 in Chania Town
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#36 of 108 in Chania Town
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#35 of 108 in Chania Town
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#14 of 108 in Chania Town
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionas Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionas Boutique Hotel

Property: Ionas Boutique Hotel
Address: Kallinikou Sparpaki & Sorvolou, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionas Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel with 9 guest rooms,Ionas Boutique Hotel is a carefully restored historical home, centrally located in a charming neighborhoodof the Venetian Port of Chania.Situated in the most quiet, authentic sectionof town, with many ofthe city's monumentsand museums within walking distance, Ionas Boutique Hotel is also served by numerous local markets, cafes, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ionas Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionas Hotel Chania
Ionas Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing