We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, authentic Cretan experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pazinos Village Studios
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My father and I had such a wonderful stay at Pazinos Village Studios in April. The rooms are simple, homey and clean, and the little village in which the Studios are located is delightfully quiet and authentic. Dimitris and his team are so helpful, fun and friendly. Dimitris took us on a tour of the local monasteries which was fascinating! His wealth of knowledge regarding local history and his commitment to the preservation of these sites is a gift to those who have the opportunity to spend time exploring with him. Make sure you ask Dimitris for dining recommendations in the village, and don't miss out on a tour of the monasteries. The meal we had at the friend of Dimitris restaurant in Pazinos was one of the best meals we've ever had!

My father and I were researching the area, and paying tribute to my great Uncle, who died in Crete in WWII. Dimitris and his friends offered so much assistance in our quest, and treated us as part of their extended family from the moment we arrived - it was truly a wonderful experience.

The Studios can be a bit tricky to find. I've added photos of the small sign that you will see off the main square in Pazinos. It's best to park and walk around the square if you want to find the studios easily.

If you're looking for authenticity, and want to really experience Cretan culture, I highly recommend Pazinos Village Studios!

Room Tip: I loved my room which was upstairs, above the office.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Pazinos Village Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at Pazinos Village Studios for three days. Its located just a little out of Chania Town, in one of the oldest villages on the island. Being the only people staying there that weekend, we were given the largest apartment, which had two floors-a downstairs kitchen/lounge with a couple of single beds in a separate but open plan bedroom, and an upstairs bedroom that opened out on to a large open-air roof balcony with our own tables and chairs and a lovely view of the mountains. It was really special. The hospitality however overshadowed the rooms. The people that run this place are larger than life, but just so lovely. We were given an amazing home-made breakfast everyday whenever we wanted it, were given iced coffees whenever we wanted them, we had a bottle of Raki left for us...Sarah even was given a necklace and we left with a large loaf of sweetened herb-bread to take back to England. Really quite something else. Dimitri (the owner) took us around the peninsula in his car on several of the days we were there, taking us pretty much wherever we wanted to go (which was lucky, because if you want to go somewhere off the peninsula you have to catch a bus back into Chania and then out again...which might limit you if you want to go to the south of the island as there are only a few buses a day-better to hire a car when you get to the island-much cheaper than online). On our final day on the island we were taken around Holy Trinity Monastery by Dimitri (who has connections there and does tours occasionally) and were taken around some parts where visitors don't usually go...breathtaking. Later that day he then took us around some catacombs near Marathi beach-these predate any of the monasteries on the island (they are hundreds of years old) and safe to say, they are not visited by a great number of tourists! Really special though! Finally, to round things off, on the final night, there was a village meal in town where a number of the village folk got together to share food. We were invited along by Dimitri to join and were treated to just an amazing evening of great food in a really welcoming atmosphere. We were constantly offered more food (side plates kept appearing out of nowhere) and the food was just a million times better than in the town tavernas (and an awful lot cheaper!) The final thing to note was just how affordable this place was to stay-forty euros a night for the both of us! And that included the breakfasts, the coffees and the trips by Dimitri. Phenomenal. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: If you can, see if you can get one of the rooms with a balcony. In the evening it is really nice to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The people who run this are lovely and very warm inviting ppl. The womam brought me tea and honey when i was sick and packed me a sandwiches for my bike ride to the beach and my final bus journey. They always offered me a frappe when i went downstairs and had some sweet treats(see pic) waiting for me in the room when i first arrived. The Greeks in general were all wonderful hosts the month I was traveling around Greece. The hospitality is unmatched in the 44 countries ive traveled in the last 8years. The following are tips that none of the other reviews have noted. CASH ONLY, their cc machine was broken and in Crete as on most islands it can take awhile for things to get fixed. Plazinos is 12k outside chania town it is a very small village and I think Demetrius, the owner, is the only English speaker around. The kind woman worker and the grandfather do not. Theres no wifi in the room. the pool is located across the alley in a private villa they rent out so he took me over and introduced me to the family renting it and asked them if I could use it. They were pleasant but that felt slightly awkward. The pool would be good for swimming laps but its above ground and there's no chairs around to lay out. (You need a car.) I didn't have one and the bike they generously lent me was not so fun in 35-37degree weather since theres little to nothing within a 10k vicinity Well, There's a pretty beach actually about 7k away but down a winding steep road and then it's a steep climb back up. There's no market around within walking distance so bring cash and any groceries from chania town before you get there. theres a kitchenette to cook with in the room. The bus to chania is only 2euro each way so get times from Demetrius when you arrive. Demetrius is a nice guy and the traverna he took me to up the road was great value for a nice filling home cooked Greek meal. Again, nobody spoke English but they were very friendly. I wouldn't recommend plazinos for solo travelers without car or some knowledge of Greek. it's too isolated and no English speakers didn't help but maybe a couple or family with a car that doesn't need relaxing by the pool or Internet in their room this would suit you especially if you wanna avoid hustle and bustle of staying in town. Theres one channel that shows english shows occasionally throughout the afternoon and evenings. The water pressure was weak in the shower and the curtain short so water got everywhere. its near the airport so there's planes coming and going but I never heard any before 9:30am and there's neighbors roosters around 4am-6am so if you're a light sleeper just bring plugs. And the crickets are really loud all day but that's typical living out in the country. Average/basic facilities and a very kind staff in remote location.

Room Tip: if they have any rooms with wifi request one, mine didn't and kind of a pain.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chas8Chips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The title to my review says it all. My husband, daughter and I have just returned from 5 days at Pazinos Village Studios Chania. We were not disappointed! So much was good it is hard to know where to start. Suffice to say we can't wait to return!

The peace was surreal just peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings surrounded by friendly people who cannot do enought for you.

Mr Dimitris the owner is terrific and we are particularly grateful to him, without doubt, a very special person! He took us for a local drive in the area giving us the oportunity to live and learn about the cretans.

The studios are just gorgeous. The beds are most comfortable and breakfast full of local cretan products.

The nearby tavern of Mr Grigoris, a tipical cretan one, with perfect home cooked cretan food and Mr Grigoris and all his family looking after all your needs will make you feel more like eating home with very dear friends.

Strongly recommend it to those who really appreciate good food and very good company.

I know I probably sound a bit over the top with all my superlatives but to be honest this place is very special and deserves the praise. I only wish there were more places like it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvaM638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We didn't stay here but wanted to write a review as we visited the Studios this summer. We were touring Crete on holiday and by chance met the owner of Pazinos Village Studios when he kindly showed us around the old monastery in the local village (for free when we stumbled across it - he was watering the plants there). He then very kindly invited our group back to his Village Studios for coffee and gave us a tour of the rooms, Greek coffee and a gift of olive oil from their own produce. He and his wife are incredibly hospitable and friendly - this is a family run place and if you want to see authentic Crete and meet local people then this is the place to stay. The rooms we saw were really lovely - traditionally decorated and very, very spacious. The terraces all had lovely flowers. We found ourselves wishing we had found this place earlier and not at the end of our holiday. Would definitely recommend it for those who want a quiet relaxing authentic Greek holiday. And they also run Cretean cooking classes!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank turas2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ask Mr Dimitris.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lucamenosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAZINOS, Ιδιοκτήτης at Pazinos Village Studios, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
3.1 mi away
Sunrise Studios
Sunrise Studios
#64 of 111 in Chania Town
14 reviews
3.2 mi away
Creta Vitalis
Creta Vitalis
#2 of 6 in Kalathas
61 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#61 of 111 in Chania Town
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
162.1 mi away
To Hani Tou Kokkini
To Hani Tou Kokkini
#104 of 111 in Chania Town
2 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aloni Suites
Aloni Suites
#1 of 1 in Chorafakia
88 reviews
4.0 mi away
Monte Vardia
Monte Vardia
#30 of 111 in Chania Town
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pazinos Village Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pazinos Village Studios

Address: Pazinos Akronriou Square, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 * hotel. A verdant courtyard of flowers and herbs surrounds the rooms (1 bed - 2 beds - 3 beds etc)  All rooms have kitchenette, fridge, TV, A / C, bathroom and hot water 24 hours. It is located 3Klms from the airport and close to the best beaches of Akrotiri (Marathi, Loutraki, Seitan limania, Stavros, Kalathas ...). It is 10klm away from the city of Chania. If you do not have a car, there is a transport coverage from 06.00 until late at night.   We can give you information about our island and create together a program for unforgettable holidays, according to your preferences. We also have an attendant for visits to visit places in the area, not much until no tourism (There must be an update on the day you need the attendant) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pazinos Village Studios Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing