We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kedrissos is simply the best!!”
Review of Hotel Kedrissos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kedrissos
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Vejbystrand, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kedrissos is simply the best!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

When we arrived at 23:30 Andrea who also was the owner of the hotel met us at entrance. He politely welcomed us to the hotel, gave us a map, the keys to the room and explained a lot of "good things" to know about Chania. The rooms where quite small but enough for us and believe it or not there where a shower curtain in the shower so the floor outside was left dry even after the shower.

The Rooms:
We got a balcony to the east so the morning sun was wonderful, just as wonderful as the view. To the right we had the mountains and to the left we had a glimpse of the sea.
The beds were slightly hard but still they gave a very good sleep.
The cleaning of the room was top class. They made a really good job and were always very nice.

Pool Area:
Now to the best part, the pool area. This was one of the best pool area I have ever seen. It was Clean, nice, and free from noise. It had a big pool and a lot of comfortable sun chairs, also a pool bar with wonderful people who made your day to the best. Low playing and varying music in the background together with a cold drink or something easy to eat was really relaxing. The pool area also had outdoor and indoor showers, which showed to be convenient for our departure at the end of our week.
Yeah it was really marvellous and I already miss it.

The Bar:
The bar with the staff was really doing a great job to make your stay memorable, and they succeed very well.
The Greek evening with barbeque and dance was nice, they served a marvellous dinner combined of several sorts of barbeque, tuna, tzatziki, pasta and some really god sauces for that.

The Breakfast:
In the morning you were able to enjoy a well-served breakfast containing scrambled eggs, sausages, bread, juice, coffee, boiled eggs and flakes with sour milk. Everything was very fresh placed on cooling or heating.

The Service:
You can’t expect more of service than what Andrea and his brother Nikos staff gave. For example, they arrange for a rental car and helped us to find a memorable trip down to Chora Sfakion. Andrea took his time to check where on the island the weather was best, he marked our trip on a map and told us just to call him if anything went wrong.
Another example is that they let us use the towel, the showers, the sun beds yeah the whole hotel was to our disposal even though we had to check out from our room at 12:00 the last day and our flight departured at 00:35. This gave us one extra day in the sun.

Summary:
Kedrissos gave us the best trip so far by having a really clean hotel, fresh breakfast but most of all their hospitality was marvellous. We will be back, you can be sure about that.

Room Tip: Rooms to the east have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    37
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Kedrissos three years ago and decided to go back again this year in early September. The same family atmosphere, the same Andreas and Nico. The hotel had been upgraded here and there since our last stay and that was nice too.

What we love about Kedrissos. It is a family owned hotel. Andreas and Nico go out of their way to make everybody feel at home while there. This year our little two year old girl came down with a nasty infection in her throat. Andreas drove us, and another family with a sick baby, to his family pediatrician stayed with us for the duration of the examination. When done we had some things to do, so Andreas got into his car, drove to a pharmacy and picked up the medications needed. He made sure the pharmacist wrote the instructions on the package very clearly in English. With two sick little girls, the whole thing took a few hours. How many hotel owners or managers would do that for their guests?

This is the important part of Kedrissos. This is not a huge chain hotel with a spa and a golf course. This is a family run operation that is perfectly clean, friendly and comfortable. The location is great with a nice walk to Chania town and also quite close to the beaches west of Chania. Andreas and family will go out of their way to make sure you have a good time whether you hang out at the pool all day or whether you have a car and want to travel all over Crete to see the sights.

While we were there I am sure at least half the guests had been there once before. Many of the guests we met go to Kedrissos every year. We met people who had been to Kedrissos ten times or more. There is a reason for that, and that is the Vizirakis family who owns and runs the hotel.

Room Tip: The "old" part of the hotel (by the reception area) has been renovated and the rooms are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ColdViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This small hotel lies a 20 min walk outside Chania City in a quiet area with ocean view.
The hotel is small and has therfore a more personal atmosphere than a lot of the bigger turist hotels that is located closer to Platanias. Many of the other visitors at the hotel said they had been at this hotele before and came back because of the friendly staff and good atmosphere.
The nearest beach had a walk distance of appriximately 12-15 min vest from the hotel. At the bech you could rent sunshade and sun lounger for 5 EUR. there was also two small bars where you could buy drinks and food. On the way to the beach there was also a supermarked.
The hotel has also a very nice pool area if you want to stay at the hotel.
The hotel has a very centrally situated and the bus goes in to town every 10-15 minutes or the other way towards Platanis if you like to see another place or beach
Chania city was very nice at the evenings and had very many nice places to eat by the old harbour. If you want to take a taxi this cost 6 EUR one way. The hotelroomes has separate beds, refrigerator with could storage and normal kitchen equipment. The bathrooms is plain and the only thing we missed was a shower curtain, but this is not a big problem.
You can have both aircondition and safe in the room (this cost extra)
We had a very nice stay at this hotel and if I am going back (or when I am going back) to Chania i will stay at this hotel :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view in first or second floor behind the bar/pool area. This is also the mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrineholm
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Big positive surprise for staying in this hotel. Stuff in this hotel creates a big family atmosphere. Every day we got a tips from receptionist where to go, what to see, get a map with routes to see. You do not need a book about a Kreata, is it just to ask receptionist.
You can even get for free a shot of home made Raki - delicious and strong stuff.
Rooms are not to big, but really fresh and cleaned perfectly. As a plus was hat we get for free extra "travel bed" for our 1 year child - he do not need to sleep with us.
Nice pool with children pool area.
Good breakfast, good food in the restaurant. If You want to spent a holiday only in the hotel is a grat choice. Free parking.
40 minutes walk to Chania center, 5 minutes to the beach, 5 minutes to the supermarket.
We are planning to come back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

There are two sections to the Kedrissos hotel. The old part and the new part. The old part has small rooms and is of lower quality than the new part. Make sure you get a room in the new part - just book one room with an extra bed and you'll be fine.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Just outside Chania - you can easily walk it, but even better, it is five euro by taxi. There are mini markets and a large super market very close to the hotel. If you get a car, and hey, this is Krete, you really should get a car and get around, there is excellent parking.

Thing about the hotel is this - it is basic. It is not a Hilton. Nor should it be. The rooms, at least the two person rooms, are not huge. Who cares? Did you book a trip to Krete to stay in your room? They (see above) have what you need. Beds. Fridge. Place to cook some breakfast. Go to the super market, stock up on breakfast stuff, throw it in the fridge, prep it on the stove and then go talk to Andreas.

This is a family run hotel. They try to take care of you. Do they try to hard? Only if you have no sense of humor and do not know what Joie de vivre is. Go with it. Get a car. Have Andreas tell you where to go. Let him give you the route, the restaurant, even what you should eat at that restaurant. Just do what he says. He tells you to find a spot and get lost there, get lost. Really. Are you traveling with a charter company - forget about the hosts they have and the trips they arrange. Andreas can show you how to have fun whether you have rented a car or you rely on public transportation - which is excellent in Krete by the way.

Kedrissos is all about the Vizirakis family. They will welcome you and they will take care of you. Why? Because they are eager for repeat business of course. Also because they actually care about delivering as high quality a product as they can within the parameters they operate in. They do an excellent job, and the wife and I are sure to go back to Krete, and when we do, we'll be looking forward to seeing the Vizirakis again. Andreas. Nico. All of them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ColdViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We went to Crete for a holiday in July of 2009. We stayed at the Kedrissos Hotel and were welcomed by friendly staff members. The room was small but clean, so was the bathroom. Cleaning staff came daily at around 10 a.m.The hotel owner was quite a sociable person, wich was a good thing but sometimes got to be a bit too much.
Location was great, very nice beah and the city of Chania nearby. The bouncers outside the restaurants were extermely annoying, aming us avoid those places and walk along the alleys instead, where we found several fantastic places to eat. However, after a few days, we got at bit tired of Chania town but there were no other bigger town nearby so we decide to spend every night in Chania. In hindsight, we would have chosen another location. But all in all, we had a good experience at the Kedrissos hotel and we actually got a Christmas card from the staff last Christmas, which was quite a nice surprise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly_58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We staydet at Kedrissos one week last July and loved the place. True, the rooms are small and basic but there's genuine Greek charm in the hotel. It is a family owned hotel and you are treated as a special guest by everyone. The rooms are clean, the hotel is well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is situated in a local village and not in the hotel area, which we thought was a plus and one of the reasons why we chose Kedrissos. We walked the path down to the beach (a natural beach without services) and all the way to Chania. It took about half an hour and we enjoyed every minute. Yes, we would like to be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vitamiini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
1.9 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#19 of 109 in Chania Town
369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 109 in Chania Town
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#6 of 109 in Chania Town
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kedrissos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kedrissos

Property: Hotel Kedrissos
Address: Parigoria | Kissamou street Parigoria, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kedrissos 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kedrissos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kedrissos Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing