We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Real customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splanzia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Splanzia
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

It's not often you see such unanimous laudatory reviews on Trip Advisor, and my wife and I agree with them wholeheartedly. The hosts are conspicuously friendly, efficient and hospitable, even helping us park the car right outside the hotel. The room was charming, comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the delightful courtyard (included in the very reasonable price) was more than you could wish for in terms of quality, quantity and variety. The hotel's location strikes the right balance between proximity to the things you want to see and do and avoidance of noise and disturbance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    45
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
171
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have just returned from a 10 night stay in Chania and were delighted with our choice of hotel. The Splanzia is a small, friendly hotel with traditionally decorated and spacious rooms. It is in a great location with lots of good restaurants within a few minutes walk. The brothers who run the hotel give excellent recommendations for places to eat; we tried lots of them and were never disappointed. Ioannis and Nikos are always on site if you need them and are so friendly and helpful. The highlight for us was breakfast which was taken in the beautiful garden - lots of tasty local pastries and other delicacies. If you are thinking of booking this hotel, don't hesitate, book it now. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I really think this was the best place I've ever stayed. It was the only time I've ever felt sad to leave a hotel. The two guys who run the hotel were amazing, laid-back but did absolutely everything for us. They booked a hire car for us, and even let us stay longer so that we didn't have to wander around until it was time for our flight. The location is spot-on, the rooms are of a good size, very clean, and the beds are good. Fresh fruit was replaced in the room every day. The breakfasts are huge and amazing. But the best thing really is the hospitality. If you are looking to stay in Xania, just go here, you won't regret it. We're already thinking of going back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are a little noisy, but only really on the Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pecks1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

As we travelled quite a lot, we often stayed at the small and family-run hotels, in our opinion Splanzia is on the top of the list.

What strikes the most is the hospitality you could experience there. It was a real pleasure to stay at Splanzia.

The hotel is located in the centre. Nearby there is a lot of good restaurants and bars. The harbour is in 5 min walk and the bus station about 15 min. The charming 1821 square is ca. 50m from hotel.

As I mentioned above, the service is marvelous. They are helpful and e.g.their proposed choice of restaurants was really good.

The breakfast served in the courtyard was fantastic. We were offered fresh orange juice, yoghurt, local specialties and also typical dishes like scrambled eggs (it tasted much better than in majority of hotels). On the house we were offered raki and fruit.

The room we stayed was spacious and comfortable, we hadn't any problems with bed. The bathroom was small but we only wished there had been a coat rack.

The hotel is next to the church so if you don't like church bells, you can have a problem. Fortunately we like.

We spent at Splanzia 7 nights and we would like to stay there longer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed only briefly in Chania Town centre (two days, one night) but were lucky enough to have booked here! The owners were superbly helpful in pointing out an excellent route for wandering around Chania Old Town and recommended several excellent places to eat and drink. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable and breakfast was generous and delicious. I would love to return for a few more days in the future and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpotsides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

So second visit in sept 2013 after staying here in 2012 and in many ways it was as good as it was then lovely friendly and helpful owners,lovely courtyard in which to have lovely breakfast,great location in the old town,but second visits often point out issues that were missed first time round as is the case here and all of them concern the room, whilst comfortable and clean it was dark, the mattress on the bed was hard, and the bathroom a little more basic than we remembered overall none of this seriously affected our stay which was still enjoyable but they did take the edge off

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed a week at the Splanzia and I completely agree with all positive comments that have been listed previously.

A far more interesting location that any of the larger harbour hotels. Fantastic local restaurants on the door. Immediate access to the new town, the old town and the harbour. Nikos and Iannis are fantastic hosts that will make you want to return time and time again. The breakfasts are literally the best breakfast I have ever had while away from home. Complete with high wi-fi, I would highly recommend the Splanzia as the destination for both business and touristic trips to Chania and also, as a base for the wider region.

We had spent much time looking at hotels facing the waterfront and in retrospect, the location of the Splanzia is an infinitely more enriching experience. Coupled with the hotel staff and amenities, we will certainly visit both Chania and the Splanzia again.

Room Tip: All are good and offer something different - from street/ city views, access to the upper terrace or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splanzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splanzia

Property: Hotel Splanzia
Address: 20 Daskalogianni Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splanzia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet maze of back streets behind Chania’s harbor, next to the Kastelli area, Splanzia Boutique Hotel offers contemporary hospitality with respect to local tradition and history.This charming boutique hotel, positioned in an authentic Venetian building with neo-classical furnishings, provides individually styled rooms fitted with air condition, satellite TV and internet connection.Original Cretan hospitality is reflected in the fresh homemade breakfast, based on local produce, served in the private courtyard at the back of the hotel.Within just a few minutes’ walk from the harbor, and close to the Municipal market, Splanzia Boutique Hotel makes for the perfect base for Chania’s visitor. There are numerous restaurants and a car park nearby.A couple of minutes in the other direction takes the visitor into the heart of Chania’s shopping district, the leather market and the central bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Splanzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splanzia Hotel Chania
Hotel Splanzia Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing