We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Chania Hotel”
Review of Hotel Splanzia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Splanzia
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed only briefly in Chania Town centre (two days, one night) but were lucky enough to have booked here! The owners were superbly helpful in pointing out an excellent route for wandering around Chania Old Town and recommended several excellent places to eat and drink. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable and breakfast was generous and delicious. I would love to return for a few more days in the future and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpotsides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 280 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

So second visit in sept 2013 after staying here in 2012 and in many ways it was as good as it was then lovely friendly and helpful owners,lovely courtyard in which to have lovely breakfast,great location in the old town,but second visits often point out issues that were missed first time round as is the case here and all of them concern the room, whilst comfortable and clean it was dark, the mattress on the bed was hard, and the bathroom a little more basic than we remembered overall none of this seriously affected our stay which was still enjoyable but they did take the edge off

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed a week at the Splanzia and I completely agree with all positive comments that have been listed previously.

A far more interesting location that any of the larger harbour hotels. Fantastic local restaurants on the door. Immediate access to the new town, the old town and the harbour. Nikos and Iannis are fantastic hosts that will make you want to return time and time again. The breakfasts are literally the best breakfast I have ever had while away from home. Complete with high wi-fi, I would highly recommend the Splanzia as the destination for both business and touristic trips to Chania and also, as a base for the wider region.

We had spent much time looking at hotels facing the waterfront and in retrospect, the location of the Splanzia is an infinitely more enriching experience. Coupled with the hotel staff and amenities, we will certainly visit both Chania and the Splanzia again.

Room Tip: All are good and offer something different - from street/ city views, access to the upper terrace or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Arrived after midnight but we were greeted warmly and given the choice of two lovely rooms. We chose room 23 on the top floor, which had a four-poster bed and a door out on to the rooftop patio.
Breakfast was amazing with so much choice of food and all of it delicious! We suffered the first day because we ate too much breakfast, as it was difficult to resist the home cooked specialties we were given.
The hotel was very central and it was only a 3-minute leisurely walk down to the Venetian harbour. The two brothers that run the hotel were always available for information and advice on where to eat and where to go and would take time to help you find your way around Chania, which is a beautiful city and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymraes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for a week and we really loved the hotel, great location, better than some of the bigger hotels as very near the harbour and great restaurants. Nikos and Yannis were the perfect hosts and were always on hand for anything we needed. Breakfasts were fantastic, so big you don't need to eat again for hours! Nice courtyard to have breakfast and nice outside area on the second floor which we spent a lot of time in, highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good, but maybe better at the back of the hotel as the road was busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is lovely family run hotel, clean, comfortable and stylish. Staff are friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is amazing!! Great location in easy walking distance of everything. Lovely garden area and also a roof terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice Hotel,Excellent breakfast and staff ,great location
A wonderful experence family owned and operated you wont be disapointed
Keep your window closed their is a Church close by and bells ring every hour and play a tune at about 730 am,If the window is closed you cant hear it.Very close to the leather market great stuff to buy

Room Tip: They are all good if you call or email direct you will get a better price at least 20% better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCAZMOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
279 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splanzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splanzia

Address: 20 Daskalogianni Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $94 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splanzia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet maze of back streets behind Chania’s harbor, next to the Kastelli area, Splanzia Boutique Hotel offers contemporary hospitality with respect to local tradition and history.This charming boutique hotel, positioned in an authentic Venetian building with neo-classical furnishings, provides individually styled rooms fitted with air condition, satellite TV and internet connection.Original Cretan hospitality is reflected in the fresh homemade breakfast, based on local produce, served in the private courtyard at the back of the hotel.Within just a few minutes’ walk from the harbor, and close to the Municipal market, Splanzia Boutique Hotel makes for the perfect base for Chania’s visitor. There are numerous restaurants and a car park nearby.A couple of minutes in the other direction takes the visitor into the heart of Chania’s shopping district, the leather market and the central bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Splanzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splanzia Hotel Chania
Hotel Splanzia Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing