We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Splanzia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splanzia
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We only stayed here for one night but would definitely stay again. The guys were really friendly and helpful and wrote down tips for places to visit during our stay in other parts of the island. Breakfast was huge - one of the best we've ever had. Everything was fresh and delicious and really filled us up for the day. Good value and great location in the centre of Chania but away from the touristy area around the harbour. Only slight negative was that the bathroom seemed a little cramped and dated for the style of the hotel, but this could easily be rectified.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    45
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
175
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was the most amazing place to stay in Chania. I was initially disappointed with myself for not staying on the harbor, but it was too expensive. I am so glad I didn't. Splanzia was the best!! I arrived late after arriving at the airport at 1030pm. Nikos was right there at the door to help even though it was late. Recommened somewhere for a late dinner just a block away. Splanzia is in the old city, which has come completely alive. I went down a pedestrian street that was filled with shops and restaurants. My room was spacious with a comfortable bed. Breakfast is amazing and the food just keeps coming. I never got to eat lunch. When I ripped my contact lens the first morning, Ioannis gave me directions to an eye shop for a replacement. They also told me where I could find car rentals, gave me directions for all of my out of town winery tours and helped me lug my wine upstairs to my room.

Coming back to my room every evening felt like coming home. I wish I had had more than 3 nights to spend. I would never consider staying anywhere else in Chania.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oaklandtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just got back from 7 night stay at this terrific hotel in Khania. Checked it out on trip advisor
before I went and everything that was said about it is true. Central location, close to everything and only 10 mins by bus from beaches, Great room, comfy and very clean, excellent breakfast (so much lovely food didnt need any lunch) served in a lovely shady courtyard that is a perfect setting, and friendly,helpful, warm hosts who could not have been more welcoming. Will be going again next year, excellent all round.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The service provided by Nikos & Yannis is over the top!
Breakfast is a feast not to be missed. When others provide a continental breakfast or none at all, these two give you a range of options with generous portions and addional homemade goodies and fruit. They even leave fresh fruit in the rooms for guests to enjoy. They even made sandwiches for us to take to the Samaria Gorge.

La Splanzia is a small boutique hotel in a charmIng older building with 12' ceilings and newer versions of antique-style furniture that suit the rooms.

The hotel is located within minutes of everything you need in walking distance: a cafe 2 min away, a pharmacy across the street, the main market 5 min away, a supermarket 10 min away, the main bus station 15 min away and the port with all its shopping and restaurants only 7 min away.

La Splanzia is a great value for the price you pay, If I ever come back to Khania, I'm staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny_James82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have stayed with my wife for 4 nights at Splanzia Hotel, Crete and i was really impressed with the hospitality of the family that runs the hotel. Nikos and Yiannis , the two guys that run the hotel , and their parents as well, had explained to us everything we wanted about Crete. They were very polite, pleasant and friendly making us feeling very nice.
Staying at Splanzia was a unique experience. The hotel serves the most delicious , fresh and amazing breakfast i have ever tasted. Travelling in many countries I realized that the breakfast at Splanzia is the best, not only for the quantity but for the quality as well. Breakfast is served and made on order every morning so everything is fresh and delicious. Crepes at Splanzia are the best I have ever eaten. The local specialties that are catered are excellent.
Rooms at Splanzia are very big and clean with all the comforts for a 4 star hotel.
The hotel is in an excellent location within a walking distance from the harbor. Walking for 2-3 minutes from the hotel you can find anything you want such as shops, cafes, restaurants etc.
I recommend this lovely family run hotel to everybody who want to visit Chania .
Yianni and Niko thank you very much for everything.

Room Tip: Both rooms either facing the road or the yard are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

First of all let me just say that Nikos, Yiannis and their mom are AMAZING!!!! The friendliest Greeks i've met (and I'm Greek!). The hotel is a family run small hotel and if you dont book fast enough you will miss out on the best experience of your life. Very clean hotel, very good location within walking distance to the old port where the action is. We had rented a car and never used the parking lot across the street as there is plenty of free parking around the hotel area. The breakfast is catered to you and made on order every morning. The breakfast includes local delicacies and the best Greek yoghurt EVER!!!!!! and honey and local specialties..... Oh this hotel is just amazing! JUST BOOK IT and LOOK NO FURTHER!!!

Room Tip: pack light, there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chania Town
359 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 109 in Chania Town
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 109 in Chania Town
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 109 in Chania Town
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splanzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splanzia

Property: Hotel Splanzia
Address: 20 Daskalogianni Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splanzia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet maze of back streets behind Chania’s harbor, next to the Kastelli area, Splanzia Boutique Hotel offers contemporary hospitality with respect to local tradition and history.This charming boutique hotel, positioned in an authentic Venetian building with neo-classical furnishings, provides individually styled rooms fitted with air condition, satellite TV and internet connection.Original Cretan hospitality is reflected in the fresh homemade breakfast, based on local produce, served in the private courtyard at the back of the hotel.Within just a few minutes’ walk from the harbor, and close to the Municipal market, Splanzia Boutique Hotel makes for the perfect base for Chania’s visitor. There are numerous restaurants and a car park nearby.A couple of minutes in the other direction takes the visitor into the heart of Chania’s shopping district, the leather market and the central bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Splanzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splanzia Hotel Chania
Hotel Splanzia Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing