We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING FAMILY RUN HOTEL!”
Review of Hotel Splanzia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Splanzia
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING FAMILY RUN HOTEL!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

First of all let me just say that Nikos, Yiannis and their mom are AMAZING!!!! The friendliest Greeks i've met (and I'm Greek!). The hotel is a family run small hotel and if you dont book fast enough you will miss out on the best experience of your life. Very clean hotel, very good location within walking distance to the old port where the action is. We had rented a car and never used the parking lot across the street as there is plenty of free parking around the hotel area. The breakfast is catered to you and made on order every morning. The breakfast includes local delicacies and the best Greek yoghurt EVER!!!!!! and honey and local specialties..... Oh this hotel is just amazing! JUST BOOK IT and LOOK NO FURTHER!!!

Room Tip: pack light, there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    45
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
178
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The Splanzia boutique hotel is a great place to stay.
It is situated in the less crowded (if there is such) part of Chania old city, easily accessible by car (with a charged parking lot just opposite if you don't mind adding another 10€ a day) and a few walking minutes from the harbor.
It has the most exquisite breakfast, every day something new and tasty, the best frappe we had in Crete, served in a shaded patio in the middle of the hotel.
The staff is very nice and attentive to guest needs.
All in all, a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Avri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked Hotel Splanzia after reading others reviews and we are glad we did. It is family run and The brothers Yiannis and Nikos are the most delightful,lovely,helpful and pleasant proprietors. This hotel is homely, has a really nice happy energy about it. The breakfast is absolutely amazing and made especially for you. They also serve the best bread in the whole entire world. The location is great, away from the excessively tourist area but within 5 minutes walk to the main area in the harbour and only a 1o minute walk from the bus station. We loved our stay in Chania and our stay at Hotel Splanzia certainly contributed to it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in May. The hotels position is good - in the old town, not far from anything, but easy to get to. Room was smallish but very clean and we shared a balcony with the room next door, which was nice for people watching on the street outside. Splanzias main claim to fame is its amazing breakfasts. Weather permitting breakfast is served in the outside courtyard, which is very pleasant. The first day we thought after cereal, cheese & spinach pastries, yogurt, honey and fresh crusty bread, that we had finished, only to be asked if we wanted bacon & egg or omellete? After that, were more sweet pastries. There were different goodies cooked up each morning - and it really got to be a bit much by the end of the week! I am still trying to work the kilos off.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynchmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This little family-run hotel is perfectly located - within walking distance to the harbor, restaurants and museums. The rooms are comfortable - spacious, air conditioning and very firm beds. The breakfasts are becoming famous! Eggs, home-made sweet and savory pastries, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice and great coffee. We didn't need to eat until dinner! The two brothers are always at your service - friendly and helpful. (And I saw the mama working hard in the kitchen, always with a smile!) Only two possible down-sides: if you have a car, parking is tricky (they will help you, however), and if you like to read in bed, there are no bed lamps (seems like an easy fix). We would return! Thank you Hotel Splanzia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahardesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this nice hotel for a weekend. It is located on the center of the very beautiful "old town". Our room was nice, clean with a direct access to the internal garden where we had fantastic breakfasts! You feel like home and the guys gave us the right suggestions for places to visit and restaurants in Chania. Higly raccomended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glc1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

It is a very nice hotel situated in the centre of Chania and very close to the Venetian harboor. We apriciated particularly the welcoming attitude of the staff, a terrace very close to our room, the garden and a full-time internet connection. We loved to have breakfast in the hotel, where we tested my different fresh dishes of the Cretan cusine, and a special home-made jam. I would suggest it to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chania Town
370 reviews
4.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 108 in Chania Town
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 108 in Chania Town
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 108 in Chania Town
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 108 in Chania Town
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splanzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splanzia

Property: Hotel Splanzia
Address: 20 Daskalogianni Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splanzia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet maze of back streets behind Chania’s harbor, next to the Kastelli area, Splanzia Boutique Hotel offers contemporary hospitality with respect to local tradition and history.This charming boutique hotel, positioned in an authentic Venetian building with neo-classical furnishings, provides individually styled rooms fitted with air condition, satellite TV and internet connection.Original Cretan hospitality is reflected in the fresh homemade breakfast, based on local produce, served in the private courtyard at the back of the hotel.Within just a few minutes’ walk from the harbor, and close to the Municipal market, Splanzia Boutique Hotel makes for the perfect base for Chania’s visitor. There are numerous restaurants and a car park nearby.A couple of minutes in the other direction takes the visitor into the heart of Chania’s shopping district, the leather market and the central bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splanzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splanzia Hotel Chania
Hotel Splanzia Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing