We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for peace and relax but far from centre”
Review of Frida Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frida Apartments
Ranked #4 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We booked this hotel because we though it was going to be better value for money since chania town centre is old style and small. It happened to be quite far from everything and luckly we got a car rented for the holidays so we could go back to town at night to have some food otherwise is quite isoleted.

The sorroundings are very nice, very quite up on the hill you can have see views and bar and pool have been restored recently which gives it a more modern look.

Apartment itself have to say was a bit disappointing since it didnt look at all like the pictures on the website, it was quite basic style and very dark with two low beds that were old, hard and noisy and had a little kitchen area to cook something (but no kettle or other appliances). The worst bit for me was the bathroom: we already knew that in some areas of greece they dont use shower screen but never though that was an issue but it was terrible. The water all over the floor every time we had a shower (have to say it was clean).

The staff very nice again, receptionist, housekeeping and bar all very pleasant. The bar is only open from may to october but apart from breakfast (only 7 euros per person) I wouldn´t personally have dinner because it is quiet and lack of atmospehere. They serve a daily menu and you can buy drinks or have a coffee by the pool suring the day. We enjoyed the pool area as there was minimum noise and very nice views to the sea.

If you want to walk to town is more than 30 min and there is also a beach but not sure how long it takes walking. We booked this hotel as we wanted to see chania, and is definetly worth it, is very nice town with plenty of restaurants to enjoy local food and more cultural than other areas in crete.

We would recommmend it for people who look for quiet and relax holidays but have a car to move around.

Room Tip: ask for apartment by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ari400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 313 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

My spouse and I stayed at Frida this week. The hotel apartments were 5 minutes from the beautiful town center with views over the sea, the town and mountains.
The staff were friendly and helpful in every way and nothing was difficult.
The room was neat and plain with everything needed for a good holiday.
Everything was clean, the pool well kept and the little restaurant in conjunction with the hotel had good food, so we used it several times.
The only slight downside was the noisy plumbing, but at least it worked which can't be said for most London hotels.
It is hard to write a review when you really only have superlatives. Whining is easier.
We will certainly be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lower complex are closer to the pool with the fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed with my partner at Frida. Although we arrived after the reception officially closed (10 pm) due to late arrival, someone was still there and we could get into our room without problems. We kindly requested a sea view room and a double bed and both of our wishes were fulfilled.

The location is excellent if you would like to enjoy silence and relax. The masses of tourists in Chania prefer staying in hotels / rooms in the city center (the Venetian harbour) or in the hotels along the Nea Chora beach. These can be quite noisy but Frida is located not exactly at the beach (5 min. by foot) and also exactly where the noisy streets end. You must take walks or take a taxi (6 EUR) in order to get into the city center but for this you will be rewarded by an excellent, friendly and professional staff of Frida, a nice family-run hotel with a fantastic pool and a bar at it with a magnificent sea view. There is another pool too (smaller) - for children, I suppose.

The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly (which one can say about nearly any Greeks from Chania we met) - we were extremely pleased by this.

So if you want a relaxed holiday with an excellent swimming pool and a marvellous view of the sea from it, friendly staff, nice rooms equipped even with a fridge and a mini-stove plus kitchen utensils, then you will just love this hotel.

And last but not the least: The many flowers in the hotel, they are so wonderful, we enjoyed them too so much. White Frida hotel complex, blue water in the pool and the sea and wonderful red flowers.

I will try to come again as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 958AlexM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Our fourth time here in the last 3 years.
We love this clean and beautiful place with staff and owners always smiling and very helpful. We can recommend this peaceful place. Go there and meet Frida and her family, and Yannis, Joanna, Maria and Violetta...
Janni og Leif from Copenhagen

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lagw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights early April 2012. We arrived after 9pm at the Frida Apartments but Joanna was waiting to greet us and answer all our questions. She was incredibly helpful, polite and friendly and we found this to be the norm with all of the staff there. Frida herself was very accommodating and extra blankets (the weather was a little colder than expected) were no problem at all. She even arranged for the foam filler to be provided making the twin beds into more of a queen size double, very comfortable, if only we'd been more astute on our arrival! We only ate one rainy night at the Apartments and the food was well made, brilliantly presented and delicious. Other reviews have said it is hard to find and too far out of town but we felt these were a little harsh. However I imagine if you had young children the 15-20min walk to the centre could be too much, but a taxi is only €5. There are two routes, try to use the one that goes past the basket ball stadium and along the front, much pleasanter than the main road. We hired a car for part of our trip and felt we had a great base to explore from as it was fairly easy to get to the main Chania road.
I think the apartments are popular with families as there are some large rooms/studios.
The pools looked amazing, sadly the weather changed on us and we were unable to use them and we didn't really use the self catering facilities which were fairly minimum in our room but adequate for our morning coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZenaNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed in Frida in early June 2009 (there was no option for this year, so I chose April 2011, sorry) and really loved this place. Choose Frida if you are seeking a relaxing holidays, are ready to walk a bit, don´t mind of few cats around and like the sea view.

Frida is located at the hill and there is two pools so you have the sea view from both of them. Smaller pool is good for children, not too deep. We liked the sun beds more around the smaller pool, even though they are very usual beds. Never had to fight about them which is nice. Bigger pool has own section to children and bar is also located over there. Sunbeds are wooden. It was great to have breakfast (good one) at the bar looking at the sea. You can also see the town from there and in the night time all the lights were great!! You may also here the ocean in the evening when it is quiet outside. We found the beach left from the hotel nicer and walked over there couple of times.

Our room was a studio and it was small but clean, bug free and nice. Didn´t need airconditioning at the time. We didn´t mind about the small kitchen - went dining in the city every day.

We find walking ok so didn´t use taxi. There is a route to city from the corner of the sporthall and walking took approx. 20 minutes. Would choose this again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _MiniMii_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed for eight nights in early October. We booked an apartment with a lounge area, which was definitely the right choice. Included a small flatscreen TV, small kitchenette, dining table and sofa. Weather was quite mixed so this made staying in quite cosy. Patio area looked out to sea and was by the pool, which wasn't too noisy at the time we stayed. Kitchen could have done with more equipment (needed more knives, larger cooking hobs and kettle) but ok if you're planning on eating out lots. Beds were two singles pushed together, which was disappointing. Apartment was cleaned every day.

The complex is set out over 3-4 levels and so reduces noise from other guests. The staff are extremely friendly and always happy to help. The restaurant/bar on site was very quiet, but did good food if you couldn't be bothered to go out.

Chania is a lovely town and well worth spending a couple of days exploring. Rethymnon (East along the coast) is similar and perhaps even nicer. Definitely need a car to get around, though. And the beach is further than they make out, although a 15min walk should do it once you know the best route (don't drive - the one way system's a nightmare!).

Oh - and the cats that live around the complex are lovely!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamblur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 111 in Chania Town
670 reviews
12.5 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frida Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frida Apartments

Address: Marinou Antypa, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: $55 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frida Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frida Apartments consists of 3 independent buildings with a total of 28 apartments. Situated in the suburbs of the town of Chania (just 1,5 km from the city centre). Frida is built on a hill in a gorgeous location next to the countryside with a view to the Cretan sea and the city of Chania. The place is ideal for a drive to the attractive beach of Agioi Apostoli/Agia Marina (10 minutes by bus) or a visit to the picturesque Venetian Harbour of Chania (1,5 km). Alternatively, you can walk to the lovely beach of Nea Chora, which is only 600 meters away from Frida. A bus stop with a regular bus service to Chania is only 300 meters away.Among the facilities at “Frida Apartments” you will find our 2 swimming pools for endless dives with a view to Cretan sea, you will relax at “Frida” snack bar drinking your coffee / refreshment and you will taste our famous “Cretan traditional” breakfast in our morning buffet. Additionally, you can enjoy the marvelous views and sunrise from the balcony of your apartment while you “surf” at the internet through our free wi-fi network.At Frida you will meet a friendly atmosphere and experience the well-known Cretan hospitality as it is run on a family base from people who will always be willing to satisfy your needs. Frida Apartments is an ideal choice for those seeking quiet and relaxing holidays in a place not far away from the city of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Frida Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frida Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Frida Apartments Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing