We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What magnificent views”
Review of Hotel Haris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Haris
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at hotel Haris, I had a room downstairs which made it easy for my friend who suffers from arthritis to get about. The pool was just a few yards away although it is not big it was sufficient, it could do with having a handrail. the bar staff were lays helpful and pleasant, I now just love Cretan honeyed raki! We also enjoyed a great Cretan evening which was fab!
The hotel is by the beach, the views of the island are majestic, you do get charged for the sun beds but then you get free drinks at the pool bar if you buy lunch. There are too many massage people around the beach, but heh, they leave you alone after a few firm no!
My gripe, which is about the resort of aghia marina, is that it is catered for polish, Czech and Nordic countries, I felt quite isolated by the lack of English and yet I love other languages, sadly the Czech and polish people were not at interested in conversing with us English.
My other gripe were the poor desperately ill cats that were roaming around the hotel.
The food was adequate, but you have to buy the drinks? Shame I idid not find many or any Greek food apart from salad.
The receptionists were great, I got very good information to go visiting amazing beaches by local buses.

Room Tip: Choose a downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mimig1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 44 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Perfect hotel, friendly people. The location is very good, between Chania and Nikosis. We travel all around the countryside only with a map and a scooter: everything is cheaper if you choose destinations, taverns, and services well, I mean, less turistics as it's possible. Cretan people are kind and try to help you everywhere: they can suggest you the best things to see.
We are Italian, but we tried greek food, beers, and so on: food is really tasty, we don't suggest fish, but beef, lamb, pork, meat in general is really good. Beers are good, cheap, fresh, different from the northeuropeans one, but perfect with the hot temperatures.
In the hotel there is a fantastic pool bar which serve also tasty meals, a quite big pool, and the beach is next to the hotel, with direct access. Our room was big, with two balconies, even if the most has only one; bathroom is ok, not too big, always with a little window.

Thak you very much for the precious time we spent here to Tina and her husband, Leonidas, and of course all the staff .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SaraVezzoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

1st Super Friendly Staff.
2nd Great views of the sea from room.

Close to main highway so you may travel easily in crete to other destinations.
Drawback some window and door panel offer little privacy at night when the lights are on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steez54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

we stayed here 25/5/10 for a week ,weather was great, hot but nice breeze,resort was very quiet,hardly any english to be seen or heard of,mainly scandinavians,germans,eastern europeans!!!
hotel was very clean,maid cleaned daily .breakfast was good, choice of typical european food-mostly cold but good variety
.pool area was clean and tidy and opened out right onto the beach,beach bar available .
many many many -too many lol- bars and tavernas to choose from,food was great in all we ate in ,not too expensive-8-14 euros for main course each though drinks expensive-2.50 euros ave.small beer,6 euros for a short ,10 euros bottle wine.
tip-buy lunch at local supermarket -bakery quite reasonable and pasties and pizza delicious -large bottle of greek wine 1.5 L 4.50 euros-it was ok too!
take a trip on the land train -it goes into the mountains and you get to see real crete,15 euros for 3 hr trip with stops at local villages were you can buy local produce.
take a walk into platanias look for the sign for temple,its really a church up a steep hill but worth the walk,caves under the church were the locals hid during the war.nice bar/restaurant a the top ,Astrea,amazing views and staff very friendly.
chania town centre is busy in the week-visit on a sunday much less manic-the harbour is beautiful with fantastic views
agia apostoli worth a visit,great beach with rocky pools and warm water
overall nice area to holiday ,very relaxing and quiet,looks a bit commercial when you first get there, dont be put off ,its a lovely place,we didnt want to come home!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank allipalli66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katerini J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Buschmann1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank babben51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
9.6 mi away
Lena Beach Hotel
Lena Beach Hotel
#80 of 110 in Chania Town
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
439 reviews
9.3 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#18 of 110 in Chania Town
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eva Suites & Apartments
Eva Suites & Apartments
#28 of 31 in Agia Marina
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haris

Address: Agia Marina 242 | Chania, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Haris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Haris Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing