We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* service at 2* prices. A real find - thank you Yiannis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Ranked #36 of 112 Hotels in Chania Town
1 review
“5* service at 2* prices. A real find - thank you Yiannis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I found the Esplanade from Trip Advisor and really want to add my praise to the other reviews to encourage people experience this great place. We were expecting clean and basic, but the Esplanade delivers more than this, especially in the 3 double bed apartment we had. The rooms are spacious and airy each with a balcony and the 3 (!) bathrooms were an amazing bonus. Our daughter has a lot of food allergies so we ate in quite a bit and the cooking facilities, whilst simple, were more than adequate. Even more impressive is the cleanliness with linen changes every other day and cleaning every day. Definitely more than 2*. The pool is larger than it looks in the pictures and was so inviting we couldn't walk past without taking a dip. The small children's section is perfect and with Yiannis' hospitality makes for a real family feel. Having a car is definitely an advantage with a 2 minute drive to Kalathas beach and 10 mins to Stavros (with an amazing windmill restaurant). Chania old town is about 15 minutes by car so easy for a drink or dinner. Other guests were rarely seen as this is also a great base for exploring Crete, but everyone was always very friendly. We had a fabulous holiday and really recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing beach holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peesquile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Incredible hospitality, incredible value, incredible views, incredibly clean. These apartments were nothing short of perfect for my girlfriend and me. We stayed for 6 nights and wish we had stayed longer. It is located right beside a stunning beach in Kalathas, and is ten minutes drive from the beautiful Chania town. We spent most of our time moving between the two, occasionally venturing out further around the unbelievably picturesque island. You could easily spend two or three weeks here. Our apartment had a large balcony with a breathtaking view of the sea, which was particularly stunning at sunset. The apartment was large, bright and breezy, with comfortable beds, a nice bathroom, ample storage space and solid air conditioning. The owner, Yiannis, was an incredible host - always accommodating and helpful, and doing his upmost to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. This extended far beyond our accommodation, with Yiannis insisting on helping us book a ferry to Santorini, negotiating a cheap extra day on our car rental, and giving us endless great suggestions of what to do in Chania and around Crete. Yiannis simply made a great holiday into a dream holiday - I will certainly be coming back here and begging everyone I know to do the same.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Esplanade. Yiannis is such a wonderful hotel owner and goes out of his way to make your stay enjoyable. He gave us information on local attractions that was very helpful. The rooms were spotless and very spacious. Mini kitchenettes are available if you want to prepare your own food. We didn't really use this much since part of traveling for me is to eat at local taverns and restaurants. The property is about a 15 minute drive into old town Chania, about 3 minutes from Kalathas beach. I really enjoyed visiting old town Chania, but I am glad we stayed at Esplanade since it is in a quiet residential area. The views of the ocean from our balcony were spectacular, especially at sunset. Wow! Yiannis recommended a tavern about 5 minutes away called Bourakis that was so excellent we ate there twice. The owner was so friendly and hospitable - something you don't always see at restaurants in the larger cities.
I would very highly recommend Esplanade. It is a great place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms was awesome. It was very big and clean with all kitchen supplies to cook your own meals. There is a small super market down the road, but other than that there is nothing around there within walking distance (except a beach). I guess it is our fault for not noting the location properly, but it was quite far from the city and the bus system was terrible (1 bus every few hours ending at something like 8pm). So the hotel/apartment was very cheap, but we ended up spending 15$ each way to get to chania town where all the fun touristy things are. It wasn't terrible though, we didn't mind that much, but we could have stayed right in the city for what we were spending on taxis+this hotel. We did try to take the bus one way, and take the taxi back to save money. Needless to say, if you don't mind paying for a taxi, this is a really nice place to stay. If you're a wimp like I am, i should tell you that there are many stray dogs all around.. (I was afraid of being attacked but that's just because I'm afraid of everything). This review is sounding very unsure but all in all it was a very nice place and the owner was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samantharaesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

had to make a stop in Chania, and found this appartments to be very nice. clean, convenient, well located, I liked it. all in all, it is not luxury, but it is nice. only problem was that A/C did not work very very well

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuigiCamorote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Esplanade for 3 nights, and it was fabulous. For a very reasonable rate, our family of 5 got a huge 3-bedroom, 3-bath (!) apartment, with a large living area and balconies. Spotlessly clean, the air-conditioning and hot water worked all the time, showers that kept the rest of the bathroom dry, etc. The pool was small but very clean and nice. The owner made it particularly special as he was friendly, very kind, helped us with recommendations, and generally made it a wonderful stay. We did not go to the nearby beach but we drove past and it looked beautiful.

The one thing is that it is far (about 15-min drive) outside of Chania, and while there is a supermarket within walking distance, there was not much else to walk to. We had a car and so this was fine for us. I will also say that it was a bit tricky to find the first time, so do call and get directions ahead of time, or else use a GPS!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank INTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Absolutely! We are back home today, and I had to writte my review immediately since it looks even better than I could ever hope. Quiet, clean, beautiful garden, near to the nice beach (but, still, hard without the car), near to Chania, nice aparments, nice and friendly owner. If we ever go back to Crete, we will stay there again for sure! Gorana

Room Tip: All of them, but more quiet ones are far from the swimmingpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GoranaVienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#15 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Studios
Sunrise Studios
#71 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lena Beach Hotel
Lena Beach Hotel
#67 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
4.4 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#19 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creta Vitalis
Creta Vitalis
#1 of 6 in Kalathas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Property: Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Address: Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade hotel-apartments is located in Kalathas, 9 klm from the center of Chania in Crete and only 850 meters from the sandy beach of Kalathas. All 13 apartments are comfortable and have all amenities that tourists will need while their holidays. Private bathroom, swimming pool, children's pool, Free WIFI INTERNET, AC, TV, fridge, kitchenette, telephone, etc. There are big apartments with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 3 balconies, about 110m2/each one, which are suitable for big families or a group of 4-5-6 friends! Of course, there are smaller apartments for families with 1 or 2 small children and studios for couples. We can ensure our clients that we offer very clean and confortable apartments and an enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Apartments Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing