We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent, excellent and excellent again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Ranked #37 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
italia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent and excellent again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've just arrived back home and I'm looking for finding a flight to come back before the end of the summer in this amazing place. This is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday, our apartement was well manteined, quiet, very clean and confortable. The view from the balcony was precious and the pool was a little gem. Mr. Iannis is one of the best hotel manager I've ever met and his kindness and professionality are over the top.
As I said I will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank italyItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is our third time at Esplanade and again everything was perfect. A lovely clean, one bedroom apartment. clean pool and deck chairs. Beach and fantastic taverna in walking distance and a co-op supermarket selling local products. Kalathas is also and nice little town with lovely villas and wide roads.

Unfortunately, my mother broke her foot this year in Crete and Yianni the owner did as much as he could to help! Helped us with bags, suitcases, called the hospitals for her and much more.

I would really recommend this place for its cleanliness, clean and soft towels every 2/3days. But it is Yianni and his love for his hotels that makes it a perfect stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank smusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The thing you will undoubtedly take away from your stay at Esplanade Apartments is how wonderful, warm and welcoming the owner Yiannis is.

A late flight, a broken rental car and a GPS that took us to the suburbs of Chania instead of the hotel meant we had to make a rather sheepish call to Yiannis... At 1am. He was so kind, he came out on his moped to find us, then drove us back to the apartments and settled us in with all the info we needed.

Yiannis absolutely makes the place what it is. He clearly puts so much love into his business and he genuinely wants all his guests to have a brilliant time! When we asked for his recommendation on where to buy good olive oil, he hooked us up. He knows all the good places to eat and visit and it's fair to say his energy and positivity set the tone for our entire trip in Crete!

The rooms are spotlessly clean and new towels were provided more frequently than expected. It was amazing value for money to stay here and getting a new friend in the bargain was a great, unexpected bonus! We will definitely be back another year, and highly recommend Esplanade as a great budget conscious choice for seeing Western Crete.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank melonfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Unfortunately, we could only stay one night in this hotel. But it was one of the best hotels of all our stay in Greece. The room was so clean that we could have eaten on the floor. It contained a small kitchen with all the necessary equipment to cook. From the pool, and from our 2 balconies, we could admire the sea and the sunset. There is a grocery store and a lovely beach at a walking distance, but it is preferable to have a car to go to the beach. The owner was so nice with us, he even offered to pick us up from the airport, but we had a car.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Simhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent four nights in one of Esplanade's apartments and it was great. The rooms were large and clean, and included a kitchenette, pool, a/c, and free wifi. The apartments are about 15 minutes outside of Chania, but are within walking distance of a beach and two grocery stores. There are no sidewalks in the area though, so renting a car is probably a good idea. The apartments are an incredibly good deal, we only paid 60 euro per night. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and had lots of suggestions for day trips and sightseeing around Crete. We had a wonderful time at Espanade, and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel last year after finding it accidentally. But what an amazing find! Yianni the hotel owner was overjoyed when I emailed him to tell him that we were coming back.

Lovely clean apartment, very big room, nice clean bathroom with a bath and shower. From the swimming pool there is an amazing view of the sea and mountains. So close to two of my favourite beaches in Crete.

Yianni was helpful and chatty and would do anything to help. A nice personal touch that you do not get in many hotels.

I was very sad to leave but I hope to go again next year!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank smusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

It is the second year in a row I stay in this hotel which I found accidentally last year. It is great value for money. Cheaper than any other hotel in the area, it provides all basic comforts (a/c in all rooms, kitchenette, pool), it is very clean and quiet and Iannis is very very helpful. I will probably choose it every year. It is very close to the beach of Kalathas. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank c0rrupted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Studios
Sunrise Studios
#70 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lena Beach Hotel
Lena Beach Hotel
#66 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
4.4 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#19 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creta Vitalis
Creta Vitalis
#1 of 6 in Kalathas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Property: Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Address: Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade hotel-apartments is located in Kalathas, 9 klm from the center of Chania in Crete and only 850 meters from the sandy beach of Kalathas. All 13 apartments are comfortable and have all amenities that tourists will need while their holidays. Private bathroom, swimming pool, children's pool, Free WIFI INTERNET, AC, TV, fridge, kitchenette, telephone, etc. There are big apartments with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 3 balconies, about 110m2/each one, which are suitable for big families or a group of 4-5-6 friends! Of course, there are smaller apartments for families with 1 or 2 small children and studios for couples. We can ensure our clients that we offer very clean and confortable apartments and an enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Apartments Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing