We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay in Chania”
Review of Casa Veneta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Veneta
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A fantastic place to stay in Chania”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

George and Stavros are excellent hosts and very accommodating with great recommendations. Everything was perfect. The location is great on a quiet pedestrian street right off the harbor. The room was comfortable and quiet. This was our second visit to Xania, and our first time at Casa Veneta, and when we plan a third trip in the future, we will happily return to the very hospitable Casa Veneta.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank iv19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    55
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
234
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Casa Veneta is located on a scenic small street in the Old Town of Chania, the atmosphere is wonderful, the room was big and it had everything you need. The owner was very polite and the feeling like you are with an old friend.
Just for us was too noisy. Outside on the street were passing bikes, people from the nearest tavernas were speaking/laughing and was impossible to sleep...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samseera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Starvos & George run a great little place in old town Chania just steps away from the Venetian harbour front with it's restaurants, bars and shopping. The rooms have all modern amenities, are clean and are very comfortable. The location is simply superb. 10 seconds away from the main harbour and on the big street which is simply beautiful. Starvos & George gave us some great recommendations to plan trips around Chania, beaches, restaurants, live music and bars. Synogogue was such a great bar recommendation (simply the most romantic bar I have been to) we kept going there every night. All-in-all a highly recommended hotel in old town Chania!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Yogesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Having never been to Crete or even heard of Chania before this year this was something of a step into the unknown. The hotel is beautiful, located on a street that is virtually traffic free and handy for every part of the old town. Our room has a sea view from the balcony and you can see from the bottom of the street to the top, believe me, a very worthwhile experience even for casual people watchers. There is highly effective air-conditioning, bathroom, a spacious sleeping area, a good sized living area with doors onto the balcony and a very adequate kitchenette. Now we have got the basics behind us, like every other visitor we have to get onto Stavros and George. Two of the most likeable people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. They are always in the background but never intrusive, always helpful, able to answer any question and they will ensure any needs are satisfied without fuss or stress. I would recommend this hotel (and Stavros and George) without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you have diificulty walking be aware there is no lift but due to the location this would probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Richard060356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I consider myself an experienced traveler, but this was different. Sure, the room was comfortable and clean, and the location was great - located on a scenic and quiet street in the Old Town. But what was special was the hospitality of Stavros and George, his son. I was in Chania to enjoy a beautiful city and its surroundings, and to take some Greek lessons. Stavros and George would always invite me to sit with them to practice my Greek, or just to chat. Stavros would say "Nothing is difficult." whenever I needed some help with anything, and from the moment of my arrival, he and George went out of their way to anticipate my needs and to make sure I felt comfortable. I liked the kitchenette and the small family market located just down the street, although there is surely no shortage of great places to eat nearby. I can hardly wait to go back!

Room Tip: The best rooms are those overlooking the street, on the upper floors, but all are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BobW394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

AMAZING LOCATION right in the old town where all the action is and where you want be.

VERY SPACIOUS ROOM

VERY CLEAN

OWNERS PROVIDE UNMATCHED SERVICE, there are not enough stars in the hotel industry to give for the owners and their service.

WARM, FRIENDLY AND VERY PERSONABLE OWNERS THAT GO TO NO LIMIT TO COMFORT YOU.

We will be repeat guests GUARANTEED!

Thank you very much for all the WONDERFUL HOSPITALITY :-)

Tarek & Yumiko from Hawaii


Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were warmly greeted by Stravos, who was available everyday to help us with planning out our trips. He loves telling the history of his lovely island. We stayed in a "apartment" style room. It was quite big, with a downstairs kitchenette if you want to make dinner or breakfast. Perfect location, quite close to the parking area. The room was very clean, with a balcony over looking the pedestrian street below, out to the sea. It is not a fancy hotel, but very nice accommodations for the price. Chania town is lovely and interesting.
P.S. Bring earplugs, the restaurant next to the hotel is very loud at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 108 in Chania Town
1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 108 in Chania Town
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 108 in Chania Town
246 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#10 of 108 in Chania Town
605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chania Town
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Veneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Veneta

Property: Casa Veneta
Address: 57 Theotokopoulou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Veneta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a narrow side street in the old quarter of Chania, Casa Veneta has plenty of olde worlde charm.It is a new, four storey building which we have sympathetically reconstructed from an old Venetian facade. For your convenience we have a television lounge on the ground floor. We have kept the atmosphere of the Grand Venetian period by using stripped polished wood for our interiors, and giving some studios a gallery bedroom.A friendly, most charming base in an excellent location from which to explore this historic and atmospheric town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Veneta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Veneta Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing