We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal re-introduction to Greece” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Veneta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Veneta
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ideal re-introduction to Greece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had not been to a Greek island for 5 years, but this was a lovely way to come back. Our accommodation at Casa Veneta was great and we were well looked after by Stavros and George who were very patient in trying to improve our stumbling attempts at the Greek language. The hotel is in an excellent location near the harbour and the views of the balcony look out to both sea and mountains. The room was split level and very clean and perfect for the two of us.

Stavros and George also recommended us a number of restaurants, all of which were very good. There is a nearby sandy beach - about 10 minutes walk away - and we also took the bus to the little village of Stavros where there is also a wonderful lagoon.

Room Tip: A room on the 3rd floor helps to take you a little way up from street level noise which was never pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    47
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
210
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria. Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hospitality is undeniable in this nice little hotel and the location in lovely downtown oldtown Chania was absolutely perfect. Driving directions provided via email by George proved to be completely successful on the day. Parking didn't pose any problem either and we managed one in Talos Sq., at the entrance to Theotokopoulou st and less than a minute from the hotel. Too easy!
The room with balcony was very nice and the view over the street great fun for people watching, but I would suggest anyone with compromised mobility will find the stairs to the sleeping mezzanine a little challenging, especially at night after a couple of raki.
This is a great value for money little hotel and George and father Stavros were genuinely welcoming and extremely helpful. My only negative comment is that upstairs sleeping area hadn't seen a good sweep out for awhile and padding about bare footed made for a slightly gritty experience... No big deal but for an otherwise well presented and clean hotel this was surprising.
All in all the Casa Veneta is a terrific Chania option, especially for those on a budget and wanting some self catering facilities.

Room Tip: The balcony for a lazy people watching session is a great bonus. Those with limited mobility may nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biniberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stavros and his son couldn't have been any friendlier or accommodating during our stay. We were greeted with juice and cookies while waiting briefly for our room in addition to other various Easter treats during our stay. We stayed in the studio room with a private balcony on the top floor. The terrace was very large and private with a great view to the water, perfect for relaxing and hanging laundry. Stavros gave us four recommendations for a key shop in the city complete with directions on the map. Anything we asked for was provided or replaced. Definitely service with a smile.

Room Tip: Book the studio with private rooftop terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chaufish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Casa Veneta! This lovely little hotel was easy to find (with plenty of parking spots within walking distance) and is situated at a ridiculously good location. Beautifully designed on the inside and out, clean and simple, cozy and feels like home. Our apartment was a split floor with a little kitchen complete with cooking utensils, pots, bowls, plates etc, a fairly spacious living room with flat screen TV, balcony with a beautiful view of the street + a peek at the sea, and very comfortable twin beds on the upper floor.

Oh and we absolutely adored our host, George, who is just wonderful in making sure we enjoyed our stay and was so helpful in giving us pointers and tips to good restaurants, places to avoid, and places for drinks and good music. We enjoyed some interesting conversations with him and genuinely felt his sincere warmth and friendliness. I've only read about hotel owners like him until now.

For the price, service, comfort and location, this place is a gem! It doesn't get better than this. It would be terribly unfortunate to give this place a miss. I would love to return to Chania and when the day comes, i would definitely return to Casa Veneta.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catspyjamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked this hotel for 7 days in early April. We totally agree with other comments about Stavros & George as they were extremely warm and helpful. On our arrival we were greeted by George who told us the best places to eat and visit in Chania and even provided us with some welcoming treats, including some raki! We were travelling with friends and were put in rooms next to each other with adjoining balconies. From the balcony you could view the charming street with the sea in one direction and snow-capped mountains in the other. The balcony was also a great place to sit and enjoy the local ouzo, wine or raki! Our apartments were modestly furnished with a small kitchen area with stove and fridge, and a shower you could stand up in (!).The beds were very comfortable to sleep on, although the double bed was actually 2 single beds with foam in between with 2 sets of single sheets. George and Stavros were so willing to help us plan our day trips and organise a rental car. They were wonderful hosts who said to ring them any time that we needed them and we were confident in knowing that they meant it! They are clearly very proud of their hotel and their city- and they deserve to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony; you will be able to see the interesting street and/or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very easy to find, central location, near the Venetian Harbour but within walking distance of bus station. On arrival greeted by Stavros with a welcome drink plus information about where to eat. Stavros, the owner, insisted on carrying our bags to our appartment. The room was spacious with a balcony which had views down to the sea and also up a beautiful pedestrianised street full of small shops and restaurants. In the evening we met Georgio, the owner's son, who was equally friendly with a good sense of humour and he always had time for a chat and catch-up. The two lovely gentlemen want to make sure their guests are happy and go the extra mile to make this happen. Chania is such a beautiful and charming place to visit and the hosts at Casa Veneta are equally charming! We spent 5 nights here and loved every minute!

Room Tip: We slept on both the first and second floor in an appartment and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhayes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My friend Chrissie and i chose Casa veneta due to its superb location at the gates of the old Town, 2 minutes away from where the taxi drops you to enter the pedestrianised old town. a lovely old Venetian villa with large rooms and a cool atrium. The simple apartment was much prettier and more comfortable than the pictures suggested and the charming balcony overlooked the cobbled street and the sea. Theres a lot of lovely places in Chania but there's only one STAVROS, the utterly charming, witty, erudite and elegant patron. Our best times in Crete were spent sipping ice-cold house raki with father and delightful son, Giorgos, listening to stories, sharing history, chewing over the politics and discussing music and restaurants. They were absolutely superb hosts which made our trip to this very touristy, bustling and relatively affluent town feel special . I feel like we actually made friends and i cannot recommend this marvellous ( ridiculously cheap!) pension highly enough. thank you

Room Tip: the photos do not do the rooms justice ... all are quiet and well provisioned. No breakfast, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Veneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Veneta

Property: Casa Veneta
Address: 57 Theotokopoulou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Veneta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a narrow side street in the old quarter of Chania, Casa Veneta has plenty of olde worlde charm.It is a new, four storey building which we have sympathetically reconstructed from an old Venetian facade. For your convenience we have a television lounge on the ground floor. We have kept the atmosphere of the Grand Venetian period by using stripped polished wood for our interiors, and giving some studios a gallery bedroom.A friendly, most charming base in an excellent location from which to explore this historic and atmospheric town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Veneta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Veneta Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing