We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home in Chanea”
Review of Casa Veneta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Veneta
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A home from home in Chanea”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you like us have found the perfect holiday venue in Chania you need look no further than Casa Veneta for the perfect ’Home from home’! There is something uniquely positive about greek hospitality and nobody I know encompasses this better than Stavros & George. On second visit we found the kitchen stocked with all manner of goodies, bathtowels softer than my own – and raki irresistible! Situated perfectly for the town and local beach the hotel has spotlessly clean rooms practically arranged, new beds and unbelievably good value. Visit now before they become too popular – you will not meet a friendlier pair of hosts who make the greek word Xenos – foreigner AND guest – more true.

Room Tip: Top rooms have nice balcony & view but can get a bit hot in july-august
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    50
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
216
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We arrived at Chania on our way to Heraklion and spontaneously we decided to book a room for 1 night in Chania! Casa Veneta had a great price for a room and the location of the hostel is right in the middle of the old town! The hosts were very friendly and helpful, providing us with useful information (map and suggestions).

Room Tip: The room booked from bookings.com is next to the pedestrian stream, so it might be a bit noise until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilias T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We only spent a night here, but would have happily stayed longer. Great location in Chania's old town, minutes from the harbour-side but also only a few minutes walk from the nearest road. We arrived late, but having pre-arranged with the owner, were greeted on arrival and made to feel instantly at home. Our room was on the top floor (not a problem for us, but for those with limited mobility, the lack of lift could present difficulties), with a balcony offering sea views. The room was basic, clean and met all our needs. For breakfast we had only to step out of the door and choose from one of the many neighbouring cafes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Chania has more charm than other cities in Crete, the street where Casa Veneta is located has more charm than others in Chania, Stavros and George have more charm than most hotel hosts. We were so well looked after and advised by S&G that we cancelled other accommodation to return for our last couple of nights on the island. The spacious rooms we occupied had useful tri-level layout with a proper deep bed-mattress on the sofa, especially good if one guest is an adult male snorer who needs to be a little distant from other would-be sleepers. Our balconies were of usable size, overlooking a relatively quiet and intimate street with a couple of mini-markets, close to car parking so we only had to wheel cases 300 metres. S&G speak excellent English, are most interesting to converse with, and highly helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muchtravelled09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Casa Veneta was a wonderful place to stay. We were so delighted by Stavros and George, who were outstandingly welcoming and went out of their way to take care of us and give us information about the area. Their local knowledge, helpfulness and hospitality was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The location is perfect too. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We only stayed for one night and arrived quite late at night. George was waiting for us, and made us feel welcome right away. He was friendly, polite and made us feel at home. The room was comfortable, but a little noisy as it was on the street level.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked one night in Casa Veneta at the end of our holiday in Piskopiano. I spent days looking for a hotel and finally deciding on this one! We wanted good value in a great location but were slightly concerned about the majority of rooms looking small and dated. Eventually we decided small and dated was typical for Chania!

On arriving the hotel was very easy to find and a very short walk from the local car park (car parking can be difficult in Chania). George who met us was very friendly throughout our visit, always offering to help. The staff cannot be faulted.

The room was as we expected, traditional with dark wooden furniture, stone walls and tiled floor. It was larger than expected though and had a small kitchen. The bathroom was adequately equipped and everything was clean. It wasn't luxurious at all and there was no view but for a few nights stay it would be perfect.

Our room was off the main stairwell and it was very noisy at night, it was fine as we only stayed one night but I would perhaps have asked to move if I had been there longer. I'm sure they would have accomodated a move though.

The location is absolutely perfect, it is on a narrow street just behind the venetian harbour. The street is lined with quaint traditional stores and cafes...absolutely perfect!

Overall I would recommend it for a short stay in Chania.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Veneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Veneta

Property: Casa Veneta
Address: 57 Theotokopoulou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Veneta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a narrow side street in the old quarter of Chania, Casa Veneta has plenty of olde worlde charm.It is a new, four storey building which we have sympathetically reconstructed from an old Venetian facade. For your convenience we have a television lounge on the ground floor. We have kept the atmosphere of the Grand Venetian period by using stripped polished wood for our interiors, and giving some studios a gallery bedroom.A friendly, most charming base in an excellent location from which to explore this historic and atmospheric town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Veneta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Veneta Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing