We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What amazing hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Veneta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Veneta
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What amazing hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Casa Veneta was a wonderful place to stay. We were so delighted by Stavros and George, who were outstandingly welcoming and went out of their way to take care of us and give us information about the area. Their local knowledge, helpfulness and hospitality was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The location is perfect too. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    47
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
210
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We only stayed for one night and arrived quite late at night. George was waiting for us, and made us feel welcome right away. He was friendly, polite and made us feel at home. The room was comfortable, but a little noisy as it was on the street level.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked one night in Casa Veneta at the end of our holiday in Piskopiano. I spent days looking for a hotel and finally deciding on this one! We wanted good value in a great location but were slightly concerned about the majority of rooms looking small and dated. Eventually we decided small and dated was typical for Chania!

On arriving the hotel was very easy to find and a very short walk from the local car park (car parking can be difficult in Chania). George who met us was very friendly throughout our visit, always offering to help. The staff cannot be faulted.

The room was as we expected, traditional with dark wooden furniture, stone walls and tiled floor. It was larger than expected though and had a small kitchen. The bathroom was adequately equipped and everything was clean. It wasn't luxurious at all and there was no view but for a few nights stay it would be perfect.

Our room was off the main stairwell and it was very noisy at night, it was fine as we only stayed one night but I would perhaps have asked to move if I had been there longer. I'm sure they would have accomodated a move though.

The location is absolutely perfect, it is on a narrow street just behind the venetian harbour. The street is lined with quaint traditional stores and cafes...absolutely perfect!

Overall I would recommend it for a short stay in Chania.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

You won't find a more welcoming and helpful owner in all of Greece. We extended our 3 day stay to 7 because of Stavros and George making us feel so welcome. Our room was simple and spacious and ideally situated in the old town just one block back from the harbour. Our studio included a small, well equipped kitchenette and a large patio where we ate all our meals. Great value!

Room Tip: We liked Room 9 on the top floor. You'll stay fit climbing the 4 flights of stairs, but this st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AnnMarie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Though not impressive as far as design is concerned, these rooms are a very good choice. Situated in my favourite corner of historic centre of Chania (in Theotokopoulou str around Nautical museum) the rooms are relatively quiet spacey with AC fridge and a small kitchen. We loved the two levels room with the bed in the upper floor. It gave a sense of mountain refuge especially with the interior wooden clad. Very helpful owner and son provide us, and relatively close to the parking lot, the public bus station and the old port.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank konstantinos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Really nice hotel, giant rooms, super friendly hosts - looks a lot nicer in real than on the website! The owner, Stavros, was very helpful and generous with us, the rooms were very clean, large, nicely furnished if a little empty. The location is perfect, right by the harbor and all the restaurants, walking distance to the bus station. No restaurant at the hotel but there is a nice breakfast place right in front. I really don't have anything negative to say, I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have been to CHANIA before, and love the old town, but this is the first time we have stayed at casa veneta, The owner couldnt have been more welcoming, he offered us a drink the moment we arrived, and went to the bar next door to get us beers, Incidently we can warmly recommend this restaurant as well ! Nothing was too much trouble during our weeks stay, and as far as I am concerned the housekeeping was excellent. We did not have a bad meal during our stay, we kept away from the main harbour but only because some of the restaurants hassle you (when will they learn that it puts people off?) We found a lovely bar at the end of the harbour called "Angels" sitting watching the light play on the water whilst listening to quiet classical music Wonderful. Also has the bonus of a totally excentric owner! Nice beach about 15 mins walk away. Warmly recommended hotel and town we will be back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank suzieqIsleOfWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#22 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Veneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Veneta

Property: Casa Veneta
Address: 57 Theotokopoulou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Veneta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a narrow side street in the old quarter of Chania, Casa Veneta has plenty of olde worlde charm.It is a new, four storey building which we have sympathetically reconstructed from an old Venetian facade. For your convenience we have a television lounge on the ground floor. We have kept the atmosphere of the Grand Venetian period by using stripped polished wood for our interiors, and giving some studios a gallery bedroom.A friendly, most charming base in an excellent location from which to explore this historic and atmospheric town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Veneta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Veneta Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing