We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice small and cosy hotel in the historical center”
Review of Pension Eva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Eva
Warsaw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice small and cosy hotel in the historical center”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would like to reccommend Pension Eva to tourists wanting to spend time in the old town, inside the net of the narrow, quiet streets of historical part of Chania. The location is the greatest asset of the accommodation, being close to the busy waterfront but remaining in the peaceful part of the old town.
Second advantage is a price which is very reasonable for the standard of the room. It is perfect for budget travellers who expect decent standard of a holiday.
Building appears to be an old apartment from the Venice times which gives an additional flavour. While living in an old building you must accept also its costs such as steep stairs, hearing the water in the pipeline, but in my opinion it is not a big problem to deal with. There is a terrace available on the top of the stairs with a sight of a sea and the roofs of the surrounding houses. You can have a reast there while the sun is bearable. The umbrella, chairs, tables are all there.
Owners are living in the same building, running a small souvenir shop on the ground floor, so they are available most of the time if needed any help or answers.
The rooms are clean and have got all the necessary equipment. there is a tv-set, working air conditioning, fridge etc. inside, however you can see some amendments and small repairs would raise the standard of the room significantly. I mean not closing door to the bathroom or a bed which has seen its better times.
To sum up we enjoyed our stay in Pension Eva and would reccommend it to others. Despites some small lacks I described above it is a great place for spending the summer for a couple. Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Witek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

An absolute charming hotel. Fantastic location. Excellent service from hotel owners who made my friend &I feel very welcome from start to finish. Without a doubt would recommend Pension Eva to family, friends & work colleagues and will be returning again in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank maxine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

what a wonderful way to spend Christmas relaxing in such a lovely hotel met on arrival by owners and then left on our own so trusting . The hotel was everything and more than we expected with hairdryer kettle fridge and more.
The old town of Chania had lovely little shops cobbled streets and wonderful harbour to sit and enjoy a meal
The phone calls from Voula before and during our visit to make sure we had all we needed
We even spent Boxing day sitting on the roof garden it was a wonderful time and my friend and I hope to return later in the year

Room Tip: We were in room 4 with a balcony would recommend this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Excellent location, in the heart of everything and very good communication and service from the owner Voula...from helping the gormless taxi driver on the phone to letting me keep the room late on checkout day as it was windy and raining outside. I have seen all the rooms, traditional and spotless, thoughtfully equipped and without a doubt the best bathrooms I have ever seen in Greece in a property of this pricing., even a hairdryer. My room had full cooking facilties, all the crockery, pans and cutlery your could want, toaster, electric kettle, a good sized fridge, room safe, television...everything you could need. A short stroll to the big and cheap Carrefour supermarket and you can have a little breakfast and lunch in the room and save your pennies for eating out at night. Thoroughly recommended and has everything the fancy hotels offer at a bargain rate!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and lovely, no preference. Don't forget to enjoy the views of the sea f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krabikrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed there twice, Rooms 4 and 5, both clean and comfortable. Room 4 has a balcony. The hotel is situated in the mainly pedestrian city centre (motorcycles, scooters, and the occasional car). Parking is available a quarter-mile due north (at the beach), but be prepared to wait a while for a spot to open up. Non-nimble tourists should also be forewarned that the stairs are steep and narrow. This is not a complaint: if you want to stay in a lovely historic building, you should be prepared to deal with that sort of thing, and the staff generously offered to carry our luggage up to the room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank grovejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

That hotel is simply awesome and beautiful. Having about 6 rooms or so, it's a gem located in the heart of the city. The rooms were clean, the staff was helpful, the panorama of the roof garden is "not bad", having the feeling of Chania and Greece on the balcony of this ancient house is priceless.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eseriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We loved Pension Eva. It is in a great location in the old town, near everything yet quiet at night. The rooms are well appointed, ensuite, TV, free wireless, AC and pleasantly decorated. The owners are friendly and extremely helpful. Would higely recommend. The staircase is quite narrow so might not be suitable for elderly guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Mare
Hotel Atlantida Mare
#12 of 31 in Agia Marina
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ermis Suites
Ermis Suites
#31 of 69 in Platanias
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canea Mare Hotel
Canea Mare Hotel
#52 of 109 in Chania Town
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Troulakis Beach Hotel
Troulakis Beach Hotel
#12 of 41 in Agia Marina
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vasiliki Apartments
Vasiliki Apartments
#35 of 55 in Platanias
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nicolas Studios & Apartments
Nicolas Studios & Apartments
#3 of 41 in Agia Marina
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Eva

Property: Pension Eva
Address: 1 Theofanous & Zambeliou Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Eva 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful area of the old town, Pension Eva offers an authentic Chania experience, with a roof terrace providing stunning views of Chania and the Venetian harbor. Pension Eva is a very charming 17th-century Venetian town house. Following renovations in 2008, guests can enjoy all their modern comforts, along with its original features and elegant antique furnishings. Offering only 4 rooms, Pension Eva provides a cozy atmosphere with a personal service. With its central location, guests can enjoy a short walk to Chania's beautiful harbor, its boutique shops and excellent restaurants. After a busy day of sightseeing, Eva's roof terrace is the perfect place to sit back and enjoy the atmosphere of this historic town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Pension Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Eva Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing