We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful..”
Review of To Maridaki

To Maridaki
Ranked #11 of 419 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful..”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Strongly recommended for seafood although away from the sea!!! Delicious dishes.Pleasant staff.They really know how to do their job.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Krasoudakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at To Maridaki, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Google Translation
Αγαπητέ κύριε,
ευχαριστούμε θερμά για τα θετικά σχόλια στην κριτική σας, μέσω της οποίας επιβραβεύονται οι προσπάθειές μας καθημερινά για όσο το δυνατόν καλύτερες προσφερόμενες υπηρεσίες. Στόχος μας πάντα θα είναι η διατήρηση αυτών των εντυπώσεων από τους επισκέπτες μας.
Σας ευχόμαστε πάντα ξεχωριστές γαστριμαργικές εμπειρίες στις εξόδους σας!

Με εκτίμηση

"Το Σαρδελάκι" Ψαρομαγειρείο-Μεζεδοπωλείο
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    187
    52
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulously delicious”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

A new Chania restaurant - and fantastic it was too! We had spinach with seafood, a bean purée (fava), grilled mackerel with with grilled vegetable garnish and shrimps with cardamom rice - all to share between the two of us. All was very fresh and soooooo....tasty. We could look at the food before we ordered it (practically a customised menu) and could have watched it being prepared as the kitchen is completely open. We washed it all down with a good red wine. The service was fantastic (the fish was deboned for us as we admitted we weren't very good at it) and the halva and raki on the house for pud were yummy. The feel of the restaurant is fresh and modern....Definitely worth a visit or two or three...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at To Maridaki, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,
we're greatful to be in the pleasant position to view your so positive comments about "To Sardelaki" on Tripadvisor. We're very glad that you've totally enjoyed your meal and your visit to our place and we'll try always to continue that way. Satisfying the expectations of our customers for high quality food and excellent service is our most significant goal. We also appreciate your recommendation which is of a really high importance as "To Sardelaki" has been just one month old!
We wish you always having great tasty experiences!

Best regards

'To Sardelaki" Fish Eatery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
1 review
“Delicious sea food”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The restaurant is located by Splantzia square, that is one of the most popular old town premises among locals. It has a cozy, two floor interior and also some tables outside, at the sidewalk beside its entry.
Its fresh fish is local. The menu is based on traditional recipes, but do not hesitate to flavor some of its original dishes as your waiter will suggest. Several Cretan wines are available at reasonable prices. The beer funs may also enjoy the fresh local draft beer Charma.
I have been there three times, the food was delicious and the service was excellent.
The prices are moderate. Sardelaki is for people that love fish and sea food and are ready to pay something more for this!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at To Maridaki, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your so descriptive and positive comments on your review about "To Sardelaki". It's very important to us to know that our customers like you are able to realize and appreciate our efforts for high quality services and a comfortable environment. Our goal is to continue that way just as we've started and even more!
We wish you always have great experiences in your outings.

Best regards

"To Sardelaki" Fish Eatery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great new Fish Restaurant in the Old Town”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We tried 'To Sardelaki' on the second night it opened and it proved a real treat. Wonderfully fresh fish - Smyrni (Moray eel) cooked in batter with Rosemary and small red Koutsomoura (like small red mullet) were both as good as you can get in Chania. The salads and vegetables were excellent and the chips perfect - cooked in fresh oil of course. There was a very good selection of sea fish to choose from in the fish fridge in one corner of the restaurant - from which diners are invited to choose the fish for their meal. We advise doing this and listening to what the waiter has to tell you about the possible choices.
The service was professional and friendly - with some familiar faces from 'Thalassino Aggeri' which we also like a lot in the summer. This time we sat inside but there is air conditioning and outside seating - looking onto leafy 1821 Square - which is one of the nicest parts of Chania's old town - close to the inner harbour. We found the pricing very reasonable given the quality of the food. The house white wine was sound and worked very well with our food - although there are some nice wines available if you want to splash out a bit. Slightly softer lighting and some tealights or candles on the tables would help the atmosphere, but the décor is light, pleasing and calm. We will return at Easter (and report) and see how they are getting on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lilywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at To Maridaki, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,
thank you very much for your so possitive comments in your review, that it happens to be the first for our new business. We're pleased to know that you've fully enjoyed your first visit to "To Sardelaki". That is our goal and we'll always try to satisfy the expectations of our customers.
Wishing you the best wherever you are now and we hope we'll meet you again soon.

Best regards

From "To Sardelaki" Fish Eatery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Maridaki also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Parigoria, Chania Town
 

Been to To Maridaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing