We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice host”
Review of Madonna Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madonna Studios
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice host”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is situated in a quiet street in the old town of Chania, but very close to the main restaurants, cafés, etc. The room (ours was number 4) was very clean and spacious. But I think that what we liked the most was the owner's hospitality: always very nice and smiley, nothing was much of a trouble and also made us delicious biscuits and pies. It was almost as staying at family place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilipaFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Best hostess in the world. Between her goodies and her restaurant recommendations, we must have gained 10 pounds. The room was lovely, breezy, comfortable, clean. It could be closed up at night for quiet and privacy and opened up during the day for the light and access to the balconies and views of the courtyard. The kitchen had everything we needed plus coffee and creamer. Thomais came to the main street to guide us to her place amid the quiet streets. Our favorite place in Greece to stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preironic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have recently stayed here and our host Tomais was exceptionally kind and helpful. My mother commented that she had never stayed anywhere like it and she is a seasoned traveller. Tomais' kindness was out of the ordinary. She provided us with apple pie, fresh orange juice, cheese pies etc. She washed some clothes for us as I had young children. She assisted in getting us to the airport because of the taxi strike. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and felt like home from home. I cannot recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meli62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

To say we loved it is an understatement. My daughter and her friend traveled with me to Greece. They are both in college. We got to Chania and walked from the bus station.

Our innkeeper met us and showed us our apartment. She had baked apple pie for us. Her name is Thomais Moymoytzi. Once we got our bags upstairs, she prepared fresh squeezed orange juice for us. The apartment had two terraces. White curtains blowing in the breeze. The house is very Venetian and was built in 1252.

The room had two parts, but no specific door between them. It was like a large apartment. At night we could close up the doors and windows and sleep with the air conditioner on. That kept the noise of the roosters out in the morning!

The girls had been traveling for a month and Thomais offered to wash some of their clothes for them!

She gave us a map and pointed out places we would like. We needed ferry tickets and she told us to go to a travel office where her daughter works. There was a taxi strike when we were there - but she kept calling the taxi office to find out when it would be over. She was so kind to us.

We loved Madonna Studios and would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: They all look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Charming location, wonderful host, clean tidy and centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiedmonterCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

These are lovely apartments - very homely, traditional and comfortable and a great base for exploring the lovely streets on Chania. The hostess is so kind and welcoming and makes you feel right at home. We were sad that we'd only booked in for one night and had to go home the next day!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandC0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I can only think of good things to say about Madonna Studios and it's amazing owner Tomais. The Venetian hotel is on a quiet street close to the port and is in the center of old town Chania. The lovely Tomais is the kindest and warmest person I've met and I've stayed in places all around the world. She bakes and cooks and always has a helpful suggestion where to go and what to do while on Crete. We felt like she was family and will miss Madonna Studios! A beautiful small boutique hotel in the heart of Chania.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooftop-observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#6 of 109 in Chania Town
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#31 of 109 in Chania Town
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 109 in Chania Town
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#9 of 109 in Chania Town
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silde Apartments
Silde Apartments
#6 of 137 in Chania Town
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Studios

Property: Madonna Studios
Address: Antoniou Gamba 33 (Old Town), Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Madonna Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Studios Hotel Chania Town
Madonna Studios Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing