We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for staying!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 91 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place for staying!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

Doge hotel is located in the old center of city very close to the main place for visiting.
Good and helpful stuff, good and clean room.
There is 2 flow room – 2 area: 1 Bedroom on 2nd flow and lounge area with 2 beds, bathroom with shower.
There are TV, Hair dryer, tables, individually controlled Air-Conditioning.
Very good place for reasonable price.
Main menos – there is not parking area –( the hotel is located on walking street), and some times is too noise in the room

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxana113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    64
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
27
76
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ioannina, Greece
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

The hotel itself is not the worst I've stayed in. The problem arose when I asked for a receipt; they gave me one, however when I returned back home I realized that it was illegal, therefore useless. For over a month I kept calling and asking for a legitimate receipt and all I got was a nasty behavior and no receipt..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpekpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

very nicely located and generous people with generous breakfast! cosy atmosphere and nice people to greet you!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klifov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

Someone else said this best as : unless you see yourself as one of the people making a lot of noise and being roudy than you prob. won't like it. It reminds me of the myrtle beach type crowd. When you first get to the port it is beautiful and you are happy. But beware of the crowds and night life and wild teens and soldiers. The food is the worst and most overprices I have had anywhere in Greece and as you walk they all try to pull you into their resteraunts and lie about the food being traditional. There were 6 of us and we all switched hotels to different ones. The hotel staff (the bottom is a jewlery store with a guy at the desk, aka the hotel staff) is a nice guy and will give you mediocore resteraunts but better than the majority in this area. You can go to other hotels just 10 mins walking up from the port and be better off. Plus if you have kids be careful cause the water is there and no rail. It's bad for allergies and there is sometimes a sewer smell.

  • Liked — it looked nice in the room
  • Disliked — haha a lot read above, port crowd and food, close to other great hotels go to those
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aymami21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Halepa Hotel
Halepa Hotel
#23 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#33 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doge Hotel

Property: Doge Hotel
Address: 14-16 Kondilaki Ioanni, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Doge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DOGE Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Chania.The15th-century, Venetian-style Doge Hotel is in Chania’s centre 50 metres from the Venetian Harbour. It features free Wi-Fi, a rich breakfast and self-catered rooms with romantic décor. Air-conditioned rooms feature traditional wrought iron or dark wood furnishings. All rooms are equipped with LCD satellite TV and kitchenettes include fridge and coffee-making facilities. Some units of Traditional Doge Hotel offer a dining area. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms or in the hotel’s café with views of the scenic, cobbled street and old market. There is an on-site gift shop with handcrafted souvenirs and jewellery. The hotel offers information about famous Samaria Gorge. Traditional Cretan restaurants, museums and bars are within a 5-minute walk from Doge Traditional Hotel. Chania Airport is 17 km away, while Souda Port is at 7 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Doge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doge Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing