We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Doge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doge Hotel
Ranked #40 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We spent three nights here in late December and enjoyed it very much. The room was beautifully furnished, lots of care and attention to detail, even Christmas decorations and artistic touches. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The location was good - a quiet pedestrianised street close to the harbour in the old town. No parking there, but the owner gave good advice for a nearby street. We would recommend this hotel.

But a word of warning about the En Plo taverna round the corner at 20 Portou, shown in our photo. We decided to try this place as it was handy and we thought it would be cheaper than the water-front restaurants. It was not - it was a real rip-off at twice the price of anything we paid anywhere else in 10 days on Crete this year. The food was average and not worth the money. Do not go here, you will be cheated.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgiathanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

was 45 Euro for the night, was on a quiet street to walking traffic only. was about 200 metres to the inner harbour and it's bustle of drinks, eats, and fun.

Internet was not hte best for video calls, and the rooms not facing the innner main road with stores was not able to get a signal.

showers in 3 A had no curtain likemost north american hotels. It was a good place overall though.

Room Tip: if you want interent take an inner room facing the main road. room 3 A had the wireless router in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_cdn_sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Located on a twisty maze of cobble stoned pedestrian roads. Gardenia and jasmine trees and vines create a fragrant, romantic canopy with which you meander to and from your charming digs. There is a plethora of shops right outside your flat filled with ceramics, spices, leather goods and art. The rooms are cleaned daily. Beds are fitted with mesh netted curtains. Very romantic. There's cable tv, wi-fi (spotty at times) and clean towels daily. If you need to do laundry there's a reasonable automat just east of the Starbucks on Sifaka Street, just past the Doctor Fish Foot Therapy clinic on the south side of the street. Doge was comfortable and homey & we were charged 50€ a night. We also saved coin by buying fresh produce & cheese at the municipal market. Great place.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment 1. It opens to the floral street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mgb330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We (two Americans- one guy, one girl) stayed here in the hardcore off-season and it was very cheap: $50 per night. Definitely a low-traffic time of year- we waited in the empty lobby for a few minutes until someone wandered by and called the owner on his cellphone. We might have been the only people staying there- we were put up in a staggeringly nice room with two floors- a loft with a double bed and a double bed on the ground floor. Very clean; nice bathroom; would highly recommend.

One of the nicest places we stayed during our entire time in Greece; a nice view out on to a beautiful street, extremely close to the Venetian harbor.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
Thank genghiskuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

While arriving at the hotel I was waiting for a room much smaller than the one we received. Our room was huge (in fact it was for 3 people and we were 2), very nicely renovated, sweet and lovely! The breakfast was very rich and was served after 8 until whenever you 're going to weak up. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. They also give you some good tips for the city!

The hotel is located in the center of the old town, very close to the port, with all the restaurants, the shops, etc around it. Normally you can't reach it by car as the road is only for pedestrians but you can leave the car nearby and generally we didn't have problem with the parking.

The only black spot during our stay was a little incident with the cleaning lady, so I would recommend you to watch your stuff and not leave anything very precious in the room.

However I have to say that we were very satisfied by our stay and we decided to come back in the end of our trip. Unfortunately there was no room available in this hotel but the owner who was very kind found us another one near by (not compared to the one that we had stayed as it was in an other hotel but ok). He also offered to give us a ride to the airport as there was a taxi strike but we had our own car.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evi_ole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The Doge Hotel was fantastic. My wife has stayed there 3 times over the past 3 years. It was everything she said it was. Owner George and staff were very friendy, Great Breakfast. Rooms were very clean. Right in the heart of Old Town. They certainly go out of there way to make you feel welcome. They have become like family. We came from Vancouver Canada and plan on going back to the Doge Hotel.

Room Tip: If possible try to stay on the top floor front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Popsiclepete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

On our trip to Crete, on a friend's recommendation we decided to make Chania our main base. Chania is a bit small to keep you entertained for a week, but there are plenty of places to go on the west end of Crete (mountains, beaches, lagoons, archeological sites) so with a car I'd recycle that recommendation. Weighing all the options, and swayed a bit by the pictures of the rooms on their website, we booked our stay at the Doge Traditional.
The location is absolutely perfect, smack in the centre of Chania, just a few hundred yards from the harbour. This does mean that it's in the narrow streets, so no parking at the hotel. There is parking about half a mile away, round the west end of the harbour - be careful, though, the section closest to the harbour is residents only (cost me 40 EUR and an hour locating the office taking my money). Location also meant there was some noise from music at a nearby restaurant until a bit past midnight one or two evenings, and, more annoyingly, church bells ringing early in the morning. Hotel is spread across a few buildings, our room was in the building across the street, but street is 3 yards wide and pedestrianised. No elevator, but stairs wide and regular.
Room was really spacious, with a really nice bed, good seating area, new TV (if that's what you do on your holidays), and what almost amounted to a kitchenette. This is a good place to mention one of those finishing touches, the kitchenette area had an extractor fan but nothing beneath it but the floor (somehow I doubt a small cooking fire on the floor would be encouraged); also, plenty of cupboard space but very little in the cupboards. We got a few plates and utensils from the breakfast area when we mentioned this the next morning, though. Room also had a nice balcony with a splendid view over the rooftops of Chania and a bit of the harbour (but a rather bleak backyard underneath). Bathroom also spacious with well functioning units (no shower curtain, but by reading plenty of reviews before choosing it seems to be the Greek way) - there were a couple of unconnected plumbing fittings in one corner. Last thing I would claim shows this 90% approach of getting only almost everything right is that the only light in the main room was a (beautiful) ceiling light with only switch by the door. Bed table lamps would be a nice addition.
Breakfast was included, and a really good start to the day: coffee, Greek yogurt with honey, freshly prepared panini with ham and cheese, and a basket of rolls with those small jam packs should you be more hungry. All served until late. Staff was friendly and efficient, and proprietor gave some good recommendations on beaches in the area. All in all, very close to a perfect place, with just a few silly things detracting ever so slightly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyngsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#84 of 111 in Chania Town
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arkadi Hotel
Arkadi Hotel
#36 of 111 in Chania Town
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#14 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Antico Hotel & Apartments
Porto Antico Hotel & Apartments
#7 of 115 in Chania Town
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doge Hotel

Address: 14-16 Kondilaki Ioanni, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: $51 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Doge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DOGE Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Chania.The15th-century, Venetian-style Doge Hotel is in Chania’s centre 50 metres from the Venetian Harbour. It features free Wi-Fi, a rich breakfast and self-catered rooms with romantic décor. Air-conditioned rooms feature traditional wrought iron or dark wood furnishings. All rooms are equipped with LCD satellite TV and kitchenettes include fridge and coffee-making facilities. Some units of Traditional Doge Hotel offer a dining area. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms or in the hotel’s café with views of the scenic, cobbled street and old market. There is an on-site gift shop with handcrafted souvenirs and jewellery. The hotel offers information about famous Samaria Gorge. Traditional Cretan restaurants, museums and bars are within a 5-minute walk from Doge Traditional Hotel. Chania Airport is 17 km away, while Souda Port is at 7 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doge Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing