We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #30 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

Just stayed the one night in this wonderful hotel, perfect location, great room with a fantastic view over the harbour couldnt have been any better...would definately return if going back to Chania, also the hotels restaurant was great and very good value for money, all in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MG100surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    80
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
172
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

Beautiful authentic hotel, a perfect location!!! The great roof terrace overlooking the harbor.
Our room is large enough, the bathroom is very small. We are small Asian people but also for us it is small.
Save some harassment and just eat at the restaurant of the hotel. By far the best in Chania.
Nice staff, free beach towel at the reception. The beach is about 10 minutes easy walk. Elafonissi is must do!
The hotel could be a bit noisy because off the bar next door and the wooden staircase. Depending on which room you get. But not that big of the problem.
Check out my video for impression of Chania, Crete

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed four nights of our honeymoon at the Amphora, the hotel is in an excellent position overlooking the harbour. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and payed €145 per night. It had a lovely 4 poster, with a fire place, high wood beamed ceiling and views of the harbour and streets.The hotel has its own restaurant with tables overlooking the harbour.There is a lovely rooftop balcony, an ideal place to watch the sun set. The ladies on reception were very helpful and informative. We took their advise & went to Elofinisi one day, it was pure bliss, the water was so clear.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GandH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

We booked 7 nights at the Amphora in early September. The hotel was perfect for our needs, the room offered a lovely harbour view, it was clean, practical and spacious, the bathroom adequate. We paid extra for air con and that was a good move. The staff were lovely and friendly. The breakfast buffet was simple, fairly limited but fresh and wholesome. The only slight downer is that taxis can't get right outside and stairs need to be negotiated as no lifts! We were fairly early to bed but had no problems with noise. We went armed with ear plugs just in case. This hotel while not luxurious, is charming
welcoming and perfectly located. Hotel plus flights from LGW was just under £1000.00 for us both, money well spent.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GJgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

gordon&pauline,stockport UK july 2008
what abeautiful hotel! the staff were very helpful,the breakfasts wholesome & the view from room 13 on to the terrace & the terrace itselfstunning we will definitely stop there again if we are in the area thank you anita for making our stay so relaxing also to the other lady whose name we did not get

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank grecophilehania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

It was a really nice, authentic, traditional style place and was extremely clean and always *immaculately* kept. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. It has lovely ambiance and is very centrally located. The room I had was big and even had a fridge (which was very useful to store cool drinks during hot weather). There was also a really beautiful rooftop garden with chairs and tables where you could sit.

However...if you have a room facing the harbor, it is not for light sleepers. It has beautiful old, wooden floors which (through no fault of the hotel) carry every sound, as well as (very) loud noise if you face the harbor. If you face the inner courtyard, this should not be a problem. While the harbor has lovely views, I would probably trade it for a quieter room. But of course, this is the same issue any hotel facing the harbor would have. It is certainly not specific to this hotel.

The breakfast is simple, but nice (costs about 10E) and had the best Greek yogurt I have ever had!

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — The noise from the harbor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

My family of 4 stayed at the Amphora hotel for 2 nights in September. We could not have had a better experience. The hotel sits right on the waterfront. Our room (#11) had a small balcony with a beautiful view of Chania harbor. The entire hotel is spotless, and the staff extremely friendly and attentive. The price is very reasonable for a hotel of this quality

  • Liked — View of Chania
  • Disliked — Somewhat unimpressive breakfast buffet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#43 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#25 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Property: Amphora Hotel
Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing