We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #26 of 112 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is located on the harbour in old Chania (the building is 14C) with the most beautiful views. We stayed two nights in different rooms. The accommodation is first rate with the rooms refurbished sympathetically and to a high standard. On out last night we stayed in a harbour view room with a balcony which was stunning. The breakfast was excellent with homemade jams. The staff were so friendly and interested. We will definitely be returning. Looking at dates now!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    74
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
158
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SANTA CRUZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Excellent Hotel. Excellent service. Magnificent view. Delicious breakfast. Perfect location. Beautiful room. We did not want to leave. It doesn't get any better than this for a pleasurable travel experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CHARLES S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at Amphora Hotel for our honeymoon. We were in room #11--best room in the hotel with BEAUTIFUL views that overlooked the old venetian harbor. I don't think any other room had such a nice view as we did.

We stayed for six nights. The room was very clean and the bed was huge. We had a window and a balcony with a table and chairs to sit on to view the harbor.

The staff was very courteous and helped out tremendously when booking our excursion to Samaria Gorge.

There is a rooftop terrace that has even more spectacular views of the harbor and neighboring area. I don't think any other hotel in the old town had a rooftop terrace to this quality.

One thing to note-- there is a club below the hotel that plays all through the night. Even with us being on the third floor, we were still able to hear it, however, it didn't bother our sleep. There are double paned shutters that you can close at night which pretty much deletes all of the sound.

The breakfast is served downstairs from 7:30-10:30. It is a small breakfast, but a local one. If you are expecting a huge array of foods, this is not the breakfast for you and I would recommend going to the local taverns for their breakfasts, but for us it was just enough and worked well.

I absolutely loved this place and would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the old port. You are in the heart of everything which makes for a very lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room #11 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our room (believe #6) was on the second floor right above the Amphora restaurant. The room was huge and very nicely appointed. The hotels location is excellent and you get good value for your money. There is some bass/background noise from bars on the veneatian harbor at night, but the sound is much deafened by double pain glass installed in the room. Our room had a 15 gallon (60 liter) hot water heater that needed to be warmed up 20 minutes before use which was 'ok,' but worth noting for long showers' or those looking to rush out upon waking up.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was my first time in Crete and if I ever go back, I'd definitely stay at the Amphora again. The staff was incredibly helpful, including Anita who gave wonderful, detailed recommendations on activities and places to visit. Our ferry arrived early in the morning and the hotel minimized our wait time by letting us check in a little earlier than the official check-in time. The views from the sea-view rooms were top notch -- definitely worth the extra fee. Location was also great - in the heart of Chania and also close to a parking lot (we rented a car for one day). We didn't get the breakfast so can't speak to that but had dinner at the restaurant downstairs and the food was GREAT. Would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Crete!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alphacharliekilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My first time in Crete, and we only had 5 days! The Amphora was a great choice. Our room was on the top floor with a romantic little balcony overlooking the port and the ancient Venitial port.
The charming lanes still have the old world charm are full of great stores for local jewelry, potery and food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel was in the perfect spot for us to get out for walks in Chania, and to relax and watch the harbour action from the comfort of our balcony, or one of the terraces. The hotel was lovely, and a bit of a maze! Our room was fantastic, with a great view of the harbour. We were there on a weekend, so it was quite noisy at night, but we closed the windows to sleep.

Amazing service from all of the staff, especially Augustin who carried our luggage up and down the stairs, the woman running the morning breakfasts, and the lady at reception who recommended a nearby place to get our tire fixed. (Sorry, I didn't catch everyone's names!)

Morning breakfast was fantastic, offering a great selection of breakfast foods and freshly squeezed orange juice. You can choose to eat in the breakfast room downstairs, or have it taken up to the terrace facing the harbour! What a lovely way to start the morning.

We also loved the Amphrora restaurant for dinner, but that will be a separate review :)

Room Tip: Room 20 is on an upper floor, with possibly the best view of any room! There is no elevator, so it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OutAndAboutTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#24 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#38 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#7 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#34 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#13 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Property: Amphora Hotel
Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73131 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing