We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amphora hotel is a fabulous hotel - Great rooms with outstanding view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Amphora hotel is a fabulous hotel - Great rooms with outstanding view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Amphora hotel is really beautifully designed, stylish, chic and spacious in the heart of the Venetian harbour, an excellent location to the port and shops.
We had a wonderful elegant room really nice and clean. The towels were of high quality and the bed was very comfortable. Our room had the most amazing view of the Venetian lighthouse, the city’s dominating symbol. Great homemade breakfast, well presented and varied with as much as you would want to eat

The staff were beyond amazing, sharing restaurant, sights and transportation tips which made our trip much easier, they warned us against the poor value tourist hot-spots and gave suggestions for better places to eat and drink.

We had a great time in this hotel as well as in Chania! Thank you so much, we'd like to come again!
Check out the hotel's website on www.amphora.gr to get more up to date info about the hotel’s accommodation, contact information, photos, online reservation and directions for locating it.
Really informative site it helped me a lot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay-Matz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    80
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
172
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel Amphora is right on the harbour so the location is just lovely. We enjoyed walks along the waterfront day and night for restaurants, bars etc. there are little alleyways with markets near the hotel too. The building is old Venetian style and has a couple of roof gardens with great views. The wifi is free and fairly fast. There is a restaurant on the other side of the hotel but we didn't get to try it.

I have a gripe with breakfast. When we checked in, the guy told us breakfast is between 7:30 and 10. No mention of cost. When we went down to find the breakfast room in the morning, a different lady showed us and didn't mention price either. We just popped in and literally had a tiny bowl of oats eat with some juice that was brought out and a sip of coffee. At check out, we were told the breakfast was 10 euros each. If we had known that we wouldn't have gone down... We had a food tour booked that morning and only went to the breakfast room for a quite bite and some caffeine. The staff were otherwise very friendly but I wish they were more clear with the cost. 20 euros can get a lot of excellent food in Chania; definitely not worth it for some boring oats.

I was going to rate Amphora 3 stars only based on the bad feeling that gave me but we left our luggage there and went snorkelling before our flight and there was a nice bathroom area we could use even after we had checked out. That was handy so I changed my opinion to 4 stars. More good than bad!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

To start , we loved this little gem of a hotel. Rooms can be a bit small along with showers , but if charm and character count then you won't be disappointed. Old town Chania is off limits to cars so expect to walk from the public parking spots or streets. Easy walk to hotel. Highlights are: Chania is charming and captivates the romantic side , especially if you stay at this hotel. Don't miss the 3 outdoor terraces on top floor. Staff was extremely accommodating and very friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the Venetian harbor closest to terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mligas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A beautiful old Venetian hotel.We enjoyed our immaculate room with a bed on the mezzanine and sea views.All tastefully decorated and comfortable.
The staff are friendly and very helpful.
I wish we were closer to Europe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you are looking for a fantastic hotel on the harbour water front, this may be the hotel for you. We stay at the Amphora any time we are going to or through Chania because of the location, incredibly friendly and helpful staff who accommodate your every need. The breakfast in the cute breakfast room is outstanding and the dinner service available on the rooftop is worth the stay.
We will definitely stay at the Amphora the next time we head to Crete.

Room Tip: We particularly enjoy room 11 but we would avoid room 6. Both overlook the water but number 6 is ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were staying over on the east of the island in Elounda and booked a couple of nights here to allow us to explore the west of Crete. I highly recommend this hotel. The food in the restaurant is also excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaB102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel with a lot of charm that goes with the area of its location in Chania. The view was to die for. The staff were exceptional - friendly & helpful. We loved staying here. The room was very spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking the harbour. However, a few pieces of advice. There are MANY stairs & no lift (our room was at the top!). The bathroom was a bit challenging witht the positioning of the shower over a very narrow bath & the mixer placement meant you were always knocking it causing sudden changes in water temperature. Despite these minor detils we would not have stayed anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#42 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#14 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Property: Amphora Hotel
Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing