We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Charming boutique hotel with an amazing location. Rm 11 is a winner, huge and beautiful in its simplicity. The thumping bass did go on for the majority of the night and it was fine. Loved this entire town. Make certain you do not park in the residents section by the ocean. Everything was really nice. Daytrip to Elafonisi beach, I thought it would be a long drive for one day but I want to do it again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Lovemousakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Amphora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 292 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Good, clean and tidy boutique hotel at a very reasonable rate. Friendly and competent service. Decent gin and tonics !! Still here at the end of October. Best part of Chania to stay, overlooking the harbour itself. The restaurant recommendations have been very good. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike140366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful old building with breathtaking views over the Venetian harbour. Huge room, four poster bed with beautiful wooden floors and ceilings. Great balcony that in October was really hot and sunny.
Breakfast at 10 euros was disappointing with very little choice and poor quality ingredients like cheap ham and supermarket cake. Not a problem though as the area is full of cafes. We had no problems with the noise as the double glazing was good and we had 2 quiet people upstairs. Anita in reception was very helpful and well informed.-

Room Tip: We had room 6, it was excellent
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived early in the morning by overnight ferry from Piraeus and having picked up a car, we went to the hotel. They could not have been more helpful, giving us the choice of available rooms. We chose one with a partiak view of the harbour. While simple, it was very comfortable and we slept very well. We were lucky and found parking fairly close. I can see that in high season, it would be difficult to get parking nearby, but that would be true for every hotel in Chania.

We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Crete.
For more views, see my wife's blog (http://gallivantingisadora.blogspot.fr/2012/09/arrival-in-crete.html)

Room Tip: We did not find noise from the restaurants in front to be a problem, so go for the best view availab...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

we stayed 2 nights in room 11 of the Amphora Hotel in Chania, Crete. This review is more about the 5 star service we received from all around handy man, jack of all trades, Augostin!!!!!


You can read the other reviews for more about the hotel.

As this hotel has no elevator and no close parking (about .5 km. away is the nearest available parking), we were very much relieved to have Augostin help us with our bags. When I asked him if there was an elevator, his smiling reply was, " I am the elevator.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aceros1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent eight nights in room 11 with a balcony overlooking the old harbour. The room was huge and comfortable and, despite being warned about the noisy bar next door, we found the combination of ear plugs and air conditioning meant we were not disturbed. The staff were all wonderfully helpful and we could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at the Amphora for the majority of my time on Crete and used it as my "home base" for day trips. The staff was extremely helpful and they provided great suggestions and guidance on how to get around, what to do and when to do it. It is right in the old port and has a fantastic location.

The room was clean and comfortable though small. I slept in a loft, but I come from New York City so am accustom to that arrangement.

One warning. If you are driving there is NO PARKING exclusively for this Hotel. You must know where to park as there are areas reserved for residents only. Also, Chania is a Rabbit's warren of streets and some dead ends. It is a brutal driving experience, made worse if you seek parking.

Please call the hotel ahead for information on where and how to get there.

Room Tip: If you are not comfortable climbing up stairs to a loft bed, be sure to specify that.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassiusw90s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#45 of 111 in Chania Town
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#40 of 111 in Chania Town
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $102 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing