We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, wonderful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Shorne, Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, wonderful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

What a lovely hotel!
Our room, nr 11, had superb views of the Old Harbour. The staff (Evie, Anita and Agostin) were friendly and helpful and ever so accommodating. If you are a very light sleeper, it might be wise to ask for a room to the back as the music from the restaurants below could be quite lively.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    80
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
172
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We spent almost a week at the Amphora in November 2011, and would happily recommend it anyone who is looking for no-frills accommodation done extremely well.
While the accommodation is a little basic, it was very comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean.
We were there at the very end of the season (the only guests for the last couple of days) and Anita and everyone else could not have done more for us. They even put up with our last minute change of date due to Greek ferry timetables (or lack thereof) with very good grace in spite of being inconvenienced by it.
We had Room #20, on the top floor of the hotel, with a small private balcony overlooking the harbour that everyone comes to Chania for. Prime spot!
If we make it back to Chania we won't even look for anything else; we'll go here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Room #20, or one on the top floors if it's busy season. I hear the harbourfront can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a great week's holiday in the wonderful friendly Amphora Hotel, the room (no 11) a twin had a fantastic view over the old harbour from a small balcony with a couple of chairs and table on it. and also had a mezzanine area.
The Staff were fantastic especially Anita and nothing was a problem or too much trouble.
Breakfast on the roof terrace was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms to front are sunny in the morning with views over harbour, could be a bit noisy with the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jil523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

With my girlfriend we wanted to stay for a night in the old harbour area of Chania because of the amazing view and the proximity to all the nice restaurants like adespoto. We found Amphora to be a really nice and cozy/romantic place with an amazing view from the balcony!
The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable but sleeping can be a little challenging for those who are easily disturbed because of the music from the cafeteria "Taratsa" which is located right next to the room we stayed. This wasn't a problem for us since we are not difficult in sleep but people who are more sensitive might need earplugs (this is probably the same with any other hotel located in the harbour). The people in the hotel were very polite and helpful (for example they lent us their iron). All in all we had really great time and highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkt_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We decided to stay a night in Chania on a whim having booked a fortnight elsewhere but feeling like a change of scene.

We walked in and asked if there was a harbour view room free that night and got the best room in the house! top floor with a terrace overlooking the beautiful harbour.

Great room with a mezzanine level as well and beautiful wooden fixtures and furnishings.

Everything was perfect. From a lovely welcome to a great comfy bed and a really nice breakfast too - all for £100 euros.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpd202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the first leg of our trip to Greece for our honeymoon in the summer of 2010. What a great start to our trip! This hotel was right on the harbour, and we were given the choice between a quieter room off to the side, and a room at the front with a balcony overlooking the harbor, even though our reservation had indicated a different (less desirable) room. We had read the reviews about the noise, but still took the front room. We were happy we did - no problems sleeping at night (although we could hear some noise). There were some stairs to get to the room, but we made it back every time! We didn't think they were out of line, given that we were staying in a very old-world establishment. The staff was always very helpful, the breakfast was convenient and quaint, and our room was very comfortable. We would love to take another trip to Greece someday, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Recommendation on Crete- if you're able to take a trip to Elafonisi, do it!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, don't choose a room at the front- but if you can stand it, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madfarmersdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Amphora hotel in Chania is located superb. Right in the middle of the old city.
The room was ok. The mattrass was very bad, we had to turn several times a night because it was too hard and of poor quality.
The roof terrace was great and had a beautiful view over the harbour of Chania.
The breakfast lady was very unkind and rude. She yelled at us in a very unpleasant way. We never came back.
Chania has a lot of restaurants and tavernas. The best are in the small streets of the old town.
The best restaurant was "To Stachi" a great vegetarian restaurant. Go there and enjoy a great vegetarian meal and the friendly couple who runs this fantastic restaurant!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rene07Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#19 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#40 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Property: Amphora Hotel
Address: 2nd Passage of Theotokopoulou str | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphora Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing