We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amphora Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Erietta Apartments(Chania Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Nostos(Chania Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
El Greco Hotel(Chania Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa di Pietra(Chania Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Elia Palazzo Hotel(Chania Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemis(Chania Town)
View Hotel
Casa Veneta(Chania Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
179
88
23
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
88
23
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorold harbourchania harbourhomemade jamsfour poster bedbreakfast roomno elevatorpublic parkingnice rooma great staysea viewair conditioningthird flooranitanoisebalconycrete
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 297 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

With my girlfriend we wanted to stay for a night in the old harbour area of Chania because of the amazing view and the proximity to all the nice restaurants like adespoto. We found Amphora to be a really nice and cozy/romantic place with an amazing view from the balcony!
The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable but sleeping can be a little challenging for those who are easily disturbed because of the music from the cafeteria "Taratsa" which is located right next to the room we stayed. This wasn't a problem for us since we are not difficult in sleep but people who are more sensitive might need earplugs (this is probably the same with any other hotel located in the harbour). The people in the hotel were very polite and helpful (for example they lent us their iron). All in all we had really great time and highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkt_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We decided to stay a night in Chania on a whim having booked a fortnight elsewhere but feeling like a change of scene.

We walked in and asked if there was a harbour view room free that night and got the best room in the house! top floor with a terrace overlooking the beautiful harbour.

Great room with a mezzanine level as well and beautiful wooden fixtures and furnishings.

Everything was perfect. From a lovely welcome to a great comfy bed and a really nice breakfast too - all for £100 euros.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpd202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the first leg of our trip to Greece for our honeymoon in the summer of 2010. What a great start to our trip! This hotel was right on the harbour, and we were given the choice between a quieter room off to the side, and a room at the front with a balcony overlooking the harbor, even though our reservation had indicated a different (less desirable) room. We had read the reviews about the noise, but still took the front room. We were happy we did - no problems sleeping at night (although we could hear some noise). There were some stairs to get to the room, but we made it back every time! We didn't think they were out of line, given that we were staying in a very old-world establishment. The staff was always very helpful, the breakfast was convenient and quaint, and our room was very comfortable. We would love to take another trip to Greece someday, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Recommendation on Crete- if you're able to take a trip to Elafonisi, do it!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, don't choose a room at the front- but if you can stand it, it's great!
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madfarmersdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Amphora hotel in Chania is located superb. Right in the middle of the old city.
The room was ok. The mattrass was very bad, we had to turn several times a night because it was too hard and of poor quality.
The roof terrace was great and had a beautiful view over the harbour of Chania.
The breakfast lady was very unkind and rude. She yelled at us in a very unpleasant way. We never came back.
Chania has a lot of restaurants and tavernas. The best are in the small streets of the old town.
The best restaurant was "To Stachi" a great vegetarian restaurant. Go there and enjoy a great vegetarian meal and the friendly couple who runs this fantastic restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rene07Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had a great stay at Amphora Hotel in August 2011.
The stuff was really polite and the cleanliness of the room was daily.
Amazing view from the room but quite noisy during the evening (if you want to sleep early) due to some bars and cafes that stay open until really late just under the hotel's balconies.
Price was high and not included breakfast. But August is the busiest month to visit Chania.
On the other hand, living in a room with such a great view of the old venetian harbor is an experience that everyone who visits Chania has to live :)

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony in front have amazing view of the old harbor BUT they have noise during the night due to the bars/cafes under the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews