We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Creta Elena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Creta Elena
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from Chania having spent a week at the Creta Elena, and we loved it. Contrary to some of the reviews on here, we found the owners and staff truly welcoming and delightful, the rooms, bedding and towels were all extremely clean, the air conditioning worked well, and the pool and gardens are beautiful. We had a really lovely, relaxing time and were well looked after. The shower/bath is small and the spare bed was hard, but those are the only criticisms we would make. Also, it is just a ten minute walk from the centre of Chania, so you get the best of both worlds: peace and quiet away from the noise of the old town late at night but it is just a few minutes walk away from the centre (I note that one review says it is 30 minutes walk, but I can only think that they have difficulty walking or can't use a map!). All in all, it was great, and we plan to go back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 107, which was on the ground floor and had a beautiful view of the garden.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Creta Elena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 48 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

the worst hotel that exists! dirty, all owners and staff are very inpolite!
details: We had 12 rooms reserved for a wedding! Therefore they made us a better price. But when we arrived the prices were a lot higher that originally agreed. Also most of the rooms were extremely dirty (dust everywhere, and smell of sigarettes) and the towels and sheets were not refreshed for the whole 5 days we stayed. Unaccpetable! Also they added 5 euros a day extra charge for air conditioning. After our complaints suddenly it was possible to have airco..
Don’t visit the tavern below! The staff took money for two coffee’s twice (because the other couple thought they werent paid yet)! No honesty at all.. The food quality is poor. The essence of this hotel is how to grab the most money out of their guest, without providing any service!

There are better places to stay in Chania, and you will have a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neni-ineN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Perhaps Ozziekath received preferential rates; we would never go back. Two main problems: it is at least 30 minutes walk to the centre of town, and, in July, the owner did not switch on the air-conditioning. His excuses were classic: "It is on" No it isn't. "It is noisy, and disturbs the other guests" Clever, who could complain? When I pointed out that the valves in the room (virtually inaccessible) were screwed down tightly " It must have been the cleaner"
It may have improved; I suggest you check first and then draw your own conclusions. Because of this experience I now view "owner controlled air-conditioning" rather differently.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NeilEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Being a travel agent, in Australia, for close to 20 years, I was very careful when choosing my accomodation in Chania. In view of the fact that there were 10 of us staying there I had to cater for various age groups and tastes and I assure you this hotel got rave reviews by the whole group.

I cannot speak highly enough of the hospitality we received from Nikos and his family. They had us all feeling we were staying with relatives....nice ones that is......

We were there to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday and I could not have made a better choice of venue. Located in a very up market residential area, the hotel is no more than a 20 minute, comfortable, stroll into the old town and port. Right next door there is a supermarket, which was very handy and 2 doors down a bank. There are also several restaurants within meters of the hotel. Car hire is also recommended, as crete has so much to offer outside of the city centre.
If you want to see the real Chania, stay at the Creta Elena and live with the real Greeks. It was also nice to stay in a hotel that was very quiet.....

I can honestly say, on all levels, it is the most memorable hotel I have ever stayed at.


13  Thank ozziekath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank jennfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Dee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
4.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
#35 of 111 in Chania Town
126 reviews
10.6 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
9.4 mi away
Sunrise Suites
Sunrise Suites
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Veronica Hotel
Veronica Hotel
#9 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
70 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lycasti Maisonettes
Lycasti Maisonettes
#2 of 3 in Tavronitis
83 reviews
2.8 mi away
Helios Apartments
Helios Apartments
#6 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Elena

Address: 42 I Sfakianaki Ioan., Chania Town, Crete 731 34, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range: $63 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of Chania, Creta Elena is a complex of self-catering units with views over the garden or the large, on-site swimming pool. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. Studios and apartments at Elena Creta are spacious with a private balcony. They come with a kitchenette equipped with electric kettle, mini fridge and coffee maker and they also have a seating area with a flat-screen TV. The Venetian port of Chania is a 20-minute walk away, while many Cretan taverns and cafes can be found within walking distance. Souda Port is at 6 km. Free parking is available near the premises. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Creta Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Elena Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing