We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danaos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Danaos Hotel
Ranked #40 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Great price and hotel given proximity to Chania and it being a beach front property. We paid 45 euro with breakfast included. The room had a sea view room with two twins pushed to form one bed. View was beautiful and the sunset was gorgeous. Relatively quite given the room was right off the street. We did stay in May so it wasn't very busy yet. The beach is small but sandy which I prefer to the other pebbly beaches. Would have been nice for hotel guests to use the beach loungers for free - charge is 5 euro so if you plan to use them all day then it's not so bad. Cheaper than other areas I've seen. There's a mini mart next door which was convenient and many restaurants along the Main Street. Owner was very sweet. Breakfast was okay... Downside was no hot items except for boiled eggs but they were tasty nonetheless. We had no problem with parking right out front but I reckon that would be more difficult during high season so this may be something to consider during June, July, August. We really liked the hotel and wanted to come back for another night toward the end of our trip but ended up staying further east in Georgioupoli.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank asmakhatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    74
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
87
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Clean room, very nice and friendly staff, great view of the water, and close to everything without being in traffic central. The room and bathroom were snug, but well organized and more than I needed to enjoy the area. A large dorm style refrigerator was cold and the lobby was well stocked with various beverages and a little convenience store was steps away. Plenty of restaurants, car rental shop, and scuba diving boat all within 2 minute walk. Nicely decorated interior, free wifi that reached to the beach, and new beach chairs with umbrellas steps away on the beach. The water is clean, clear, and refreshing. The harbor/night life are 10 minute walk away. A city bus stop isn't far and easy to access. I never had any issues with noise from other rooms and slept with the balcony door open. When I showered, I didn't have to wait for hot water or worry about it running out. I really have no complaints. I will definitely stay at Danaos again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Van V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is your typical Mediterranean hotel and is 10-15 mins walk from the centre.
There are many good restaurants beside the hotel is you dont fancy a walk although the walk is beautiful along the harbour.

Rooms were nice and simple but make sure you order a balcony with a sea view - this makes the room perfect.

The staff are so friendly and helpful.

Breakfast selection is not great but fine.

Altogether well worth the money and we would come back.


Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvermouse82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Danaos was everything we needed, as we didn't spend any time in the hotel besides while sleeping. It was a short walk from the old town and right across from the beach. They helped us book an expedition to Samaria Gorge, and made us breakfast (at 5:30 am!). A note to the vegetarians out there...the breakfast had ham in it, so request ahead of time something vegetarian. All in all, a pleasant trip with a very basic room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the beach views--we regretted not having one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just got back from Chania with the week booked in the Danaos. I can verify everything that has been written before.The hotel is in the perfect location, a short walk to Old town Chania with the beach just across a quite one way road.The beach is beautiful sand with a fairly safe Sea. If you like snorkeling then there are some rocks nearby to look out for some friendly fish. Sunbeds were the hotels and 5 euro for 2 and a shade, good value.We asked for Room 34 which was an earlier tip and were duly obliged. The room was on the 3rd floor at the front so with a great Sea view. It was at the end so a little quieter. Bed was but hard but we got to sleep ok. The rest of the room was fine with a couple of chairs and table out on the balcony. No English TV but a good wifi connection. Staff were always very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was good, continental as were most of the clientele of the hotel during our stay. We used the Akrogiali Taverna next door a couple of times for lunch and once for dinner.That was very good value.Our best evening meal was at Tamam restaurant in old Chania town. The hotel is fairly easy to find or at least the beach road is and once you're there there plenty of parking on the road.

Room Tip: Room 34 had a sea view and is at the end so a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Reading the other reviews, it looks like they said it all: 10 mins walk from the old city and only a small road to cross to be on the beach. The rooms are simple and very clean, nothing fancy, but perfectly fine if you're going to be out most of the day. Internet works well and the staff are fantastic. It's a reasonable price hotel, next time I'll stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My favorite hotel in Crete. Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from historical Chania and right on the beach. Staff are insanely sweet. They upgraded my room from a double to a quadruple. When I went to hike the Samaria Gorge a staff member made me breakfast and coffee and made sure I made my bus. Who else would do that??

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Frini Hotel
Frini Hotel
#52 of 111 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#48 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexis Hotel
Alexis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ideon Hotel
Ideon Hotel
#46 of 111 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danaos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danaos Hotel

Property: Danaos Hotel
Address: 23 Akti Papanikoli Str. | Nea Chora beach, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Danaos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Danaos offers a friendly and relaxed base in the heart of Chania, just a short walk from Chania's Venetian harbour and right next to the beautiful sandy beach of Nea Chora. There are various room sizes available, to suit the needs of solos, couples and groups or families. 31 Of the rooms have a spacious balcony with views of Chania Town or the Cretan Sea. Guest can enjoy a good start to the day with a continental breakfast in Danaos' charming breakfast room. The owners of Danaos are available for any requests or sightseeing tips needed and will also arrange car or bike rentals. Many restaurants and taverns can be found in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Danaos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danaos Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing